Re: 25/9 Chatran's AMPS 11, +3-2.7, +4-5, +7-12.9,+9-23, PMP
Rosie:
I really hate to do this to you, but...
Most of us here are from the US and we are metrically illiterate. There is a different version of the spreadsheet that will automatically convert your numbers that are in mmol/L to the system we use in the US (mg/dL). I'm really sorry that no one directed you to the other SS. You can find the instructions in the post I'm linking -- just make sure to use the
World template. Alternatively, you can multiply your readings by 18 and enter them on your spreadsheet.
There is also a link to the
Tight Regulation Protocol that we follow here. It is, no doubt, very familiar to your vet since the research was authored by a very prominent vet, Jacqui Rand, DVM, at University of Queensland. According to that protocol, your vet is correct, you would reduce Chartran's dose since the 2.7 = 48.6 mg/dL. Any number below 50 warrants a dose reduction of 0.25u in a cat that's within a year of diagnosis. Your vet was a little extreme (in my opinion) with regard to how much he suggested you reduce Chartran's dose.
What you're seeing after those "green" numbers is a bounce. Because Chartran isn't used to seeing those lower numbers, his liver an pancreas panicked and dumped a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones into his system. This is a normal response. Once Chartran is used to spending more time in a normal BG range, you should see less bouncing. For now, you'll need to be patient. It can take up to 3 days/6 cycles for the bounce to clear.