Girlie's mom
Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-6-275-8-94-10-115-pmps-157-pm-2-439.181099/
Girlie and I have been having an interesting night here in Australia and she's started dropping again, so I'm not sure what to do because she drops quickly which is a bit scary for me. Yikes!
AMPS 7.6 (39.2) (no insulin the night before as too low)
+4=662 (36.8); +6=592 (32.9); +8=455 (25.3) (drop of 137 (7.6))
PMPS 331 (18.4) (drop of 124 (6.9))
+2 = 187 (10.6) (down 144 (7.8));
+3=119 (6.6) (down 68 (4))
I fed her (not that keen on cat food so gave her Liverwurst so she'd eat something with a dab of honey); then gave her 5 ml glucose syrup at +3:30
+3:45 BG 181 (10.1) (up 62 (3.5))
+5=256 (14.2) (up 75 (4.1))
+6 = 196 (11.1) (down 60 (3.1))
I'm a little concerned that she's dropped again 60 (3.1) points in an hour, and I'm not sure whether I should try to feed her (I doubt she'd be interested) or give her more glucose or just wait this out...
Also, I'm not sure about giving her insulin in the morning in a few hours or if I should reduce the dose. I know she hasn't typically dropped to the hypo level, but I am concerned that she drops so quickly.
@Wendy&Neko what do you think?
Not sure whether the following is noteworthy, but just fyi:
(Sorry about the Australian time differences: confusing, I know. It's now 12:32 am on 25 July in Oz; 10:32 am est in the U.S.)
Girlie and I have been having an interesting night here in Australia and she's started dropping again, so I'm not sure what to do because she drops quickly which is a bit scary for me. Yikes!
AMPS 7.6 (39.2) (no insulin the night before as too low)
+4=662 (36.8); +6=592 (32.9); +8=455 (25.3) (drop of 137 (7.6))
PMPS 331 (18.4) (drop of 124 (6.9))
+2 = 187 (10.6) (down 144 (7.8));
+3=119 (6.6) (down 68 (4))
I fed her (not that keen on cat food so gave her Liverwurst so she'd eat something with a dab of honey); then gave her 5 ml glucose syrup at +3:30
+3:45 BG 181 (10.1) (up 62 (3.5))
+5=256 (14.2) (up 75 (4.1))
+6 = 196 (11.1) (down 60 (3.1))
I'm a little concerned that she's dropped again 60 (3.1) points in an hour, and I'm not sure whether I should try to feed her (I doubt she'd be interested) or give her more glucose or just wait this out...
Also, I'm not sure about giving her insulin in the morning in a few hours or if I should reduce the dose. I know she hasn't typically dropped to the hypo level, but I am concerned that she drops so quickly.
@Wendy&Neko what do you think?
Not sure whether the following is noteworthy, but just fyi:
- She really wasn't very hungry today
- Her asthma cough is back. She's been off her asthma meds (Flixotide with Aerokat inhaler) since 20 June with all of her other issues. A wet asthma cough started on 20 July, and I started the Flixotide again. The cough is less wet, but she's still having a number of mild asthma attacks every day.
- No ketones in her urine but she's still drinking a lot of water every day
(Sorry about the Australian time differences: confusing, I know. It's now 12:32 am on 25 July in Oz; 10:32 am est in the U.S.)
Last edited:


