? 24/04/2026 Maggie AMPS 273 / +2.40 181 / +5 144 Slow progress but worried about low pre-shots &skips

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
? - 22/04 Maggie AMPS 285, +2.30 220, +7 110 PMPS 133 stall for 1 hour 123. Need guidance

Hi everyone ❤️
I’m starting to notice that Maggie is having fewer 300s at her pre-shots and is spending more time in lower ranges, which makes me feel much more optimistic about our progress. It feels like we are improving slowly and steadily (or at least, that’s what I want to believe!).I really don’t have the words to thank you all for your support, you guys are fantastic. Just 2,5 months ago, when we were still on Caninsulin, I had very little hope, and I don’t think I would have been able to help Maggie feel better without your guidance and encouragement to switch insulin.

However, I’m a bit concerned because I see a pattern repeating today. It looks like the morning cycle might lead to another skip due to a low pre-shot number, just like it did two days ago:nailbiting::banghead:.
To be prepared for next time, I have a question regarding low pre-shot numbers: If I stall without feeding and re-test, but the BG continues to drop, what should be my next move? Should I keep stalling, or is a drop during a stall a definitive sign that I must skip the dose?

The lowest pre-shot I have ever shot was 178, but that was back when we were on 0.30U. Now that we are on 0.50U, I feel very nervous. If I see a pre-shot between 100–150, should I dare to shoot the full 0.50U dose? Honestly, this is something that still causes me a lot of anxiety and I’m afraid of a potential hypoglycemic episode. I want her to be safe, but I also don’t want to keep losing ground with frequent skips. Sorry if I’m being a bit repetitive and overly cautious, I’m still a bit of a chicken when it comes to lower numbers:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

Your guidance means the world to me. Any advice on how to handle these lower numbers would help me a lot🙏🙏🙏


Wishing everyone a lovely day/night and safe surfing to all our kitties 🐾❤️
 
Update: I couldn’t resist! I stepped out of work for a bit and went home to check on her. At +6.5 she came up slightly to 166, so it looks like we’re not heading toward a low PMPS after all.

Still, I would really appreciate any guidance on how to handle lower pre-shot numbers going forward.
 
Hi Hellen, it takes time to feel more comfortable to shoot lower preshots. So don’t worry. We all understand how you feel 🥰

With SLGS, you can technically shoot anything above 90. Of course it’s best if you can monitor her BG.
Be sure to read the below information (over and over) if you have any concerns. And always post here for help or questions.
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

It’s great she’s now seeing lower than 300 preshots! You’re doing great!
Give Maggie some belly rubs from me.
Safe surfing 😻🌊🏄‍♀️
 
Hi Hellen, it takes time to feel more comfortable to shoot lower preshots. So don’t worry. We all understand how you feel 🥰

With SLGS, you can technically shoot anything above 90. Of course it’s best if you can monitor her BG.
Be sure to read the below information (over and over) if you have any concerns. And always post here for help or questions.
Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

It’s great she’s now seeing lower than 300 preshots! You’re doing great!
Give Maggie some belly rubs from me.
Safe surfing 😻🌊🏄‍♀️
Hi Staci, ❤️
Thank you so much once again 🥰 I’ve read all the stickies many times (honestly, more times than I can count!), but I still feel unsure about one specific situation. I haven’t been able to find clear guidance on what to do when I stall without feeding and the numbers keep dropping, whether I should still consider shooting, keep stalling, or if that’s generally a sign that it’s safer to skip.
That’s the part that confuses me the most right now.


I’ll definitely pass the belly rubs on to Maggie 🐾 and please give my beloved Ivy some from us too!❤️❤️❤️
 
Hi Staci, ❤️
Thank you so much once again 🥰 I’ve read all the stickies many times (honestly, more times than I can count!), but I still feel unsure about one specific situation. I haven’t been able to find clear guidance on what to do when I stall without feeding and the numbers keep dropping, whether I should still consider shooting, keep stalling, or if that’s generally a sign that it’s safer to skip.
That’s the part that confuses me the most right now.


I’ll definitely pass the belly rubs on to Maggie 🐾 and please give my beloved Ivy some from us too!❤️❤️❤️
I think it comes down to the caveat “can you monitor and have a hypo kit” if numbers keep dropping.
Of course you should post if you need help (but the time difference is a factor and someone may not be available to help).
Possibly tagging @Bandit's Mom is a good idea when you do amps as she’s in India.

So you may have to decide what to do.
You will have to decide if you are comfortable shooting a lower preshot, giving a reduced dose, or skipping.
Generally, Lantus gives a flatter cycle when shooting lower. But you need to feel comfortable and that takes time to get there.
Hope this helps! I know it’s scary. 🥰

Ivy says thank you for the love 🫶 😻💓
 
I think it comes down to the caveat “can you monitor and have a hypo kit” if numbers keep dropping.
Of course you should post if you need help (but the time difference is a factor and someone may not be available to help).
Possibly tagging @Bandit's Mom is a good idea when you do amps as she’s in India.

So you may have to decide what to do.
You will have to decide if you are comfortable shooting a lower preshot, giving a reduced dose, or skipping.
Generally, Lantus gives a flatter cycle when shooting lower. But you need to feel comfortable and that takes time to get there.
Hope this helps! I know it’s scary. 🥰

Ivy says thank you for the love 🫶 😻💓
Thank you so much Staci (Oh my God, every time I see a photo of Ivy I just want to squeeze her! :p )
 
Back
Top