21/4 Alice PMPS 500 Nightly close encounters!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Alice

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117512

All appears to be well with the World this morning, despite feeling that I'm sitting on a knife edge watching my beloved furry ball! She survived the night oblivious to the panic around her. Its now a seriously calculated judgement as to 'prick or not to prick' - that is the question! My husband is beginning to border on frugality of test strips - me, I'm 'Lets prick quick'! I have ordered more test strips & thought I was well ahead but the last two nights have diminished my supply again. The last delivery wasn't very fast either.

Alice is not keen to eat this morning as her BG was a high & black bounce, maybe the Glucogel was still there too. I managed to get food into her by a catnip induced play which seemed to lift her mood, followed by a little of her favourite, chopped lamb on top of the not so good diabetic stuff. Why did she 'spray' the fence this morning? She did this the other day too. Its not usually her style :o

She is sooo cute - think this horrible diabetes has bonded us even closer! Bless her, she comes obediently to her 'spot' to be pricked & shot each time now - she knows the food follows.

Anyone reading this - I wish you and your precious kitties good health too.
Juliana (family 'pet' name) Henceforth, Juliex
 
Hi again Juliex!

In yesterday's condo, Elizabeth offered to send you a different meter that you'll be able to get strips for easier (and cheaper) than the Alphatrak if you'd like to take her up on the offer!

Trust me, we all totally understand that there's never enough strips in the house! That's why I also suggested keeping a spare box in a "hypo kit" so when it's most important that you have them, you have them! (like when they drop too low at 4am on a Sunday morning)

I'm not at all surprised by the bounce! The Glucogel would have worn off quickly, so that's not an issue...this is just her liver reacting to a low it thought was dangerous since it's not used to being in "normal numbers" anymore. With time, and keeping Alice in those "normal numbers" more often, her liver will re-learn what it's like to be there and the bounces will go less high, and clear faster in the future.

Since she is bouncing, you can take a pokey break today. I'd get a test somewhere between +5 and +8 and then just leave her alone for this cycle (unless she somehow clears this bounce VERY quickly of course but that's not really looking too probable)

You did a great job with Alice yesterday! And yes!...taking care of our sugarcats brings us closer than we ever thought possible. We think we love them...then we get the diagnosis and think they'll hate us forever if we poke and shoot them....then in a few weeks, we find we reach a new level of love we never thought possible and will do just about anything to help them feel better! It's totally normal!!

Have a great (and restful) Monday!
 
Thanks for the encouragement!
I really don't understand what is happening to Alice. I just couldn't bring myself to give the full 1 unit tonight (doesn't sound much does it!). I did give her the one unit this morning. After the last 2 nights, I just daren't risk it, despite all the good advice. I gave 0.75 (at least I tried to - just how accurate can you be with such small increments on these syringes?). Well her sugar is high! is this still a bounce? Is it that its not enough insulin? If not how on Earth do you get to that point with such small increments, it seems to have been 'all or nothing'. Anyway, I can go to bed tonight but I'm not happy her being so unregulated. She's not keen to eat too much tonight understandably. She's just drinking.

I did respond to Eliz offer of the meter thank you. I thought I had loads of strips, now I'm getting a little anxious incase I run out although I still have about 20 I think.

Sorry I only just read your post and advice on testing times. I've had trouble getting onto the forum. The server seems to be playing up. Anyway, better go as who knows what tomorrow holds!

Goodnight & thanks!
Juliex
 
Yes, she could still be in the bounce...they can take up to 72 hours to clear.

It really is important that you give the same dose every 12 hours. I TOTALLY understand how you feel about staying up all night testing too! (Check out China's spreadsheet....LOL)

Considering Alice was over 100 points higher than she was last night, I seriously doubt if she'd gone too low...but I also know how glitchy the board has been since last night, and it's scary when you get numbers you're not used to and can't get on to get some help!

Tomorrow though, you should go back to the 1 unit and hold it until she drops below 80. The only way to get her regulated is to stick with the protocol!

Only 20 strips?? I'd be frantic!! I usually keep 200 in the house at all times (but I use a cheaper human meter too!)

Hang in there...it WILL get better!
 
Hi Juliex,
Welcome to Lantus Land! I just wanted to say that everyone goes through these weird times when their cats are first diagnosed with FD. It takes patience and careful following of the protocol. So hang in there!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Our first kitty's name was Alice. She was a "civvie" (non diabetic), but had been through a lot before we found her on the street and gave her a home. She looked "old-fashioned", so we named her Alice. She lived with us for 11 years and was a dear kitty. We never knew how old she was. The most important thing to her was her home.
 
We used the AlphaTrak too and for a long time. I'm glad we switched, much cheaper and easier to use a human meter. You can also change your Username, look in User Control Panel, Profile, Edit Account Settings. It will be easier for people to remember your preferred name if it's your Username. You are doing a super job taking care of Alice and she appreciates everything you do for her. :-D
Liz
 
Julie,
Are you using syringes with the half-unit increments?

(And incidentally, if Alice was my cat I would also have reduced the dose to .75 (whichever insulin I was using)).

Eliz
 
Thanks for all your posts. Its really nice to know you care and I appreciate your helpful comments & advice. Pleased to hear someone else has a cat named 'Alice'. It wasn't actually chosen by me but rather the foster carer who had her for 3 weeks. It didn't feel right to change it. It didn't seem like a pussy name to me but I am used to it now.

BTW cant use my name as a username as it was already taken.

Yes, I am using the syringes with the half unit increments - still not clear what would be .25 though.

Hi Chris - I looked at China's speadsheet - am I imagining it or are you up almost every hour?! Is this life in Lantus Land?! nailbite_smile

As Alice was high this morning, I thought I would reduce the 'pokeys' as you say! I weakened in the end & just had to do one, which was 9.5 hours.

Anyway, better try & get a little shut eye before the next BG.

Thanks again
Juliexx
 
Here are some pictures of microdoses for you to compare to.

It's not so important that you're exactly at .25, but that you're giving the same dose each time..be it .4,.3 or .25. You may want to draw up some colored water into an old syringe at what YOU decide is the right dose to compare to in the future.

As for every hour....sometimes!! Sometimes every half hour! It depends on the cat, and how well you know your cat! I know China very well, and I know that she seems to do just fine even when she's in the 40's, so I don't freak out if she seems "stuck" there, but I keep testing to make sure she doesn't drop into the 30's or the 20's!

China's very much in the running for "Drama Queen" here in Lantus Land!

You'll learn how Alice responds to food as you get more data and as you get more low numbers and will be feeding her to bring her up (or keep her from dropping lower)
 
Hi Juliex - btw, a lot of people have user names for themselves + their cat - so perhaps although Julie is taken, you could use "Julie & Alice" like i have "julie & punkin".

I'm trying to get back up to speed on what's going on with Alice. The server was a pain, wasn't it? I kept trying to get on Sunday and yesterday and wasn't able to post hardly anything.

Watch tonight for that bounce to be clearing, Julie. It looks like she may be coming back down in her BGs.

Edited to correct previous information - I misunderstood what was said. ohmygod_smile :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top