25/9 Chatran's AMPS198, +3-48.6+4-90+7-232+9-414 PMPS468

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatran (GA)

Member Since 2014
Hi. I need some advise. Could someone pls take a peek on my chatran's ss and tell me what you think.
Today at +3 his number was really low (2.7) I panicked and took home to the vet.
As per vets advise, I have to reduce his insulin to 2 u. As of today his number is very high, is this normal? Please help!

Thank you!
Rosie
 
Re: 25/9 Chatran's AMPS 11, +3-2.7, +4-5, +7-12.9,+9-23, PMP

Rosie:

I really hate to do this to you, but...

Most of us here are from the US and we are metrically illiterate. There is a different version of the spreadsheet that will automatically convert your numbers that are in mmol/L to the system we use in the US (mg/dL). I'm really sorry that no one directed you to the other SS. You can find the instructions in the post I'm linking -- just make sure to use the World template. Alternatively, you can multiply your readings by 18 and enter them on your spreadsheet.

There is also a link to the Tight Regulation Protocol that we follow here. It is, no doubt, very familiar to your vet since the research was authored by a very prominent vet, Jacqui Rand, DVM, at University of Queensland. According to that protocol, your vet is correct, you would reduce Chartran's dose since the 2.7 = 48.6 mg/dL. Any number below 50 warrants a dose reduction of 0.25u in a cat that's within a year of diagnosis. Your vet was a little extreme (in my opinion) with regard to how much he suggested you reduce Chartran's dose.

What you're seeing after those "green" numbers is a bounce. Because Chartran isn't used to seeing those lower numbers, his liver an pancreas panicked and dumped a stored form of glucose, along with counterregulatory hormones into his system. This is a normal response. Once Chartran is used to spending more time in a normal BG range, you should see less bouncing. For now, you'll need to be patient. It can take up to 3 days/6 cycles for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 25/9 Chatran's AMPS 11, +3-2.7, +4-5, +7-12.9,+9-23, PMP

Hi Rosie,

I just dropped in to say hi to a fellow aussie. I'm no good on advice about diabetes but I can help you modify your spreadsheet to make a page with automatic US-friendly numbers if you like.

If you post Chatran's numbers on your condo each day people will keep an eye on you and help you as you need it. I've found the people here so wonderfully helpful and supportive. I can't recommend it enough.

Hugs to you and Chatran.
Grace
 
Re: 25/9 Chatran's AMPS 11, +3-2.7, +4-5, +7-12.9,+9-23, PMP

Hi Rosie - I speak mmol/L, and the translation for Chatran's numbers are AMPS 198 +3 49 +5 90 +7 232 +9 414 PMPS 468. Could you change the numbers on your first post so that those that don't speak metric can see what happened today?

As Sienne mentioned, Chatran is now bouncing. There is a good description of what that means in the second post on this discussion. This is very normal when kitty gets into a number lower than they are used to. It can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to go away.

That 2.7 (49) is still within range that we have seen normal non-diabetic kitties get into, but it's too low for a kitty on insulin so tells us it's time to give high carb food to bring up the numbers, and that the insulin dose needs to be reduced. Where it gets complicated is that you had been giving 3 units until this morning when you went to 2.5 units. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, the low number could have been partly due to the 3.0 units you gave last night. Have you changed Chatrans food in the last day or two? Is she still getting a few bits of dry food? Removing that food can make a significant difference in the amount of insulin needed. If the food is still the same, I'd suggest sticking to 2.5 units for tonight.
 
Re: 25/9 Chatran's AMPS 11, +3-2.7, +4-5, +7-12.9,+9-23, PMP

Thank you all for your help! The food still the same, he normally only eat gravy variety doesn't eat pate because it give home the runs. No I haven't given him any dry food only about 5 kibbles a day sometimes. When hubby gets up I will ask him to change chatran SS to universal measurement (I'm so bad with technology :sad: )
I have to give chatran 2 u as per vets advise as I didn't get your comment till I already done so. In two hours time shall I give him 2.5 u? The number last night didn't drop much.

Rosie

PS
I'm not from an English background sometimes it take for me a while to understand I have to re read post/comments over and over again :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top