26/08 Thor AMPS 408, +2 130, +4 189, +5 238, +10 425, PMPS 428, +1 478 Something’s up…

Sofia

Member Since 2022
Something’s going on… a couple nights ago we had a serious drop after PM shot, for two consecutive nights. Yesterday the opposite happened, like the insulin had no effect, he stayed high all night. The only reason I could think was that it was a fur shot, but I wasn’t convinced because I smell even just of a drop of Lantus.
Same thing tonight… I was extra careful to make sure I got his shot right, and at +1 he’s going up.
Why is this??
 
Here’s your previous post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...10-87-pmps-315-1-188-2-34-3-85-3-5-63.267546/
I think he’s still bouncing or it might be a failed reduction. Give him tonight but to see if the bg comes down. He did better today but then his bg rose so it might be a failed reduction.
Thank you. I’ll wait to see what happens tonight, after tonight it will be 8 cycles on the new reduced dose. His bg came down this morning, +2 126…. I don’t know if it’s a thing, or just really random, the morning shots work, but PM shots don’t do anything.
 
I don’t know if it’s a thing, or just really random, the morning shots work, but PM shots don’t do anything.
He is just dropping lower in the day and bouncing at night. Some cats drop lower at night and bounce in the day.

Does he get food at +1 and +2? He is diving at onset and that is leading to bouncing. If he is already getting his usual low carb food at +1 and +2, you might want to try feeding a little higher carbs at +1 - say 8-10% to reduce that sharp drop.

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
He is just dropping lower in the day and bouncing at night. Some cats drop lower at night and bounce in the day.

Does he get food at +1 and +2? He is diving at onset and that is leading to bouncing. If he is already getting his usual low carb food at +1 and +2, you might want to try feeding a little higher carbs at +1 - say 8-10% to reduce that sharp drop.

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
He’s eating again at these times, yes.. I think possibly you told me to do that. But for this now you mean after the morning shot only? I measured now at +4 and he’s at 81. I understand feeding a little higher carb in the morning to avoid this drop, but I should keep to the low carb after PM shot? I really hope tonight is better… when he goes so high I notice him suffering more, when he drops low he’s pretty chill and chirpy. Thank you for your reply!
 
He’s bouncing from the lower blues and greens but clearing them pretty quickly. Until he gets used to more normal numbers this will happen. Did you read the sticky on feeding the curve? Max was a rainbow kitty for the first year. I didn’t feed the same every cycle. For Max it worked best to let his bg guide how he was fed. Today was a bounce clearing cycle and he dropped a lot by +4. Now he seems to be bouncing again. Maybe feed a little higher lc at +1 and +2. Don’t let the highs worry you. We dose based upon nadirs and he’s hitting green.
 
He’s bouncing from the lower blues and greens but clearing them pretty quickly. Until he gets used to more normal numbers this will happen. Did you read the sticky on feeding the curve? Max was a rainbow kitty for the first year. I didn’t feed the same every cycle. For Max it worked best to let his bg guide how he was fed. Today was a bounce clearing cycle and he dropped a lot by +4. Now he seems to be bouncing again. Maybe feed a little higher lc at +1 and +2. Don’t let the highs worry you. We dose based upon nadirs and he’s hitting green.
I have read it, I think I need to concentrate on that area much more. Am I right then in thinking I should stagger his carbs, so to speak… give him higher/medium carb first thing, and by evening stick to low carb?
 
I have read it, I think I need to concentrate on that area much more. Am I right then in thinking I should stagger his carbs, so to speak… give him higher/medium carb first thing, and by evening stick to low carb?

Yes. If dropping too fast you can slow the drop with carbs. If high you feed lc. Beware that how they respond often changes. At s as my time nights could be one when he is lower. In fact that’s very common. Max and I had many pj parties that I was sometimes happy when he bounced at night, lol.
 
Back
Top