? 25/04/2026 Maggie AMPS 289 / +3 214 / +5 144 / PMPS 167 / Stall, Shoot, Reduce?

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
? - 24/04/2026 Maggie AMPS 273 / +2.40 181 / +5 144 Slow progress but worried about low pre-shots &skips

Hi everyone,
We have a similar situation again today and I’m not sure how to handle it.
PMPS is 167 (too low for us). This seems to be becoming a pattern, and I’m feeling unsure about how to handle it.
Also, last night she dropped below 90 (82). I decided to hold the dose because I’m seeing clear progress, but now I’m wondering if that was the right decision.

Should I stall without feeding and re-test? If the number is stable or rising, would it be safe to shoot the full 0.50U, or should I consider a reduced dose? Also, what should I do if I re-test and the number is even lower?


I can monitor tonight closely if needed (as always), but I’m still quite nervous about shooting lower pre-shots.


Any guidance would be really appreciated 🙏
@Bandit's Mom If you’re available, I would really appreciate your input.
 
Update
I stalled for 1 hour and got the same reading (167). I gave 0.30U. Should I consider this her new dose from now on, or treat it as a token dose and go back to 0.50U tomorrow?
 
Update
I stalled for 1 hour and got the same reading (167). I gave 0.30U. Should I consider this her new dose from now on, or treat it as a token dose and go back to 0.50U tomorrow?
Hi Hellen, I’m sorry you didn’t get an answer earlier from anyone.
It’s good that you stalled to see if Maggie would come up.
I don’t think you should keep this dose doing forward since she didn’t earn a reduction.
And she didn’t go under 90 (I know she did go under 90 yesterday, but you didn’t take that reduction and she didn’t continue to stay too low).
I would go back to the .50 units in the morning.

Maggie is not going too low, but I know you are nervous about her possibly dropping too low.
167 is a safe number, but
It takes time to get more comfortable with her dropping into better numbers where her pancreas can do some healing in hopes of getting her better regulated, or even into remission.

It’s good you gave a reduced dose instead of skipping insulin.
Hopefully with time you will be fine with 167 at shot time.
Have a safe night, she will probably bounce a bit with the reduced dose.
🥰🌊🏄‍♀️😻
 
Hi Hellen, I’m sorry you didn’t get an answer earlier from anyone.
It’s good that you stalled to see if Maggie would come up.
I don’t think you should keep this dose doing forward since she didn’t earn a reduction.
And she didn’t go under 90 (I know she did go under 90 yesterday, but you didn’t take that reduction and she didn’t continue to stay too low).
I would go back to the .50 units in the morning.

Maggie is not going too low, but I know you are nervous about her possibly dropping too low.
167 is a safe number, but
It takes time to get more comfortable with her dropping into better numbers where her pancreas can do some healing in hopes of getting her better regulated, or even into remission.

It’s good you gave a reduced dose instead of skipping insulin.
Hopefully with time you will be fine with 167 at shot time.
Have a safe night, she will probably bounce a bit with the reduced dose.
🥰🌊🏄‍♀️😻
Thank you so much for the advice! I really hope that soon I'll find the courage to give the full dose even when I see lower numbers at shot time:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
If following SLGS you would reduce as the bg was under 90 last night.
Thank you for pointing that out. In the past, every time I reduced the dose after she fell under 90, her numbers climbed back up quickly and the lower dose didn't seem to work effectively. Since she's had better numbers lately, I decided to take a small risk and keep the dose a bit longer. Obviously, that was a mistake on my part. What dose would you suggest I continue with tomorrow morning?
 
She’s been on insulin long enough that if my cat I would feel comfortable lowering the reduction point a little and keep the .50 as you test enough as well. Maybe take reductions if under 80? The downside of SLGS is like you have experienced the lower dose does not work. I think also btw shooting .30 last night did not make a difference in how the cycle went but did affect today’s cycle. If you decide to lower the reduction number please add that to your signature.
 
She’s been on insulin long enough that if my cat I would feel comfortable lowering the reduction point a little and keep the .50 as you test enough as well. Maybe take reductions if under 80? The downside of SLGS is like you have experienced the lower dose does not work. I think also btw shooting .30 last night did not make a difference in how the cycle went but did affect today’s cycle. If you decide to lower the reduction number please add that to your signature.
Τhank you so much for this suggestion! I think it's a great idea to lower the reduction limit to 80, it will definitely help avoid those frustrating setbacks I've experienced in the past with premature dose reductions. I really appreciate your advice and I will follow it. I’ll make sure to update my signature right away to reflect this change. Thank you again for your support!
 
Thank you so much for the advice! I really hope that soon I'll find the courage to give the full dose even when I see lower numbers at shot time:banghead::banghead::banghead:
It takes time. And you have to feel ready to do it. We understand and it’s always best to be safe with Maggie!

You’re doing great and keep asking questions! It’s how we learn 🥰
 
Back
Top