2020-05-21 - New member - GoudiJulie

GoudiJulie

Member Since 2020
Hello everybody,

First, I’d like you forgive my bad English...

I’m Julie, French, and Goudi’s owner, a 9 years old male cat who’s diagnosed diabetic the 2nd of January. I started to give him insulin twice a day and follow him at home with glucometer.

I also joined a marvellous french speaking Facebook support group named Diabète Félin : apprendre à gérer son chat diabétique, which is managed by a woman known by many of you : @Steph & Quintus & L & O.

Unfortunately, we discovered that Goudi seems to have the Cushing disease, with a pituitary microadenoma, which leads to have a very, very difficult diabetes regulation. I give him currently 16 units of Lantus twice a day, and his glucose rates stay around 350 mg/dl (i.e 19,5 mmol) although he recieves strong treatment against Cushing (20 mg of Trilostane : Vetoryl). Stephanie advised me to join your group because there are most cats here with this kind of disease.

I’d like to have owners testimonies and advices about how to manage diabetes with Cushing (insulin rates with Vetoryl treatment, veterinary support, and any other usefull advice) in order to succeed in breaking the glucose curve !

Thank you very much for your help !

Julie & Goudi
 
Last edited:
Yes but you are here since much more time than me so your knowledge is precious for me :bighug:
 
Bonjour. My French is limited, and I traded some chats with Stephanie. Your English is great. Mon Pere a habite en Ville d'Avray, pres de Paris. Il y a 1977-1980. I enjoyed visiting him, and now you see my French is limited after so many years.

There were not many Cushings cats on this forum. I would invite you to look thru old threads - the search works. We had Ana and Frosty - mostly posting in the Levemir forum.

And Rardito's Mitsy -
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mitsys-bg-lowering.205332/

You can find threads they posted by going to their profile. Just click on a person's picture in the left, then look at their profile. Then look at their "postings".
upload_2020-5-22_18-37-28.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-5-22_18-37-28.png
    upload_2020-5-22_18-37-28.png
    189.5 KB · Views: 848
Hello and welcome.

We have had a few Cushing's kitties here, but it's been a little while since someone current. Ana & Frosty, but Frosty only got up to 3 units, his spreadsheet here. Purrdy was somewhere around 11-12 units I think - been a while and going off old memories. MaryAnne's Tuxie (Tuxedo Mom) got a little over 6 units at times. Frosty was the only one on Vetoryl.

Do you have a spreadsheet we could look at? We did have one kitty many years ago (Rose I think), whose insulin dose dropped significantly on Vetoryl, to the point that she hypo'ed. :(

You might be interested in this paper on a PDH cat going into remission after starting Vetoryl.
 
Hello and welcome.

We have had a few Cushing's kitties here, but it's been a little while since someone current. Ana & Frosty, but Frosty only got up to 3 units, his spreadsheet here. Purrdy was somewhere around 11-12 units I think - been a while and going off old memories. MaryAnne's Tuxie (Tuxedo Mom) got a little over 6 units at times. Frosty was the only one on Vetoryl.

Do you have a spreadsheet we could look at? We did have one kitty many years ago (Rose I think), whose insulin dose dropped significantly on Vetoryl, to the point that she hypo'ed. :(

You might be interested in this paper on a PDH cat going into remission after starting Vetoryl.
Thank you for all these informations !

I already know the paper, it helped me to accept to increase Vetoryl treatment when vet told me to do it.

That’s the link to my SS : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1LtkUhc861aeu5ChtZRMynbJVX3xJXhNweB7JZNoD-2E/edit
 
Bonjour. My French is limited, and I traded some chats with Stephanie. Your English is great. Mon Pere a habite en Ville d'Avray, pres de Paris. Il y a 1977-1980. I enjoyed visiting him, and now you see my French is limited after so many years.

There were not many Cushings cats on this forum. I would invite you to look thru old threads - the search works. We had Ana and Frosty - mostly posting in the Levemir forum.

And Rardito's Mitsy -
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mitsys-bg-lowering.205332/

You can find threads they posted by going to their profile. Just click on a person's picture in the left, then look at their profile. Then look at their "postings".
View attachment 53710

Hello ! Ville d’Avray is not so far away from where I live !! Nice to see French speaking, merci !

I will look at all of these informations, thank you again :bighug:
 
I’m going to sleep now, it’s 3 a.m here ! Thank you everyone, see you soon ! :kiss:
 
Hi everyone! I met Julie on Facebook tonight. Needed to check in here, its been a long time! Had to reset just to find Grayson's SS!

Glad to see ppl here have used the vetoryl, Im completely unfamiliar with it. Glad theres a tx available.

If I can offer anything, Im happy to. Hoping I can learn something new! You know what they say abt teaching an old dog new tricks! ;)
 
Hi everyone! I met Julie on Facebook tonight. Needed to check in here, its been a long time! Had to reset just to find Grayson's SS!

Glad to see ppl here have used the vetoryl, Im completely unfamiliar with it. Glad theres a tx available.

If I can offer anything, Im happy to. Hoping I can learn something new! You know what they say abt teaching an old dog new tricks! ;)

Again thanks a lot Lu-Ann for your precious help...
 
Hi everyone and thanks for welcoming @GoudiJulie here! I encouraged her to come and post on FDMB because although we have a bunch of high-dose cats on the francophone group, I'm absolutely not familiar with Cushing's or the treatment Goudi is taking. I personally would keep on increasing the dose by 1ui every 6 cycles – particularly as Goudi has been up to 19ui (reduced to 16), my reasoning being that when you have major insulin resistance, if you "throw" enough insulin at it, at one point it will start giving way. But are things different with Cushings?

SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1LtkUhc861aeu5ChtZRMynbJVX3xJXhNweB7JZNoD-2E/
 
Correct Steph. Increases are still needed until the cat gets some regulation. Those high numbers are unhealthy for the cat.

Kudos to Julie for creating and maintaining the spreadsheet, and for all the testing.
 
I'm absolutely not familiar with Cushing's or the treatment Goudi is taking. I personally would keep on increasing the dose by 1ui every 6 cycles – particularly as Goudi has been up to 19ui (reduced to 16), my reasoning being that when you have major insulin resistance, if you "throw" enough insulin at it, at one point it will start giving way. But are things different with Cushings?
Not different with just Cushings, but Vetoryl/Trisolane in the picture can make a HUGE difference, and suddenly. When was it started? Once it starts working, it can make a major impact on dose needed. In the case of Rose above, she was too conservative on her reductions, and the monster depot was the cause of the fatal hypo. :( Best be cautious.
 
Correct Steph. Increases are still needed until the cat gets some regulation. Those high numbers are unhealthy for the cat.

Kudos to Julie for creating and maintaining the spreadsheet, and for all the testing.
Thank you ! The French group gave me the SS and I complete it with rates of BG !
I know I have to try to go further with dosing but I wonder if it will efficient (I decreased doses from 19 to 16 and kept the same levels of BG... strange !) and I’d like to have testimonies with Vetoryl... But it seems to be so uncommon !

Thanks again for the support ! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Not different with just Cushings, but Vetoryl/Trisolane in the picture can make a HUGE difference, and suddenly. When was it started? Once it starts working, it can make a major impact on dose needed. In the case of Rose above, she was too conservative on her reductions, and the monster depot was the cause of the fatal hypo. :( Best be cautious.
Hello Wendy,

Goudi started to recieve 10 mg of Vetoryl on mornings since the 27th of February. Then, his treatment increased at 10 mg on mornings AND evenings since the 26th of March (x2).

Today, results aren’t here for me.

Do you know how high were Rose’s Vetoryl treatment and insulin ?
 
Back
Top