22 July - Sam - AMPS 118, +3 80, +5 109 / PMPS 131 - I hope that was the right decision?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Djamila

Member Since 2015
Previous Thread

Sam seems to be turning a corner on his stomach bug today. He had a solid poop (I knew you were all just dying to know that :eek::rolleyes:), and even played for a while today. First time in a while that he was interested in playing at all.

I was going to increase this morning, but the lower-than-usual preshot gave me a bit of pause so I held the dose. Seeing his numbers (still through my prozinc eyes), it looks like he could have taken the increase. I'm not sure though in Lantus-land if that would have been a good idea. Should I have gone ahead?

I'm also wondering if increasing the dose gives longer duration, or if Lantus doesn't work like that? I'm not unhappy with an 80 nadir, but he's still climbing pretty early in the cycle. If I move him to 0.75, does that just push the nadir lower? or might it also give him a bit more time in lower numbers?

Thanks for all your help as I learn the mysteries of our new insulin!
 
Last edited:
Obivously, I'm still figuring things out too with Lantus but *I think* as the depot stabilizes it can make it look like it's a longer duration but *I think* it really just helps them stay flatter :smuggrin:. And when you increase tonight you may not see actual effects of new does until tomorrow. :cat: You could always fatten the dose if you don't want to jump to 0.75U :D
 
Right, but most of his cycles so far have looked like prozinc cycles. He's had a few flat cycles, but he's also had a number of prozinc-y drops/smiles, and he's still hitting nadir around +3 (which is fine by me since it makes him easy to monitor), but I'd love if he would stay low for a few hours instead of starting an immediate climb back up towards the next PS.

I guess at this point it probably doesn't matter too much. If the increase drops him lower at nadir, that should be fine since he still has plenty of room to play with. And if it flattens his cycles out, that's good too. So either way, onward and upward! :joyful:

Mostly I'm just so happy to see him full of mischief again. Watching him lie on my bed likc a limp rag this past week has been tough.
 
His PMPS was 131. I went ahead and did an increase. I'm in the middle of painting a dresser, so I'll be staying up late tonight getting the final coat done and can monitor him. I hope that was the right choice. :nailbiting:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top