25/5 - FAX PMPS 385.2 DOSING Q

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Hi ladies,

On to day three of the testing frenzy. I am noticing that over the last three days since I have started doing a pre-shot his AM reading is going down slightly each day. His extremely high readings last night were/are a big worry for me.
I have noticed since he started back on insulin that his coat condition is much better, but hind legs still weak.

Have a great day!
Roisin
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

wow, good for you for getting the spread sheet done so quickly! are you trying to do a curve today, then? testing every few hours? that's great for giving lots of info to the folks who can comment on doses.

here's your link from yesterday. we include them so that people can look back and not ask all the same questions again.
yesterday

you're off to a great start! have you had a chance to read the stickies at the top of the lantus forum yet?
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

Hi guys, don't think I have stopped in your condo before, so wanted to say welcome! I'm glad to hear that his am numbers are coming down and his coat is looking better .. hopefully the hind legs will gain strength too .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

Hi Roisin-

You should start one condo each day. When you start your new condo, include a link to the previous day's condo; that helps everyone keep track of how things have been going.

Glad to see you're up and running with testing and the spreadsheet. The more data you have, the better!!

Don't worry...with the guidance of this group, Fax's numbers will be under control before you know it!

Amy
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

Is it better to test at the exact same times each day during a curve? Or should I be testing the hour I didn't do yesterday (ie. yesterday I tried to stick to +2,+4+6 etc, compared to +3+5+7 etc)?
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

i'm not sure it matters. i do +3, 6 9 and pre-shots and once in a while do a different time so i have that info. i do a +2 or 3 to see where punkin's going after his shot, a +5 or 6ish to see what the lowest point might be - sometimes i skip the afternoon one if he's high anyway, just to spare him. but sometimes the lowest point ends up being later, maybe a +7 . . . anyway, you can see it doesn't matter too much. i like the 3-6-9 because i can compare from one day to the next, but if i'm gone i just catch another time.
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

Hi Roisin,
It's great to see you and Fax in lantus land. I look forward to seeing your guys' progress.
I used to know a girl named Roisin when I was a teenager. Beautiful name. You aren't originally from BC are you?
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

as you test throughout the day you can go to the first post of this thread and edit the subject line. people watch to see how kitties are doing throughout the day and will pop in to comment if it looks like you might need to know something. sometimes just to say hi, too, but it helps to see at a glance how fax does over the course of the day.

i don't know about anyone else, but for some reason my computer is so slow at opening spreadsheets - i have to be really curious before i open one! :lol:
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8

Hi Roisin, not a bad AMPS this morning! I know you are concerned about the high numbers last night, it looks like Fax bounced from the yellow numbers he saw yesterday. When they spend a lot of time in high numbers, their body starts to think that high BG is normal. As the insulin starts bringing those numbers down, the liver thinks that the BG is going too low, and it "panics" and dumps a stored form of glucose and counter regulatory hormones to protect against hypoglycemia. It's a good thing, it means that his liver is working fine! Unfortunately, it boosts the BG up higher for a while...bounces can last up to 72 hours. It's a very normal part of the sugar dance. As Fax keeps seeing those lower numbers, his liver will learn that those numbers are ok, and the bounces will get smaller and eventually (hopefully) stop. We call it Liver Training School (LTS).

Here's the link to your first condo from yesterday. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44042 To add the link, go to your old condo, and copy the url. Then start a new topic, and click on the URL button above the text box and paste the url from your old condo between the 2 s. Don't worry, people will help y...on't always do marathon posts, honest! :lol:
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

No apology needed Laurie! THanks for all of that great info. The relief to know that these high numbers aren't cause for total panic is great.
The error messages were due to trying to make a note in that box - notes have been moved to the far right column. Thanks for pointing that out - the notes work in my WorldInsulin SS.

I am going to given his ears a rest and do my next test at +10 hours.
I can't wait until I have enough data that you can start guiding me to shoot for lower numbers. From the other spreadsheets that I have been looking at it seems like Faxy is on a relatively high dose.
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

Roison, your spreadsheet link in your signature doesn't seem to be working. Can you fix it? If you put the link in between URL brackets like this: , it won't stop working when you edit your signature.
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6 +10 347.4

I think I have fixed the link to the spreadsheet - thanks for alerting me to that.
I was able to test for ketones today (negative!!) at the sacrifice of a garden bed I'm getting ready for veggies! No wonder, it does look like a giant litter box at the moment.
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

It's still not working...you'll need to go back to your spreadsheet and copy/paste the url again (and put it between the url brackets).
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

The link works, but now the permission settings won't let me see it. Phew!

In the upper right hand corner of your spreadsheet, there should be a button that says "share". Click on that. A screen will pop up that says "sharing settings." Click on the link that says "change." Choose the box that says "Anyone with the link" and save.
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

nope...I don't understand. Changing the share settings should have fixed this. Maybe try "publish on the web" instead? You may need to post in the tech forum for help...
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

i have changed it so 'anyone on the web' can view. i hope that works
not sure what happened to make this all confused!!
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX PMPS 385.2

Ok, not having a heart attack this evening for the pre-shot...phew
Am I close to having enough data that some changes can be made soon?

Thanks to all!
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX PMPS 385.2

Hi Roisin!

Just a suggestion...when you have questions about dosing and such, it's a good idea to put "Dosing Q" or something like that in your subject line, and change the icon to the question mark icon. That way the dosing folks know you have something that needs to be answered.

Have a great evening!!

Amy
 
Hi Roisin,
You're doing a great job today. I didn't have any problems viewing your spreadsheet in any of its formatting permutations. But I'm glad that others can now see it too.
I'm sorry I can't advise you on Fax's dose. Wait for one or more of the experts to analyze his numbers. It might be too soon to make dose changes in any event. Lantus is a patience trip! Also, the insulin itself is not the only factor to consider, as you learned yesterday.
Keep up the good work and have a fine evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 25/5 - FAX AMPS 325.8 +6.5 264.6

I think one more day will do it....we want to make sure he isn't on a big bounce from going really low before you started monitoring closely. You're doing great on gathering data! If you can, it would help to note when/how much you feed on the SS. I noticed that you did that for a snack today....that's good.

Have you picked up some different low carb food yet? If not, I would do that tomorrow. I would also pick up several cans of high carb gravy food (anything around 16-18% or above is good) if you don't have any in the house. Do you have a hypo kit? Karo or maple syrup, or honey? There's a link to the hypo toolkit in the new to the group sticky, it explains what to put in the toolkit. I would print out the hypo instructions if you haven't already, and post it on your fridge.

Has Fax ever had a dental? Has the vet checked his teeth recently, or said that he needs a dental? Sometimes a tooth/mouth infection or inflammation from gingivitis can contribute to high numbers.

You mentioned moving his shot times, you can move the times by 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes once per day with minimal impact on the shed. If you need any help with that, just ask.

ETA: Great that you got the negative ketone test! :thumbup
 
I haven't picked up any different food - yesterday someone said that being on such a high dose of insulin might not bode well if i change him to a lower carb wet food. is it safe to start the transition to a more suitable food?
no, i don't have a hypo kit but that will be my next stop to read up on that.
 
fax has never had a dental and he usually gets a good report for teeth during his checkup but i will take a look at them when he comes in.
i moved the shot time because we were initially doing 8 or 8:30 am and then 6 or 6:30 pm for meals and shots - our vet told us and hour or two wouldn't make a difference.. so i am feeding a snack now at the old dinner time and at the 12 hour mark testing, feeding and shooting.
 
wow, you have done an incredible job of gathering data on fax. i looked at his spreadsheet! :-D my curiosity must've been up!

can you see how he has a downward curve between the am & pm shots yesterday & today? that's the typical Lantus curve - it won't be the same every day, or even from morning to night, but you can see what it's doing and how it's acting on fax. it tells you what his lowest point is, and following the protocol, our goal is to get a cat's BG down to normal, undiabetic cat ranges if possible, roughly 50-100. sometimes that takes a while but it's the goal. we try to get it there without making the cat hypoglycemic. it's a dance that we do and the cat's body "leads" the dance.

i just want to give ya a high five for the super testing - you must not be having any trouble getting blood. great job!
 
I think that was me who suggested not changing the food until you were testing more regularly. Right now, what you're feeding is 14% carb (Hill's M/D). If you switch over to a low carb food (e.g., Fancy Feast Classics Chicken or Turkey), you'll be feeding under 5% carb. That can make a huge difference in Fax's numbers. They will drop. You don't want to be unprepared either by not being able to test comfortably or not having high carb food in the house to control the numbers. Also, make sure you always have a stock of test strips. One of the worst feelings imaginable is to have a cat who's numbers are dropping and you have to make a frantic dash for supplies.

I hope you're not on total information overload!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top