24/4/2020, Monkey AMPS: 198. Question about dose

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
Peter that was a very big drop of Monkeys today down to 25. What did you feed him to bring him up higher? That is very low and is of concern.
Did you test after the +68.
When you get very low Numbers like that you need to be testing every 30 minutes until you get them up over 50. It looks like you didn’t test after getting 34 for 2 hours. You just can’t do that and think Monkey will be ok.

I would say the depot is over full at the moment as you didn’t take the reduction yesterday.
For tonight’s dose I would give a one off dose of 2 units to help empty the depot and go back to 2.75 units tomorrow if the numbers are high enough.

I would feel happier if you would start posting over on the Lantus forum instead of here. There are a lot more people over there who use Lantus and mot people once they get set up swap over and start posting on the Lantus page.
Here is the link
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

My apology for not posting in the correct forum:(. I immediately fed Monkey high carb snack+chicken liver snack. He ate all, so I assumed that he would be fine. Maybe I am too relaxed about low BG since Monkey and PenPen because I have never noticed any abnormality in them.

I will give him 2 unit dose today. May I ask how high is high enough for tomorrow for me to give 2.75 units?
 
Echoing Bron-- that was a very dangerous situation today for Monkey. I'm especially worried because you test so little at night, so you have no margin if something like that were to occur then (and cats often go lower at night than they do during the day!).

At the beginning of treating their diabetes, I learned that low BG can be very dangerous. But my cats do not show normality when they have low BG. Like to 25 is super low but Monkey just looked fine, so I was not very worried. I should be more worried, right? I am thinking how to improve the safety of Monkey and PenPen

Regarding to the safety margin at night. I will try to give him more nigh test. However sometimes I can be too tired to stay awake at midnight. Do you think reducing the dose would be a good option?
 
Whenever you see a very low number it's time to take action - feed your cat some high carb food - or in the case of an extremely low number - anything under 40 - you could bring out the honey or karo syrup. The problem with cats is they won't tell you if they're getting ready to have a seizure from extremely low blood sugar - but once it begins it's not something you would want to deal with and would require immediate emergency assistance - if you can get the cat to the vet in time they would start a glucose IV drip - many don't make it - that's why there are so many warnings and precautions about those low low numbers.

198 is a perfectly safe number to shoot. IF you get a number of 50 or less on your meter - please hold food, post to the forum and ask for help. Don't shoot insulin until you can be sure the numbers are rising - test again in 20 minutes to see if kitty is coming up, if not, it's wise to skip that shot. I hope this is helpful.
 
Peter I am really glad to see you posting over here. Bring Pen Pen over here too.:)
It looks like Monkey is staying low, still just 76 at +8
Please post here if he hasn’t risen to 150 by PMPS. I would stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help if that happens.
You will most likely need to get some tests in overnight. You will need to set the alarm and wake up to test. And I would also leave food out for him as well.

As Sue said, most cats will not show any signs of a hypo until they are dangerously low and it can then be too late. Never get complacent with low numbers. Anything below 50 and you have to act to bring it up higher.
A lot of cats drop lower at night.
Have you read the Hypo sheet.? Please print it off and put on your fridge. Always have high carb and honey easy to use.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
 
Peter I am really glad to see you posting over here. Bring Pen Pen over here too.:)
It looks like Monkey is staying low, still just 76 at +8
Please post here if he hasn’t risen to 150 by PMPS. I would stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help if that happens.
You will most likely need to get some tests in overnight. You will need to set the alarm and wake up to test. And I would also leave food out for him as well.

As Sue said, most cats will not show any signs of a hypo until they are dangerously low and it can then be too late. Never get complacent with low numbers. Anything below 50 and you have to act to bring it up higher.
A lot of cats drop lower at night.
Have you read the Hypo sheet.? Please print it off and put on your fridge. Always have high carb and honey easy to use.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/

Hi Bron. Yes I have printed out the Hypo sheet and have some glucose powder. Maybe I will get honey later. Monkey PMPS is 176 ml. I just test it one minute ago, now they are going to eat. Should the dose me 2.00?:) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
Hi Peter,
I just thought I should say that just because Monkey is looking, acting normal, Its still not good to put his body through the ups and downs of blood sugar. It will eventually take a toll. When he reads very low you might want to take another test right away to confirm. Test yourself a human should read around 90.

If I am wrong experts, PLEASE correct my thinking.

jeanne
 
Hi Peter!

I think you can shoot, he's at a safe number and on the way up. Please do make sure to still get at least one test later tonight, though. If you can't get another test, I might skip tonight. He went very very low today after going under 50 yesterday, I don't think you can count on him bouncing all night.
 
Yes please get a +2 and a +4 or +5 tonight Peter. Please post the BG numbers and put in the SS. If the BGs are dropping you will need to test again later in the cycle. You need to test until the numbers start to rise. Please give Monkey some snacks during the night as well.
There will be people here who can keep an eye on Monkey as it's day time in the US. I'm just heading to bed.
 
Yes please get a +2 and a +4 or +5 tonight Peter. Please post the BG numbers and put in the SS. If the BGs are dropping you will need to test again later in the cycle. You need to test until the numbers start to rise. Please give Monkey some snacks during the night as well.
There will be people here who can keep an eye on Monkey as it's day time in the US. I'm just heading to bed.
So should I shoot or not shoot 2.0 U? I am waiting for your suggestion @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Welcome to the Lantus forum!

yikes two diabetic cats! You must be a superhero!

Those lows are scary! The lowest I ever saw my cat was 33. She never shows symptoms when she is hypoglycemic. I know we are taught to avoid carbs for our diabetic cats, but when they are as low as 25 or 30, carbs are their friends!!!

I’ve seen some people say... better high for a day than low until it leads to end of life. Pour that sugar on (metaphorically) when you catch a low like that and test until it comes up to safe levels consistently! Many of us have had to forego sleep sometimes to stay up and monitor our kitties. It helps me to keep containers of food near my bed so I can wake up and feed an extra snack or get a quick test in if I keep everything near the bed. Then I only half wake up and can go right back to sleep after I check. :)

If you’re asking if 176 is an okay shoot number, normally I would say yes but I’m not familiar with your cats and their situations yet.

How long ago did you test the blood sugar?
 
Welcome to the Lantus forum!

yikes two diabetic cats! You must be a superhero!

Those lows are scary! The lowest I ever saw my cat was 33. She never shows symptoms when she is hypoglycemic. I know we are taught to avoid carbs for our diabetic cats, but when they are as low as 25 or 30, carbs are their friends!!!

I’ve seen some people say... better high for a day than low until it leads to end of life. Pour that sugar on (metaphorically) when you catch a low like that and test until it comes up to safe levels consistently! Many of us have had to forego sleep sometimes to stay up and monitor our kitties. It helps me to keep containers of food near my bed so I can wake up and feed an extra snack or get a quick test in if I keep everything near the bed. Then I only half wake up and can go right back to sleep after I check. :)

If you’re asking if 176 is an okay shoot number, normally I would say yes but I’m not familiar with your cats and their situations yet.

How long ago did you test the blood sugar?

Yes, two diabetic cats. In the beginning I felt taking care of two diabetic cat is "normal like other cat owners" After 2+ weeks for taking care of them, sometimes I feel tired.:facepalm: And I have another two non-diabetic cat
Cat owners here are awesome. Foregoing sleep for cat is a respectable feat in my eyes. His last BG, PMPS, is exactly 1 hour ago
 
Are you an hour late with the dose?
What is his BG now?

Yes I am a hour late with the dose (10 minutes ago) since I want to confirm with you people the dose I should give him. His BG now is 239, I checked 1 minute ago. To reconfirm, should I check his BG +2 and a +4 or +5 tonight? So I should get this BG 2 hours later and 5 hours later? IF I find out that his +2 is lower than now, then I need to recheck until his BG is HIGHER than his previous record. Also, should I give snack no matter what? Or only give snack if his BG is lower than let say 50? If his BG is higher than 50, can I give him chicken liver snack instead of high carb snack?
 
Peter, because you were late giving Monkeys pm dose of insulin you will need to give tomorrow mornings dose 3/4 of an hour later than normal. Then you work your way back to your usual time by going back 15 minutes each cycle. If you are unsure what I am saying, post and ask.
You are doing a great job looking after your two FD kitties. There’s a lot to learn in the beginning!
 
Peter, because you were late giving Monkeys pm dose of insulin you will need to give tomorrow mornings dose 3/4 of an hour later than normal. Then you work your way back to your usual time by going back 15 minutes each cycle. If you are unsure what I am saying, post and ask.
You are doing a great job looking after your two FD kitties. There’s a lot to learn in the beginning!

I think I have a bad habit that the morning dose time is a bit inconsistent, ranging from 10:00 am to 10:40 am. The average time is about 10:20am. Like today I give injection on 10:00 am and 10:30pm. The inconsistency is partly due to I need to come to the forum and ask due to I have not fully understand how to determine the dosing. Learning curve seems steep. So for tomorrow morning, what time should I give him the dose?
 
Go back to the 2.50 (I corrected the dose) dose tomorrow morning and give it 3/4 hour later than you normally would. That is because you were late tonight and you need to go back to the correct time but only by 15 minutes each cycle.
 
Last edited:
We normally say to new diabetics if it is above 150 you can shoot. If it is below 150 stall don’t feed and ask for advice. If you are ever unsure always post and ask. Make sure your subject line says you need help though. This is a fairly busy forum and there are usually people here to help. Now I’m heading to bed. It’s 1 am!
 
@Peter H ... sorry the new dose for the morning is 2.5 units as he earned a reduction in dose. Please acknowledge you have seen this post and the new dose of 2.5 units.

Dose clarification: I think we were recommending a one-time big reduction tonight, down to 2.0U, before returning to the 2.5U dose?

But above what BG level should I give him 2.75 dose? Like above 100 ml?

The sticky on dosing methods (TR and SLGS) talks about setting standards for shooting. Usually on this forum, we set the initial "no-shoot" number at 150. Over time, as you gather more data, you will be able to shoot lower and lower numbers. How fast that process goes and how low you move the no-shoot number will depend on you and the dosing method you choose.

You have a fair amount of data now, and (after advisement) have shot 130 a couple of times for Monkey, and tonight are shooting 140 for PenPen. So you are already starting the process of moving your no-shoot number down. From here, you should do as Bron says: when you hit a number that is lower than usual, stall and post for advice.
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) yes we reduced the dose once down to 2 units to drain the depot a bit after those low greens. Then back up to 2.5 which is the new dose after the reduction. Looks like Monkey might bounce tonight.
I’ll leave this in your capable hands Nan. I’m fading fast here. Can you make sure Peter sees that the morning dose is 2.5 units please? Thanks

Yes I see it. Thanks for checking:p
 
Back
Top