23/04/2019 Monkey AMPS 274

Mel & Monkey

Member Since 2017
So it looks like my girl has had a relapse and is testing as diabetic again. I'm trying not to beat myself up for not realizing sooner with varying degrees of success. :( Today is her first day back on Lantus and I've started conservatively at 0.25U given how she would swing so high after dropping too low when she was first diagnosed and 0.25 ended up being "safer" than the 1.0 and 0.5U at the beginning. Do I have it straight that I hold this dose for a week as long as no BSL tests under 90? Thank you everyone for your help, it means the world to us :bighug:
 
Sorry to hear Monkey is back on insulin. Do you have any idea why her numbers have gone up? Have you taken her to the vet to make sure it's not her teeth or something else that needs to be treated?
 
Sorry to hear Monkey is back on insulin. Do you have any idea why her numbers have gone up? Have you taken her to the vet to make sure it's not her teeth or something else that needs to be treated?

Yeah I'm taking her in Friday, was the soonest appt I could get with the vet I trust. I think it's pancreatitis so I've upped her cetenia to every day for 7 days until we see the vet. My poor girl.
 
I hope it is something treatable and you can get her back off insulin soon. I'd hold the dose until after the vet visit and see what is going on.
 
I hope it is something treatable and you can get her back off insulin soon. I'd hold the dose until after the vet visit and see what is going on.

Thanks, this morning her AMPS is 108 and having not done this for a while, I'm starting with SLGS method so I guess I'm skipping this morning's shot?
 
If you're not going to be able to monitor her today, I'd skip the shot. Their patterns can change when they go back on insulin.
 
I
If you're not going to be able to monitor her today, I'd skip the shot. Their patterns can change when they go back on insulin.

If I'm home I could shoot though? I'm nervous with how unpredictable her response seemed to be, but I know we used to do TR protocol and I used to shoot on this number
 
If you are able to test and have supplies and feel comfortable giving her HC if she needs it to bring her numbers up, you can shoot. I'm at work and can't stay with you. If you shoot, make sure you get a +1 and a +2.
 
Back
Top