Julie and Alice
Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117566
Hi all,
Its proving a tricky thing to get Alice anywhere near stable. Thanks for the encouragement that this isn't unusual. Her BG at +6 in the night was 180 so I was encouraged but unfortunately she is back up to 527 this morning at AMPS! She was actually sick (just fluid & little fur) hopefully not significant. She is thirsty again so I'm pretty sure her BG is now above 527 as it was followed by food. I wonder if the 180 to her was a reason to bounce (any blues?
I did does her with a little more than 1 unit this morning.
You were right I think Julie (& Pumpkin) about watching the night, although she was ok I'm guessing that tonight will be different as increased dose this morning & maybe 'bounce' is settling? I do hope shes ok tonight as tomorrow I have my annual 'Personal Development Review' first thing!
Chris (& China) many thanks for the pics of syringe dosing! I have put the link in Alice's diabetic folder! I have spent quite a while this morning with turmeric coloured water, your pics and her old syringe practicing! This is how I looked cat(2)_steam ! I had my torch, magnifying glass & husband helping! I really cannot see that .25. I understand where it is on the syringe but cant tell if I've got it. I kept looking at the position of the plunger versus the black line on the syringe. I find it impossible!! I even wore two pairs of reading glasses!! Maybe practice maketh perfect. Marje mentioned calipers - I wonder if I would manage better that way? :?: BTW what is a 'fat zero' :?:
Well today has started & I'm still in my Jim Jam's (nightclothes!).
Thanks for your interestx
BTW I forgot to say my vet rang and said to give 1.25 units if BG over 18/324 or 1 unit if under that. For the daytime I'll give it a go but for now at night I daren't go over the 1 unit until I see she is steadier. After all, that's exactly what I did when she had the low at night - I will give it a go though nailbite_smile I'm having to overuse this icon! :lol:
Juliex
Hi all,
Its proving a tricky thing to get Alice anywhere near stable. Thanks for the encouragement that this isn't unusual. Her BG at +6 in the night was 180 so I was encouraged but unfortunately she is back up to 527 this morning at AMPS! She was actually sick (just fluid & little fur) hopefully not significant. She is thirsty again so I'm pretty sure her BG is now above 527 as it was followed by food. I wonder if the 180 to her was a reason to bounce (any blues?
I did does her with a little more than 1 unit this morning.
You were right I think Julie (& Pumpkin) about watching the night, although she was ok I'm guessing that tonight will be different as increased dose this morning & maybe 'bounce' is settling? I do hope shes ok tonight as tomorrow I have my annual 'Personal Development Review' first thing!
Chris (& China) many thanks for the pics of syringe dosing! I have put the link in Alice's diabetic folder! I have spent quite a while this morning with turmeric coloured water, your pics and her old syringe practicing! This is how I looked cat(2)_steam ! I had my torch, magnifying glass & husband helping! I really cannot see that .25. I understand where it is on the syringe but cant tell if I've got it. I kept looking at the position of the plunger versus the black line on the syringe. I find it impossible!! I even wore two pairs of reading glasses!! Maybe practice maketh perfect. Marje mentioned calipers - I wonder if I would manage better that way? :?: BTW what is a 'fat zero' :?:
Well today has started & I'm still in my Jim Jam's (nightclothes!).
Thanks for your interestx
BTW I forgot to say my vet rang and said to give 1.25 units if BG over 18/324 or 1 unit if under that. For the daytime I'll give it a go but for now at night I daren't go over the 1 unit until I see she is steadier. After all, that's exactly what I did when she had the low at night - I will give it a go though nailbite_smile I'm having to overuse this icon! :lol:
Juliex