? 25/03/23 MISSY: AMPS 185 / 169@ +3 / 157@ +6 / 185@ +9 / PMPS 206/ 212@ +3 Increase or wait?

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday AMPS 212 / 202@ +3 / 194@ +6 / 233@ +9 / PMPS 211 *NEW PEN / 166@ +3 / 182@ +6

Missy's numbers seemed to have dropped a bit more today, not sure if is because I started a new pen last night or not. Also no glucose on urine today.
@Wendy&Neko, should I increase the dose next or continue with .75u for a few more cycles? Do you think she's responding ok to insulin? I know this may sound exessive but, if she would have Acromegaly, would she respond at all to a .75u initial insulin dose like she has?
Tnx

Link to previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3058137/
 
Yes, Missy looks good for an increase. With TR you don't hold doses more than 8-10 cycles if the numbers aren't where you want them to be. With mid to high blues, you can increase every 8 cycles. You can take her up to 1U tomorrow.
 
Initial doses are held 10-14 cycles, to build the depot. You are on cycle 10, I think you'd be fine to increase to 1 unit tomorrow.

I know this may sound exessive but, if she would have Acromegaly, would she respond at all to a .75u initial insulin dose like she has?
Do you have any reason to think she might have acromegaly? Any side effects of it? I think it's unlikely, but I never say never. The UK study showing 1/4 of diabetic cats have acromegaly had some on doses as small at 1 unit.
 
Initial doses are held 10-14 cycles, to build the depot. You are on cycle 10, I think you'd be fine to increase to 1 unit tomorrow.


Do you have any reason to think she might have acromegaly? Any side effects of it? I think it's unlikely, but I never say never. The UK study showing 1/4 of diabetic cats have acromegaly had some on doses as small at 1 unit.
After what I experienced with Micio I'm terrified she'll have it too...anytime I see her numbers going up rather then low it makes me think the worst ...
What do you mean by side effects?
 
Common side effects for acros are pot bellies, large cats, noise breathing/snoring, insatiable hunger, wide faces. There are many more, some of which I would have thought you'd have seen with Micio. Were they brother and sister?
 
Common side effects for acros are pot bellies, large cats, noise breathing/snoring, insatiable hunger, wide faces. There are many more, some of which I would have thought you'd have seen with Micio. Were they brother and sister?
Missy and Micio are not related at all, Missy snores when she sleeps, no pot belly or wide face or insatiable hunger neither other symptoms that I'm aware of....I'm just obsessed and overeacting I guess. Fingers crossed I will increase to 1u tomorrow morning, tnx
 
Back
Top