? 23rd March Suki AMPS 25.5, +4 22.2, +5 23.5, +6 21.8. Are we bouncing?

Steph & Suki

Member Since 2019
Apologies i am not sure how to post a link to my recent threads. We got a higher then normal AMPS number the other day and Wendy said it was likely a bounce from the lovely blue +6 i got on Tuesday night.

No curve done today but i got a few random mid cycle tests. I am out for the day now so wont be getting anymore until our usual PMPS.

Any thoughts on our dosage? Not sure whether to keep her at 2u and see if her numbers go lower or whether to go up to 2.25u. I have previously tried going from 2u to 2.5u and a facebook group i am in advised me to go back to 1.5u as they believed it caused her to bounce.

I am not good at reading her numbers and knowing whats best really.

Any advice from you guys will be much appreciated as always :)

Recent thread

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ghts-on-holding-the-dose.212186/#post-2352063
 
Last edited:
To post your recent thread, find it from yesterday (or whenever?) and copy and past the url (the web address at the top..www...) into your comments inside your thread.

Also, for posts it's really helpful if you can post like this: 3/23 Suki AMPS ### - so we all know what day you're posting and what your kitties first reading of the day is...I'm presuming this is your post for today? If you could use your thread tools (on the right) to edit your title and add the date it would be very helpful.

Thanks so much and welcome to the forum! It will also be helpful to attract attention if you use the little '?' mark icon - that's on the left of the title...just pop it in there until your question is answered... :)
 
She has been on the same dose since the 16th pmps, not seeing much blues or greens I would increase to 2.25 at pmps, if at all possible try and get a +1 or +2 to see what she is doing, looks like you test pretty good, I’m guessing that’s when maybe your off work, I test feed and shoot Bella at 4:45am and pm so I can test a +2 before I leave for work so I can leave appropriate food down. I’m tagging some other people for you @Bobbie And Bubba @Judy and Boomer @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko
I will say I do TR and work, that is why I get up so,early to so I can get the +2, I think once you get more testing done you will be able to see patterns and have a better idea of what she is going to do
 
Thank you i wasnt really sure whether to hold for another week or increase to 2.25 sooner. I can only curve on weekends as i work monday to friday daytime.

Thank you for the tags i have no idea how to do that on here. I am a forum newbie!
 
Thank you i wasnt really sure whether to hold for another week or increase to 2.25 sooner. I can only curve on weekends as i work monday to friday daytime.

Thank you for the tags i have no idea how to do that on here. I am a forum newbie!
Just hit @ and then type the name of who u want to tag
 
Hey there and Welcome to the Forum. Oh, can I relate to you being a forum newbie. When I first arrived, I not only had to learn about FD but how to navigate on this forum ( my very first one). We will all help you as you go along so don't get frustrated and discourage. Keep asking questions as that is how we all learned.

As far as the dose, it is looking like she needs more juice. The bounce produced from the blue on the 19th would have cleared by now. It takes 6 cycles for a bounce to clear. It looks like you dosed her tonight all ready so if she doesn't come back down tonight, I would increase tomorrow morning.
 
I would increase. Bouncing is not a reason for reducing. Almost all cats newly diabetic bounce. It’s a natural reaction to seeing lower numbers than they are used to. The way to stop them from bouncing is to get them used to normal numbers again, which can only be done by increasing to a dose where they spend time in good numbers. I rather suspect that in the long run that will be 2.5 units or even more. But let’s get there with 0.25 unit increments so you know you didn’t miss a good dose.
 
Apologies i am not sure how to post a link to my recent threads. We got a higher then normal AMPS number the other day and Wendy said it was likely a bounce from the lovely blue +6 i got on Tuesday night.

No curve done today but i got a few random mid cycle tests. I am out for the day now so wont be getting anymore until our usual PMPS.

Any thoughts on our dosage? Not sure whether to keep her at 2u and see if her numbers go lower or whether to go up to 2.25u. I have previously tried going from 2u to 2.5u and a facebook group i am in advised me to go back to 1.5u as they believed it caused her to bounce.

I am not good at reading her numbers and knowing whats best really.

Any advice from you guys will be much appreciated as always :)

Recent thread

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ghts-on-holding-the-dose.212186/#post-2352063
The FB group sounds to me like they don’t understand how the insulin works. When the dose is dropped back like that, it’s called led a rebound check and they are almost always a failure leaving at kitty sitting at higher numbers longer than they need to. If you raise the dose in smaller increments (0.25u) as SLGS prescribes, she won’t be overdosed (which is why people that don’t understand bouncing suggest a rebound check...they think kitty is overdosed).

There are some issues with your SS. We use US numbers in this forum, not World ones as you have on the SS. That’s why our SS templates in the Tech Support forum are set up to convert World numbers like yours to US numbers. Your SS doesn’t do that. Because we don’t use World numbers here, most members are not going to take the time to do the conversion which works as a disadvantage for you if you need help.

Also, the link is incorrect although it works right now. If you send me a private message, I can fix the SS issues for you. Click on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top