bambinaki
Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-11-291-pmps-310-2-295-9-252-at-2-75.226036/
I'm worried.
Yesterday Maxi's dose increased to 2.75.
I'm worried.
Yesterday Maxi's dose increased to 2.75.
It means patience, let Maxis body get adjusted to the increase and see what happens, new dose wonkiness happens sometimes
Have a great day
With a new dose, it could take up to 6 cycles before you start seeing the effects of the new dose. Blaze sometimes takes up to 10 cycles!These cats! Give Maxi a few days on the new dose.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/
Read this about increasing
Typically yes, but Blaze has a pattern of taking a little longer to get going on a new dose, so I give him 10 cycles. He’s a weird kitty.Thank you, Sarah.
10 cycles? But aren't I supposed to increase the dose if his glucose is still too high after 6 cycles?
Typically yes, but Blaze has a pattern of taking a little longer to get going on a new dose, so I give him 10 cycles. He’s a weird kitty.
But Blaze's glucose numbers aren't high...?
Bellasmom, I read this (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/) and I do see an explanation of Maxi's high number this morning.
I'm repeatedly told to be patient, then I calm down and remain patient, then I lose patience again...
Now I'm worried about having to keep increasing the dose. How much insulin do other kitties get? I mean how high a dose could he get to before the insulin works? It is possible that insulin just won't work for Maxi?
I just wish the medicine (insulin) would work already and normalize his glucose level so his body doesn't continue to be ravaged by high glucose.
Thank you!
Not anymore, but if you take a look at his SS from 2019, his BG’s used to be high. He was constantly in reds, pinks and yellows and he would bounce like crazy any time his BG was lower than normal. That’s why I would hold new doses for 5 days (10 cycles) when we would either increase or decrease, because he was almost anyways bouncing for a few days after lower BG’s. Then after a few days, he would clear the bounce and start coming back down and THEN I would finally see the affects of the new dose. If after 5 days, he wasn’t coming back down and having nadirs under 150, then we would go back up to the last dose. His 2019 SS and his 2020 SS are totally different. We’ve been doing this for 6 months now and Blaze stopped the big bouncing around the beginning of January. We spent a lot of time in higher numbers with lots of bouncing and then something finally clicked with him and now we’re getting blue and green BG’s, but we definitely didn’t start like this. It took time and patience.But Blaze's glucose numbers aren't high...?
Every cat is different. Some stop the bouncing right away and some keep bouncing for a long time. People would tell me, they keep bouncing until they don’t. There’s no range of time, because every cat is so different. You just have to keep doing what you’re doing, and you’re doing awesome! You just have to be patient."In time, that overreaction in his body calms down as his numbers stabilize..."
How much time? Can you give me a range? Best and worst case?
Not anymore, but if you take a look at his SS from 2019, his BG’s used to be high. He was constantly in reds, pinks and yellows and he would bounce like crazy any time his BG was lower than normal. That’s why I would hold new doses for 5 days (10 cycles) when we would either increase or decrease, because he was almost anyways bouncing for a few days after lower BG’s. Then after a few days, he would clear the bounce and start coming back down and THEN I would finally see the affects of the new dose. If after 5 days, he wasn’t coming back down and having nadirs under 150, then we would go back up to the last dose. His 2019 SS and his 2020 SS are totally different. We’ve been doing this for 6 months now and Blaze stopped the big bouncing around the beginning of January. We spent a lot of time in higher numbers with lots of bouncing and then something finally clicked with him and now we’re getting blue and green BG’s, but we definitely didn’t start like this. It took time and patience.
"In time, that overreaction in his body calms down as his numbers stabilize..."
How much time? Can you give me a range? Best and worst case?
Given the options of increasing after 6 cycles or after 13 cycles, should I wait 13 cycles and let the insulin settle (good) while also maybe letting his glucose numbers go too high more days (bad), or should I increase after 6 cycles?
First, a cat needs however much insulin they need, be it 0.1 units or 80+ units for some of the high doses. That latter is unusual, but I have seen it a couple times. And no, I don’t think Maxi is in that category, just using it as an example of cats needing what they need. Second, insulin is a hormone, not a conventional medicine. You don’t give a little more and see little better numbers. You keep increasing until you see a fitting dose. Patience is key.Now I'm worried about having to keep increasing the dose. How much insulin do other kitties get? I mean how high a dose could he get to before the insulin works? It is possible that insulin just won't work for Maxi?
I just wish the medicine (insulin) would work already and normalize his glucose level so his body doesn't continue to be ravaged by high glucose.
OK, first, I would have held the 2.5 a few more cycles....when you first start seeing blue (like you did on 2/21) you want to hold it for a total of 8-10 cycles.
Now that you're already up to 2.75, you could go ahead and hold it for a few more cycles and then see what kind of numbers you're getting. By Friday, we should have a pretty good idea of what to do while you're out of town
First, a cat needs however much insulin they need, be it 0.1 units or 80+ units for some of the high doses. That latter is unusual, but I have seen it a couple times. And no, I don’t think Maxi is in that category, just using it as an example of cats needing what they need. Second, insulin is a hormone, not a conventional medicine. You don’t give a little more and see little better numbers. You keep increasing until you see a fitting dose. Patience is key.
Post and ask about petsitter dose a couple days before you leave, things can change over time.
Yup, twice a day. They needed a cheap source for insulin! Those kitties had a couple secondary endocrine conditions that provided extreme insulin resistance,80 units for a little kitty?!
OK....so far he's had 3 cycles at 2.75....tonight's would be 4 and tomorrow (Mon) would be 5th and 6th.....If you aren't seeing blue by Tuesday morning, you could go up to 3U for Tues AM/PM, Wed AM/PM, Thurs AM......and then on Thursday, ask about what to do about the dose for your trip.
Make sense?
Yup, twice a day. They needed a cheap source for insulin! Those kitties had a couple secondary endocrine conditions that provided extreme insulin resistance,