25 July Cheekyface PMS +6 ~2.8 - advice needed please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesley & Cheekyface

Active Member
Hello all,

I might be jumping the gun here since we're at nadir, but I'd like some more experienced eyes please.

Yesterday's news: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=48320

Today:
AMPS~72
retest ~
Fed and withheld shot as vet didn't get back to me within 2 hours
+2~104
+6~90
PMPS~144
on vet advice, gave half-dose (1u); subsequently ate all her dinner.
+4~70 gave halfcan FF turkey
+6~50 just now. She's awake and alert and not in any distress. I on the other hand am ready to cry.
 
Feed her a little more ff. Not to much though you don't want her to get full and not eat for you later if she needs to. 50 is an ok number I wouldn't panic unless she goes lower.
 
You know the drill....Inhale, Exhale, Inhale, Exhale...Just keep checking her to make sure she doesn't drop any lower. When does she normally start to rise after her nadir? Right away or does she surf awhile?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Okay just got a chance to look at her SS ....First off that is one pretty spreadsheet...Ms. Cheeky looks like she might want to try to go OTJ for you. =) Just keep checking her so she doesn't drop any lower...She's on which insulin?

Mel
 
Nevermind I found it...on Lantus...she should start rising fairly soon but keep an eye on her...50 is a very normal number as long as she doesn't dip lower

Mel
 
She's come up to 67 in the past 30 mins without HC gravy so I think she'll keep going.

This is the first time I've seen her so low even at nadir so I'm a bit jumpy. And I simply have to go to work tomorrow...
 
Dearest Lesley, and, of course, you too, maybe not so sweet Cheekyface,

Wowsa! You're having an interest day/night, aren't you?

Jumpy is okay and expected.

How is Cheeky? Is he doing better than you? Probably, right?

Maybe sometime, I'll find the link to when I went to test Nikki and the meter battery died, figured what the h*ll, shot full dose -- and then, had a feeling... Called a dear friend who suggest switching the battery from the old meter which had no test strips to the new meter that had test strips, and, apparently I calculated to not my English in my angst. That's when I got the 3.1 and couldn't remember the times 18 conversion. So, actually posted what is 3.1 in American English. Got an immediate response of 56. Don't you just love this Board?!

So called my dear friend back, pretty much hysterical, and said, Oh my God, I've given Nikki full dose of 2.25 units of Levemir and 15 minutes (and battery switch) later, she's 56. She suggested I go straight to the ER. I mentioned I'd been collapsed with the flu for three days and had bed hair to prove it. She remembered that one of my neighbors, actually my landlords, had a cat, and suggested they might have dry food. I flew out the door and knocked on theirs. It was an interesting fashion statement...

They did, indeed, have dry food -- and know, Nikki is diabetic. It was the first time she crunched food since her arrival some two years before. She actually went down to 36 45 minutes later. I never once flinched and gave her syrup as she was completely asymptomatic. I relied on higher carb food that moved her up and sustained her. Yeah, she and I paid for it for a few cycles after... It was Valentine's Day. I asked her to never, ever give me a present again...

I know you're having an interesting day, Lesley. Just don't panic. Cheeky's already moving up. You will go to work tomorrow. You might have a couple of fresh circles under your eyes. In the US, it's still really early. We'll be watching, okay?

Much love and countless non-panicking hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki (i was really just trying to give her a present...) -- and, Giz, who taught me the level of guts involved when she casually strolled down to 28... She was fine. I became an absolutely hysterical 15-minute home tester... She was like, What's all the fuss?

PS: Cats... Sheesh... Sugar cats... Extra sheesh... I know, I've been incredibly lucky. It's why we home test.
 
Yep those first couple low numbers have a tendency to completely freak out the momma bean, while normally the cat just looks at you like you're nuts. :-D First time Maxwell did that to me he had been here exactly 4 days...I lost it.

Musette has already thrown me a couple 30s and 40s which just about makes your heart stop, yet she was alert, attacking toes and other kitty tails and slowly waltzed her way back up again.

If you are really worried about it tomorrow maybe shoot a reduced dose? She maybe a little higher than normal or her new normal but you would feel safer at work. Just a thought.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
I'm definitely shooting a reduced dose in the morning. I haven't had time to figure out what her new normal is yet, after only 5 days, and I really could have done without this bloody drama.

I already had to take today off work because that AMPS gave me the heebies. It took my vet until mid-afternoon to get back to me with a response to my 'need urgent advice please, here's the s/s' and then she only said "give half dose until she starts eating then go back up to 2u".

I think not.

I've been with these vets 9 years now but am getting a bit disillusioned with them as far as Cheeky's diabetes is concerned.
 
Most vets don't see a lot of diabetic cats and then if there are problems!??? they are lost.

My new vet is great! they have a 24/7 .... so for a cat like mine, who lives on the edge, that works great. But for complex advice? I now know more about Payne than my vet will ever know and he says that. He asks what I think, he listens to my reasoning and then we do it my way ......

But you need a vet who is there when you need them, especially when you are concerned and will answer your questions in a timely manner.

And drama is part of loving a sugar cat!!

Nancy and Payne
(who lives for drama ...... )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top