26/1/15 Lucy AMPS=203 +3=268 +6=310 PMPS=304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
I could have been braver last night and gave Lucy her insulin when her glucose levels were under 150 but I wasn't. I am still anxious about the 2.3/41 at 3 units we had before so because we are back up to 3 units now I waited till her glucose levels rose and gave her last night's insulin dose this morning 20 hours after yesterday's morning dose. I know what everyone says about blood glucose not necessarily falling when you dose at lower glucose levels but I am not confident to do that quite yet. I know Lucy's glucose may bounce high again as that often happens when her glucose levels are lower than usual but it will be interesting to see what happens. We may be seeing some positive effect from the dental cleaning and tooth extractions last week.
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...148-2-126-3-119-4-155-5-121-148-6-158.132003/
 
For what it's worth, I've seen the number 10 days after dental as the time when things could start kicking in. It was about that for Neko. It won't be an all of the sudden thing and you should be able to continue using the protocol.

You will get more confident with shooting lower numbers over time. Paws crossed she gives you the next one during a day when you can monitor, see what happens and gather data. That's why I'm more relaxed with Neko in normal numbers - I've got lots of data that tells me what she'll do. Within a cat's need to occasionally prove me wrong of course. :p
 
Thank you so much Wendy to you and Neko too. Your experiences and knowledge and support have helped us so much. I really appreciate it. Yes confidence will come one day with dosing at lower glucose levels as it came with doing blood glucose testing and giving insulin too. I truly never believed Lucy and I would be doing this and that Lucy would cooperate as she is so very feisty but we are doing it. Yes I don't have much data about dosing at lower levels because we really haven't had many blues and greens and now when we do I panic. :nailbiting::)
 
After a good run of readings in the mid to low 100's yesterday I think Lucy's glucose levels are bouncing high in response now.
 
Hi Voula

It's pretty scary :nailbiting: at first learning to shoot the lower numbers. I remember when we started that I was certain I could not shoot under 150; but I was before long because of the help of people in LL. Before I knew it, I was shooting green numbers. When you get a blue PS that you are worried about shooting, don't feed her, post, and we can discuss it and see if you have supplies and can be around to test. Then we'll walk you through it.

The great thing about this group is that if someone helps you shoot lower, then either that person or a "relief helper" will stay with you ...even itf it's all night.

You'll get the confidence as you learn to shoot lower gradually.
 
Hi Voula

It's pretty scary :nailbiting: at first learning to shoot the lower numbers. I remember when we started that I was certain I could not shoot under 150; but I was before long because of the help of people in LL. Before I knew it, I was shooting green numbers. When you get a blue PS that you are worried about shooting, don't feed her, post, and we can discuss it and see if you have supplies and can be around to test. Then we'll walk you through it.

The great thing about this group is that if someone helps you shoot lower, then either that person or a "relief helper" will stay with you ...even itf it's all night.

You'll get the confidence as you learn to shoot lower gradually.
Thank you so much. I really appreciate your post. I will do that. I had to remember last night not to feed Lucy but to test again without food to see if the glucose levels were going up on their own. Eventually they did at 20 hours after the previous insulin dose. Now we are seeing bouncing. :)
 
She actually did pretty well without insulin last night. It shows you what the depot can do. But it also shows you that when you shoot a reduced dose or skip, the cycle can play out like it might have anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top