? 24 sep Methos amps 83; 236 one hour after karo; 202 2hr after; +1=161;+2 =155; +3.75=176; +5.25=163

SmallestSparrow

Member Since 2024
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ase-help-me-keep-in-blue.294284/#post-3208783

using ALPHA TRAK and more or less SLGS

amps 90, after 15 min it was 83
I fed him. A lot with extra carbs. When I’ve skipped shots before it messed him up and if he’d been above 100 I’d have just tried LC food but I already did it so

is there a point I can still give him some insulin and if so how much?

edit: now 236 about 1 hour after I gave him karo and Mc food.
Edit: now 202 @2 hour after I gave karo/MC

edit: gave 2.5U please everyone send positive thoughts that I didn’t do the wrong thing
 
Last edited:
This is only my opinion and experience and will let the real experts weigh in, 2 things : try not to skip a shot and try to get BG raised using LC or maybe MC food and try to avoid Karo syrup unless they really start crashing. the Karo syrup really makes them go so much higher. I did this in the beginning because it is so scary when they go to lows you have not seen before but once you see how they react it's a lot easier to go slower with the carbs and have the courage to shoot! You are going to do well! Hang in there! :bighug:
 
This is only my opinion and experience and will let the real experts weigh in, 2 things : try not to skip a shot and try to get BG raised using LC or maybe MC food and try to avoid Karo syrup unless they really start crashing. the Karo syrup really makes them go so much higher. I did this in the beginning because it is so scary when they go to lows you have not seen before but once you see how they react it's a lot easier to go slower with the carbs and have the courage to shoot! You are going to do well! Hang in there! :bighug:
I know I know…as I poured it I was thinking NOOO but when we’re both sleepy …well. Going to check again in a few min when it will be 2hr post karo and maybe give 2.75
 
Actually I’d last checked him at 2300 PST (+9) he’d been holding steady @165 for 3 hours. I overslept (usually he wakes me up) and @430 am today woke up to the 83. I don’t like it when he drops 12 hr after the previous shot and not sure what I’m doing wrong that it keeps happening
 
I see you dud start a condo fur today. I answered in the old one because the message came to my email mi have Spectrum on the way so will look in later. Hoping to fix my WiFi issues. .
 
I get it. I also have spectrum. I think they’re in denial about their bandwidth issues.
I went with 2.5U. His +1 was lower but I only fed LC
I’m guessing I check hourly or did me messing up and giving karo mean I need to check more often
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA i hope i got the housekeeping items right. My vet is using I think similar to your SLGS, except using 1/2 U increments (I think she thinks there’s enough potential user error clouding things without measuring between the lines). I’m supposed to stay a week on a dose before moving up or down except she’s been considering dropping early to 2.5 because he’s been too low (for me) to shoot a few times and his amps has been low now twice. Technically he hasn’t been hypo, and some of the no-shot issues is my anxiety so I suspect she thinks 3 may be the magic number if he could just stay there and get him and me used to it. But since I’ve contacted her after hours repeatedly he may get a reduction based my my anxiety which I don’t want to happen

the time he surprised me with a 75 and I panicked I later got him up to 98 and she texted back a thumbs up emoji; at my protest she reminded me to leave the karo in the pantry.

In defense of the Alpha Trak it’s not its fault that it’s so accurate. It’s just on users to remind folks that it’s going to be a more accurate number without the human meter cushion people are used to.
 
The take action number with the AT is 68. Reductions are still under 90 and really .25 at a time. I used digital calipers for accuracy. Even syringes can be off by quite a bit so I ignored the lines and used my reliable calipers.
 
@SmallestSparrow
If you are going to follow SLGS our method please put it on your signature and change it on your spreadsheet. I have used the Religion meter and never had a problem with it and got Tyler into remission for 3 years and 7 months
But if you like the Alpha Trak that's fine
 
@SmallestSparrow
If you are going to follow SLGS our method please put it on your signature and change it on your spreadsheet. I have used the Religion meter and never had a problem with it and got Tyler into remission for 3 years and 7 months
But if you like the Alpha Trak that's fine
I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to imply there’s any problem with human meters —must be fatigue clouding my communication. Any meter works as long as people know what type of meter is being used. Numbers under 100 on an AT (and probably human meters) start to lose the general 10% +/- accuracy and instead has a +/-15 mg/dl—probably for safety/legal reasons. It may be the same for human meters but since they tend to read cats lower I think there’s a cushion experienced users add to a number (as in “well we know it’s really higher than the meter says bc human meters read cats lower”). The difference above 100 isn’t significant in communication but the number below 100 could be. I got the AT bc I knew there’d be a lot of extraordinary variables bc of his other conditions so wanted to remove the “well it’s not designed for cats” out of the discussion.
since Methos wouldn’t be alive without his vet I can make a case for whatever dose this board protocol suggests (and I don’t know that he’d qualify for a reduction with that protocol) but in the end if I can’t get her agreement I will need to do what she directs. I think she and the people here all in agreement that problem is my follow through
 
The take action number with the AT is 68. Reductions are still under 90 and really .25 at a time. I used digital calipers for accuracy. Even syringes can be off by quite a bit so I ignored the lines and used my reliable calipers.
So would he even qualify for a reduction?
 
Going forward today let's use this thread (condo).

Here is the link I said I would give you.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
Since he eats four meals and four snacks a day I wonder if I could just leave his shots about where they are and alter what he gets fed (meal vs snack). It would mean he’d still get fed at 3 am and get his other meds but then get his shot with a subsequent meal. Bc there’s no way he waits until 645 for breakfast
 
I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to imply there’s any problem with human meters —must be fatigue clouding my communication. Any meter works as long as people know what type of meter is being used. Numbers under 100 on an AT (and probably human meters) start to lose the general 10% +/- accuracy and instead has a +/-15 mg/dl—probably for safety/legal reasons. It may be the same for human meters but since they tend to read cats lower I think there’s a cushion experienced users add to a number (as in “well we know it’s really higher than the meter says bc human meters read cats lower”). The difference above 100 isn’t significant in communication but the number below 100 could be. I got the AT bc I knew there’d be a lot of extraordinary variables bc of his other conditions so wanted to remove the “well it’s not designed for cats” out of the discussion.
since Methos wouldn’t be alive without his vet I can make a case for whatever dose this board protocol suggests (and I don’t know that he’d qualify for a reduction with that protocol) but in the end if I can’t get her agreement I will need to do what she directs. I think she and the people here all in agreement that problem is my follow through
Don't be silly Colleen, I wasn't offended at all :cat:
I feel so bad he has Cushing's disease :(
Poor baby. Sounds like you have a wonderful vet.
 
Hopefully excitement done for the day. +7 in the 200s and my vet has proclaimed him a 2.5U cat (I’d normally be anxious it’s not enough but his ears need a break and I’m inching my time backwards anyway so that’s a little cushion for him. Thank you so much @tiffmaxee and @Diane Tyler's Mom GA (and I will change my signature but need to figure out what to delete for the SLGS bc I’m maxed on characters.

just to add to the excitement he got his B12 shot today and his numbers (coincidentally ? ) dropped before after his shot so there’s that. Since yesterday happened before his shot (delayed bc cat sitter sick) it may not be the B12 but maybe over the course of a week his tank gets a bit too full. So paws crossed 2.5 is right! A million thanks to all again
 
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ase-help-me-keep-in-blue.294284/#post-3208783

using ALPHA TRAK and more or less SLGS

amps 90, after 15 min it was 83
I fed him. A lot with extra carbs. When I’ve skipped shots before it messed him up and if he’d been above 100 I’d have just tried LC food but I already did it so

is there a point I can still give him some insulin and if so how much?

edit: now 236 about 1 hour after I gave him karo and Mc food.
Edit: now 202 @2 hour after I gave karo/MC

edit: gave 2.5U please everyone send positive thoughts that I didn’t do the wrong thing
@tiffmaxee
 
The take action number with the AT is 68. Reductions are still under 90 and really .25 at a time. I used digital calipers for accuracy. Even syringes can be off by quite a bit so I ignored the lines and used my reliable calipers.
It’s been on my to-do list to investigate that. At first when his BG was all over the map I suspected my syringes…took me determined phone calls to the company to find out they were made in China. Before my last set of No Shots I’d changed to ones made in Korea and actually have some made in the US now but don’t want to change anything until he’s stable. Still i suppose something like calipers would be ok as long as he’s stable-ish.
 
The only thing calipers will do is make sure you give the same dose every time. It also makes it easier for those in between doses. No need to wait.
 
Lots of excitement here today. Good call with giving his full (new) dose. You can also see what extra high carbs do at the end of the cycle. Good luck with this new dose.

Still i suppose something like calipers would be ok as long as he’s stable-ish.
Actually, the consistent size dose you get with calipers allows you to get him more "stable-ish". I noticed the difference when I switched to using calipers.
It may be the same for human meters but since they tend to read cats lower I think there’s a cushion experienced users add to a number
No, we don't add a number. We've had people compare their human meter and their AT readings at lower numbers, and most of the time the human is lower, but not always. Sometimes it's the AT that is lower.
 
Lots of excitement here today. Good call with giving his full (new) dose. You can also see what extra high carbs do at the end of the cycle. Good luck with this new dose.


Actually, the consistent size dose you get with calipers allows you to get him more "stable-ish". I noticed the difference when I switched to using calipers.

No, we don't add a number. We've had people compare their human meter and their AT readings at lower numbers, and most of the time the human is lower, but not always. Sometimes it's the AT that is lower.
I’m sure the calipers are more accurate but until he’s a little more centered on a dose I’m trying to avoid changing anything else I’m doing so there’s no question of “what have you done new that’s making us change his dose again”—if we don’t get a dose he can land on for at least a week soon then I’ll probably change the syringes (what I’ve wanted to do for over a week now) and try the calipers. Two changes at the same time, if my heart can stand it.
Three years of hearing “well you must have changed something” when my last adrenal tumor cat’s diabetes refused to be regulated has really engrained in me the need to be able to answer “nothing. I swear I’m doing everything the same, he’s eating exactly the same, we haven’t changed anything”. Luckily Methos has a little OCD and likes to eat the same thing at the same time of day—including which dish is used for his mousse and which for his broth. He’s not going to be happy as his shot time changes every day to get us back on track.
 
I understand not wanting to change more than one thing at a time. That’s why using the current syringes with calipers will give you consistent accurate dosing. All syringes vary. For a human that tiny difference doesn’t matter but with cats it does.
 
I understand not wanting to change more than one thing at a time. That’s why using the current syringes with calipers will give you consistent accurate dosing. All syringes vary. For a human that tiny difference doesn’t matter but with cats it does.
Is there a video on using calipers?
 
Back
Top