26/4 Mauer AMPS 58, +1 58, +2 52, +2.5 54, +3 52, +3.5 50, +4 94, +4.5 113, +6 130, +9 106

It looks like yesterday was just an off day for whatever reason and Mauer is back on track today. I hope he surfs safely.
 
So lots of HC21% no effect at all, went to 11% (more sauce she likes it better) with honey. When I say with honey I don't mean a drop. Literally we're talking something like a teaspoon each time, half came of the spoon. So in total one full teaspoon of honey!
Not even below 50!!!
9th cycle since the last reduction. I know it's soon, but this was scary!

Safety first. She likes the greens, I like the greens. But she's one tough banana to get out of the shark pool!
What do I do from here?
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
 
I’d hold the dose if she were my cat. I Would not feed the hc when in the 50’s but would feed mc and see if a reduction is earned. Do you have 15%?
 
I don't like my cat being that low, either. I am happy with his BG being in the 100 - 250 range. I can run errands if I need to and do not have to worry about him dropping so low. I know some people may disagree but Phoenix is feeling great and more active than he has been in years. I don't increase his dose unless he starts getting higher numbers than this.
 
I’d hold the dose if she were my cat. I Would not feed the hc when in the 50’s but would feed mc and see if a reduction is earned. Do you have 15%?
I have 11%, and 17%. I'm going nuts in calculating carbs from zooplus!

If I were to let her earn the reduction, it would be even more difficult to get her back up. She needed one point to be below, and it's fair she didn't earn it. But still.....
 
I don't like my cat being that low, either. I am happy with his BG being in the 100 - 250 range. I can run errands if I need to and do not have to worry about him dropping so low. I know some people may disagree but Phoenix is feeling great and more active than he has been in years. I don't increase his dose unless he starts getting higher numbers than this.
I most definitely do not like yellow :woot:
Not allowed in Mauer's spreadsheet :D
 
You want to keep him under renal threshold so I don’t like to see the 200-250 range at all. If you are worried you can try a reduction. As the saying goes, you hold the syringe.
 
You want to keep him under renal threshold so I don’t like to see the 200-250 range at all. If you are worried you can try a reduction. As the saying goes, you hold the syringe.
What worries me is that she's hard to bring up. I don't see others who need a full teaspoon to get a reaction.
 
Is there a higher carb food to try? I used to feed 25% or higher if Max was being hard to bring up. I’d add a very small amount of syrup. There are others who need a lot of syrup, Djoko is one that comes to mind.
 
Is there a higher carb food to try? I used to feed 25% or higher if Max was being hard to bring up. I’d add a very small amount of syrup. There are others who need a lot of syrup, Djoko is one that comes to mind.
Funny enough I'm having trouble finding higher carb food :woot:
And she doesn't like honey :nailbiting:
 
Can you get any Wellness Core Signature Selects foods in Denmark? Ruby used to be very carb resistant when she did her deep dives and I fed her Chunky Turkey and Chunky Beef as those are close to 29 and 33% carb.
 
Can you get any Wellness Core Signature Selects foods in Denmark? Ruby used to be very carb resistant when she did her deep dives and I fed her Chunky Turkey and Chunky Beef as those are close to 29 and 33% carb.
The name doesn't mean anything to me, unfortunately.. I'm looking into our Gourmet it should be the same as your FF but still it's not that high in carbs. I don't even know where to look. I've been in all the low quality corn infested cheap stuff, even those who has 4% REAL meat in comes in as LC. Maybe I should buy some ice cream... Mauer would kill for ice cream any day, she's has never ever said no. I have a cat on each shoulder and the dog in front of me, when I eat ice cream..

I dream about a diabetic paste in several tastes that's like 50% carbs or more...
It's out there for high activity dogs, maybe I should look into that?
Or maybe the vet has something?
 
Hi Sasha, just stopping to say hello!
Great surfing Mauer! I am wondering whether %carbs is not always the whole story? I bought recently a flavour of feringa that is supposed to be 10%, but so far it makes no difference to hercs. But then a tablespoong of the gourmet gold and he jumps 100points sometimes :confused:
Eliz suggested the other day Webbox Lick-e-lix treats, apparently they have some sort of chicken yogurt :eek:?
 
Hi Sasha, just stopping to say hello!
Great surfing Mauer! I am wondering whether %carbs is not always the whole story? I bought recently a flavour of feringa that is supposed to be 10%, but so far it makes no difference to hercs. But then a tablespoong of the gourmet gold and he jumps 100points sometimes :confused:
Eliz suggested the other day Webbox Lick-e-lix treats, apparently they have some sort of chicken yogurt :eek:?
I saw that! There's several cat yogurts out there. Which gourmet gold are you using? I only found one that was HC.
Ferringa has vegetables in it, to humans they're supposed to be slow carbs? I think..
 
Which gourmet gold are you using? I only found one that was HC.
Yes. Very HC! 30%? But what I am saying is that I can give 40 g of 10% and see nothing, and then 7g of 30% and see a huge jump.... Hercs is a contrarian so pay no attention to his mad patterns... But it might be that there is something out there that would make mauer respond faster?
 
Yes. Very HC! 30%? But what I am saying is that I can give 40 g of 10% and see nothing, and then 7g of 30% and see a huge jump.... Hercs is a contrarian so pay no attention to his mad patterns... But it might be that there is something out there that would make mauer respond faster?
I regularly feed 7%. No wait, I feed 7% every night and nothing :oops:
When I used HC for a few days she surfed nicely. But maybe it's just how it's supposed to be? It would be a lot easier if they followed the rules :p
 
The name doesn't mean anything to me, unfortunately.. I'm looking into our Gourmet it should be the same as your FF but still it's not that high in carbs. I don't even know where to look. I've been in all the low quality corn infested cheap stuff, even those who has 4% REAL meat in comes in as LC. Maybe I should buy some ice cream... Mauer would kill for ice cream any day, she's has never ever said no. I have a cat on each shoulder and the dog in front of me, when I eat ice cream..

I dream about a diabetic paste in several tastes that's like 50% carbs or more...
It's out there for high activity dogs, maybe I should look into that?
Or maybe the vet has something?
You mentioned a diabetic paste. Why not try feeding some Nutrical or other supplement paste? The main ingredient is cane syrup and molasses. Your cat will also have the added benefit of getting all his vitamins at the same time. Also, they love the taste of this stuff and would eat the whole tube if you let them.
 
You mentioned a diabetic paste. Why not try feeding some Nutrical or other supplement paste? The main ingredient is cane syrup and molasses. Your cat will also have the added benefit of getting all his vitamins at the same time. Also, they love the taste of this stuff and would eat the whole tube if you let them.
Don't know that either :D
But I'll definitely look into different paste and flavores :bighug:
 
Back
Top