25/7 - Gremlin - AMPS 256, +5.5 247, PMPS 324, +3 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Gremlin (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Not as bad as last night, but still not great for Gremlin. I've increased his dose to 0.25u to see what difference it makes and I'll fly home during my lunch break to test and feed him (if he hears me and comes when called).
 
I hope the new dose helps bring Grem's numbers down. Hopefully he'll be home when you get there. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks Carla.
I just got home and he came running. Unfortunately it looks like the higher dose of insulin has done pretty much nothing. I guess I'll keep it at 0.25u for a bit longer and see what happens.
 
I'm glad he came running. You just started the 0.25 units. It needs a little time to work. :bighug::bighug::bighug: You could be seeing NDW.
 
My buddy Lou always gets the new dose wonkiness every time I increase. The first cycle at the higher dose is almost like a furshot, for all he does with it. He should come back down in the next cycle or two as the new depot settles in. I hope he starts eating better for you!
 
Laura, did you read the post below. There is another cat who has a normal T4 but is losing weight too. Marje suggested it could be
Euthyroid sick syndrome where the T4 is normal but all is not well with the thyroid.
The post is towards the bottom of the thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jesters-latest-labs-vet-wants-me-to-give-up.198931/

Here is the article about it @Marje and Gracie posted. Worth checking up on for Gremlin.
http://veterinarycalendar.dvm360.com/feline-hyperthyroidism-view-urinary-tract-proceedings
 
Laura, did you read the post below. There is another cat who has a normal T4 but is losing weight too. Marje suggested it could be
Euthyroid sick syndrome where the T4 is normal but all is not well with the thyroid.
The post is towards the bottom of the thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jesters-latest-labs-vet-wants-me-to-give-up.198931/

Here is the article about it @Marje and Gracie posted. Worth checking up on for Gremlin.
http://veterinarycalendar.dvm360.com/feline-hyperthyroidism-view-urinary-tract-proceedings
Thank you.
He does actually have hyperthyroidism, the medication just has it under control. But there is a lump right at the thyroid gland which is why the vet thinks cancer. I'll definitely have a look at all that info, thanks!!
 
Laura, did you read the post below. There is another cat who has a normal T4 but is losing weight too. Marje suggested it could be
Euthyroid sick syndrome where the T4 is normal but all is not well with the thyroid.
It's definitely not this. He was diagnosed and medicated die hyperthyroidism and it was only once it was under control that early stage CKD was detected. There's something else going on. Thank you anyway!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top