Crisp
Member Since 2022
(The following is cut and paste of post 9 of this thread - Pasting to the top so my question is easy to see. Original question is still at the bottom of post 1)
Day 6
AMPS - 122
1.0u caninsulin
+3.5 - 59
+4.5 - 69
+5.5 - 98
+6.5 - 132
+7.5 - 165
+9 - 222
+11 - 238
PMPS - 236@+12
According to the beginner's guide to caninsulin, I should hold the starting dose of 1.0u for at least one week before making changes UNLESS
"your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately."
For perfect clarity, I should reduce tonight's shot to .75u?
-----------------------------
Original post:
16 February - I took Crisp to the vet because he was walking with a weird gait. Blood sample taken.
17 February - Blood results in and Crisp was diagnosed with FD (six days ago). Started on 1 unit of Caninsulin every 12 hours.
18 February - Ultrasound - results show no complicating factors though there is some sand in the kidneys and some fat in the liver.
I'm Canadian but we're currently in Eastern Europe. There is a bit of a language barrier.
I bought the Optium Xido Neo glucometer and am struggling to master ear pricks and blood drops. If I can't get a reading after two attempts, I let him go to avoid the stress.
Crisp went on wet Royal Canin Diabetes as soon as he was diagnosed.
He's a big cat naturally. But he is obese at 9 kg.
Aside from those three visits, we haven't been back to the clinic yet. We're supposed to return two weeks in. The first vet told me not to give insulin if Crisp's BG is 100 or less. Another vet at the same practice said 90 or less.
This morning, Crisp's AMPS was 122. I waited 20 minutes but couldn't get a successful second reading. I gave him his food and then gave him his shot half hour later. He didn't eat all his food so I was watching him closely.
+3.15 his BG is 59.
I gave him soft Butcher's food because I wanted him to eat more. He's playful. I filled out the spreadsheet and read here that I should not have given him a shot under 200 until I got some guidance from the community.
I see BG of 59 is in the green zone.
But I don't know so much. And need some help from you while I'm trying to figure things out.
Should I take him to vet?
I'm going to take another reading.
Thanks much!
Day 6
AMPS - 122
1.0u caninsulin
+3.5 - 59
+4.5 - 69
+5.5 - 98
+6.5 - 132
+7.5 - 165
+9 - 222
+11 - 238
PMPS - 236@+12
According to the beginner's guide to caninsulin, I should hold the starting dose of 1.0u for at least one week before making changes UNLESS
"your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately."
For perfect clarity, I should reduce tonight's shot to .75u?
-----------------------------
Original post:
16 February - I took Crisp to the vet because he was walking with a weird gait. Blood sample taken.
17 February - Blood results in and Crisp was diagnosed with FD (six days ago). Started on 1 unit of Caninsulin every 12 hours.
18 February - Ultrasound - results show no complicating factors though there is some sand in the kidneys and some fat in the liver.
I'm Canadian but we're currently in Eastern Europe. There is a bit of a language barrier.
I bought the Optium Xido Neo glucometer and am struggling to master ear pricks and blood drops. If I can't get a reading after two attempts, I let him go to avoid the stress.
Crisp went on wet Royal Canin Diabetes as soon as he was diagnosed.
He's a big cat naturally. But he is obese at 9 kg.
Aside from those three visits, we haven't been back to the clinic yet. We're supposed to return two weeks in. The first vet told me not to give insulin if Crisp's BG is 100 or less. Another vet at the same practice said 90 or less.
This morning, Crisp's AMPS was 122. I waited 20 minutes but couldn't get a successful second reading. I gave him his food and then gave him his shot half hour later. He didn't eat all his food so I was watching him closely.
+3.15 his BG is 59.
I gave him soft Butcher's food because I wanted him to eat more. He's playful. I filled out the spreadsheet and read here that I should not have given him a shot under 200 until I got some guidance from the community.
I see BG of 59 is in the green zone.
But I don't know so much. And need some help from you while I'm trying to figure things out.
Should I take him to vet?
I'm going to take another reading.
Thanks much!
Last edited: