25-Mar Maverick AMBG 216, PMPS 279, +4 216

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Last condo

It's been a tough day. Dropping Maverick off was absolutely the worst feeling. At least I managed to get him in his carrier quickly with no fuss, so that's a win.

The vet rang and I guess we've got 7 teeth that need to go, one of them being a canine. I suppose it could be worse. I already kind of had a feeling we'd be losing some teeth, so I've got some Tiki Mousse on hand. Poor guy, he's not going to be a happy camper for a little while :(
 
Managed to get my sweet boy home, he's perkier than I thought he would be sans 9 teeth. Yup, they ended up yanking 9 teeth :(. Tiki mousse is going over well, I offered about 1/2 tsp when we got home and he gobbled it up. Gave another 1/2 tsp again about 1/2 hour before preshot. So far so good, anti-jinx / knock on wood. Managed to get buprenorphine instead of Onsior, vet was really good about it. That's one of the things that I appreciate; she's always willing to work with me. That, and they sent me the pictures of his teeth and x-rays and I didn't even have to ask! Lol. Yikes you guys should see a couple of the pics of his teeth and the resorptive lesions. :eek:

Trying to continue with feeding small amounts slowly, and I'd say way to go Mavvy! not so bad after a skip ;). Gave him his pm insulin, it'll be interesting to see how he goes now that his mouth is all nice and clean!
 
Managed to get my sweet boy home, he's perkier than I thought he would be sans 9 teeth. Yup, they ended up yanking 9 teeth :(. Tiki mousse is going over well, I offered about 1/2 tsp when we got home and he gobbled it up. Gave another 1/2 tsp again about 1/2 hour before preshot. So far so good, anti-jinx / knock on wood. Managed to get buprenorphine instead of Onsior, vet was really good about it. That's one of the things that I appreciate; she's always willing to work with me. That, and they sent me the pictures of his teeth and x-rays and I didn't even have to ask! Lol. Yikes you guys should see a couple of the pics of his teeth and the resorptive lesions. :eek:

Trying to continue with feeding small amounts slowly, and I'd say way to go Mavvy! not so bad after a skip ;). Gave him his pm insulin, it'll be interesting to see how he goes now that his mouth is all nice and clean!
I'm happy he's home and is perkier than you thought he would be.
I'm glad he gobbled up the mousse, that's a good sign
Glad you got the buprenorphine ,your vet sounds like wonderful vet.
I hope you don't mind me asking , I went to look at your SS and says you need access.,does that mean only certain members can view it ?
 
Awww...poor thing...I feel so badly when they have this kind of stuff done.

Sending prayers to your and Mav...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you don't mind me asking , I went to look at your SS and says you need access.,does that mean only certain members can view it ?
Oh I had no idea, I'm not sure what happened there. I must have done something from my old iPad, after I changed my signature a while back. Let me go in and fix that, thanks for letting me know. Come to think of it, that explains why I've seen some weird emails from people via google :p
 
Oh I had no idea, I'm not sure what happened there. I must have done something from my old iPad, after I changed my signature a while back. Let me go in and fix that, thanks for letting me know. Come to think of it, that explains why I've seen some weird emails from people via google :p
You are welcome
When I tap on your profile this is what comes up
Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB - Error
This member limits who may view their full profile.


Still can't see the SS . Here is what comes up



You need access
Ask for access, or switch to an account with access.Learn more

Request access

So I just requested access
 
Last edited:
I hope Mav is doing well.

They did take post-procedure x-rays didn't they?
Hi Sienne- he's a little tired this morning, but seems to be doing well, appy is still good, I'm continuing with smaller, more frequent feedings, just so we don't get any scarf and barfs. His poor little meow is squeaky from the anestethtic tube, but he was very purrs this morning. Not sure if that was because the buprenorphine dose from pm had worn off, and maybe a little pain showing.

Yup, I made sure to ask before I dropped him off. I told the vet tech that I don't mean to get all in their business, but I wanted to be sure that was part of their protocol when teeth are extracted.
 
Hi Christie!

9 teeth :eek: Only Mav could bounce back like the champ he is :)

It's been a while, hope all is well!
Hi Paul! So glad to see you paid us a little visit, it has been a while, hope all is well with you! Yeah, he's my little fighter, and little charmer - the staff all said how wonderful he was and so well-behaved. I don't know, I'd say Bronx was quite the champ too :cat::bighug:
 
I am very relieved to hear Maverick pulled through (no pun intended!!) yesterday like the champ I knew he was! And glad also to hear he is eating and responding to the bupe. From my memory with my Tiger, bupe can be a little constipating? Just in case, a heads up. And I also hope you slept well last night after all this excitement! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top