22/12 Mo - AMPS 389, +3 340, +7 342 - The vet called

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Missed a call from the vet saying that they will run tests for him on Thursday (blood and another urine) to hopefully figure out what's going on. She said she wanted to check how I'm giving his insulin to make sure I'm doing it right. I can't really see how I could be doing it wrong? But anyway, and they are worried my glucometer might be reading high. But when I test myself it's around the 5mmol mark so I doubt that theory. I guess they're just trying to rule everything out, which is good. But yeah, they are starting to consider insulin resistance.

He bugged Tim for food at 2.30am!!! this morning, which is what he did before his diagnosis....he usually waits until 5.30am at the earliest to start bugging us. But Tim said that while I was still in bed this morning, Mo sat on his lap and he got some good purrs. He hasn't sat on any of our laps for a while so that's really nice.

Hoping the vet can give us some answers eventually.

Have a wonderful day!
 
Yay for lap sits and purrs :cat: sorry they were in the middle of the night :p Glad you are having good convos with your vet - hope you all can get some answers :bighug: Have a wonderful day, Katy!
 
Katy:bighug:. I'm glad your vet is working with you to investigate what is going on with Mo.
Are you checking for ketones regularly? Sorry if the entire board has already asked you this. I don't see notes about it on your spreadsheet, so wanted to ask. Super important to check for them.
Sitting on laps is a good sign, though! I know Butters will not sit on a lap when she feels poorly.
Have a good day.:bighug:
 
Good to hear the vet is willing to work with you on figuring out why Mo is a big gulper.:bighug: It's time for that acromegaly test, especially if the vet is going to do a blood draw anyway.
 
I hope you get good test results back and they work with you on increasing the insulin dose.
Thank you Carla :bighug:
Yay for lap sits and purrs :cat: sorry they were in the middle of the night :p Glad you are having good convos with your vet - hope you all can get some answers :bighug: Have a wonderful day, Katy!
Thankfully my vet is very interested in feline diabetes and learning more about it so that's good! You have a wonderful day too :)

Katy:bighug:. I'm glad your vet is working with you to investigate what is going on with Mo.
Are you checking for ketones regularly? Sorry if the entire board has already asked you this. I don't see notes about it on your spreadsheet, so wanted to ask. Super important to check for them.
Sitting on laps is a good sign, though! I know Butters will not sit on a lap when she feels poorly.
Have a good day.:bighug:

Thanks Lyla! Tbh, I'm not checking for ketones at all. My vet suggested to get some sticks but I completely forgot about it. The last 2 times they've tested his wees it has been negative for ketones, but I really should get into the habit of home testing for it! :bighug:

Good to hear the vet is willing to work with you on figuring out why Mo is a big gulper.:bighug: It's time for that acromegaly test, especially if the vet is going to do a blood draw anyway.

Thanks Wendy! I think so too. I understand that they'd have to send off the blood to either the UK or the US for an official acro test, is that correct?
 
Mo has had a good day. He gave me some decent purrs today and has been attempting to chase the birds. They're far too quick for him and they're well aware he's there. He's not the most delicate boy :joyful: I also sprinkled some cat nip on the floor and he had a nice roll around in that. But then I got the vacuum out and he didn't like that. But I did warn him and gave him time to go outside before I turned it on. Silly boy.

I'm actually really looking forward to seeing the vet on Thursday. I just want some answers or at least to start ruling things out. Tim is going to come with me as well since he is off work for three weeks. I'm going to be working throughout the Christmas break but I have 3 weeks of leave booked in February, which is the warmest part of our summer so that will be nice.

Have a wonderful day everyone! :bighug:
 
I understand that they'd have to send off the blood to either the UK or the US for an official acro test, is that correct?
Yes, those are the two places. If they are going to send to the US, I'd suggest also tacking on a test for IAA (insulin auto antibodies), cause some cats have it but not acro. And it's a cheap add on test with blood going to the same place. The UK doesn't test for it.
 
Yes, those are the two places. If they are going to send to the US, I'd suggest also tacking on a test for IAA (insulin auto antibodies), cause some cats have it but not acro. And it's a cheap add on test with blood going to the same place. The UK doesn't test for it.

That's really good to know, thank you Wendy :)
 
Glad to hear you are thinking about doing the Acro test. My vet thought I was increasing Moe’s dose too fast and was reluctant to do the test, since she had never encountered an acro cat before. She finally agreed to do it and was surprised at the positive results. Once I knew what I was dealing with, it was a weight lifted and I could form an action plan. Best of luck to you and your Mo. :bighug:
 
Glad to hear you are thinking about doing the Acro test. My vet thought I was increasing Moe’s dose too fast and was reluctant to do the test, since she had never encountered an acro cat before. She finally agreed to do it and was surprised at the positive results. Once I knew what I was dealing with, it was a weight lifted and I could form an action plan. Best of luck to you and your Mo. :bighug:
Thank you Erin! Seeing your Moe do so well after the Acro diagnosis brings me so much hope. My vet freaked out about me doing TR and made me do SLGS :( So glad your boy is doing so well :) :bighug:
 
Back
Top