21/11/2024 Emmett AMPS 142 +3 110 +4 86 +5 68 (AT3)

KLD

Member Since 2024
Previous thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-19-emmett-pmps-81.295841/#post-3221771

So Emmett has had an amazing past 24 hours or so… I’ve never seen him stay in normal numbers so long since being diagnosed.

I have a question about dosing though. Today Emmett hit 3.8/68 on the Alpha Trak 3 and I’m wondering if that means I should be lowering his dose? I guess technically that’s still a green number. I don’t want to be lowering his dose too much unnecessarily? I’ve been feeding him medium/high carb today at +2, +4, and +6, so aside from the +6, those numbers are all one hour after eating MC. (He also got MC last night at +2 and +4, which seemed to keep him really stable all night).

Edit: just realized the numbers in my title are wrong. That should read +3 110, +5 86, and +6 68
 
Last edited:
Previous thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-19-emmett-pmps-81.295841/#post-3221771

So Emmett has had an amazing past 24 hours or so… I’ve never seen him stay in normal numbers so long since being diagnosed.

I have a question about dosing though. Today Emmett hit 3.8/68 on the Alpha Trak 3 and I’m wondering if that means I should be lowering his dose? I guess technically that’s still a green number. I don’t want to be lowering his dose too much unnecessarily? I’ve been feeding him medium/high carb today at +2, +4, and +6, so aside from the +6, those numbers are all one hour after eating MC. (He also got MC last night at +2 and +4, which seemed to keep him really stable all night).
@tiffmaxee
 
With the pet meter, following TR you would reduce if he goes under 68. So the 2.25u dose remains the same.
Yeah, that’s what I figured. I’ll be curious to see if he goes high tonight in response, because his body usually doesn’t like going that low.
 
Maybe, but the good news is he clears the bounces quickly ;). Nice to see that he’s been having some good cycles, but for that one stinky pinky. Looks like he’s making good use of the current dose.
Yeah, that’s true. His bouncing can get pretty extreme (when he was on Prozinc) but thankfully he really seems to like Lantus so is overall doing a lot better.
 
He came up nicely so I would not reduce this time. If he falls under 68 definitely reduce. If you have a hard time getting his BG up at 68 I would also reduce. When you catch a low green, feed a little lc and test again in 30 minutes. He’s looking really good!
 
He came up nicely so I would not reduce this time. If he falls under 68 definitely reduce. If you have a hard time getting his BG up at 68 I would also reduce. When you catch a low green, feed a little lc and test again in 30 minutes. He’s looking really good!
Thank you!! Will do
 
Hey there. I am so happy to see how well Emmett is doing. How are his other issues? Skin? Eosinophilic Granuloma?
Yeah, he’s doing so well! Very happy we made the switch to Lantus. He’s a much happier cat these days.

His other issues are doing well. Occasionally I see him holding up his paw, but I think it’s partially habit at this point. There’s no swelling or visible lesions at this point. He’s been weaned off Atopica.

I’m actually about to make a new post today because he ended up going low this morning with no insulin.
 
Back
Top