? 2020.05.20 Cairo AMPS 107 - Just back from the vet

SamB

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2020-05-16-cairo-amps-159.229673

Hi everyone,

I haven't been keeping up on the forum because of a couple of emergencies. I'm at the vet with my non-diabetic kitty and asking about Cairo's surgery to remove her mammary tumor. I've shared my testing info with the vet and want to schedule. She said to take Cairo off insulin at this point but to keep testing her for a week. She wants to ensure she's stable after the surgery when she doesn't eat enough to take insulin. Thoughts?
 
What day is the surgery scheduled for? I don't see why you would take her off of insulin before then. Most people whose cats get surgery will give a reduced dose or no dose the morning of surgery. Then depending on how they eat, you might reduce the dose a bit when she's back home. My girl had a couple of anesthesias for dental surgery (one involving a bony growth on the jaw), and she had no problem eating after that.

Have you managed to get any mid cycle tests the last several days or nights? She doesn't look ready to come off of insulin just yet.
 
What day is the surgery scheduled for? I don't see why you would take her off of insulin before then. Most people whose cats get surgery will give a reduced dose or no dose the morning of surgery. Then depending on how they eat, you might reduce the dose a bit when she's back home. My girl had a couple of anesthesias for dental surgery (one involving a bony growth on the jaw), and she had no problem eating after that.

Have you managed to get any mid cycle tests the last several days or nights? She doesn't look ready to come off of insulin just yet.

They said they want to see how she is off insulin before they schedule the surgery. I'm afraid the tumor will spread, so I feel like I have to do it. If I take her off for a week or 2, will it undo everything?
 
I hope the vet visit went well. Hugs to Cairo. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. The visit was for my other kitty Paris. We found projectile sprays of blood on a pillow next to the cat tree and thought she had sneezed it up. Turns out she scratched the inside of her ear and I guess shook out a crime scene level of blood.
 
Thank you. The visit was for my other kitty Paris. We found projectile sprays of blood on a pillow next to the cat tree and thought she had sneezed it up. Turns out she scratched the inside of her ear and I guess shook out a crime scene level of blood.
Also found out Paris might have hyperthyroidism. She only weighs 6.7 lbs. Ultra petite!
 
At least hyperthyroidism is relatively easily treated.

You can try taking her off of insulin, but if her numbers start to creep up over 200, I'd talk to the vet about it. We have a lot of diabetic cats undergo surgery for various reasons and they don't stop insulin. I'd want to know why they want her off insulin. The reason they gave "in case she goes off food" doesn't make sense. Two kitties this last year, Noodles (turned out not to be cancer), and Alice (her was C) had mammary surgery without going off insulin.
 
At least hyperthyroidism is relatively easily treated.

You can try taking her off of insulin, but if her numbers start to creep up over 200, I'd talk to the vet about it. We have a lot of diabetic cats undergo surgery for various reasons and they don't stop insulin. I'd want to know why they want her off insulin. The reason they gave "in case she goes off food" doesn't make sense. Two kitties this last year, Noodles (turned out not to be cancer), and Alice (her was C) had mammary surgery without going off insulin.

Thanks. It seems really strange to me.
 
At least hyperthyroidism is relatively easily treated.

You can try taking her off of insulin, but if her numbers start to creep up over 200, I'd talk to the vet about it. We have a lot of diabetic cats undergo surgery for various reasons and they don't stop insulin. I'd want to know why they want her off insulin. The reason they gave "in case she goes off food" doesn't make sense. Two kitties this last year, Noodles (turned out not to be cancer), and Alice (her was C) had mammary surgery without going off insulin.

Don't see a condo for today so I just wanted to reply to the above - Noodle had a left-side mastectomy last week and only skipped insulin the morning of her surgery. They skipped a couple shots while she was hospitalized and not eating, but we picked up the night she got home and was eating fine. Her numbers weren't as solid as Cairo's, but I'm not sure why the vet is so hesitant to schedule with her on insulin. Noodle (along with most of the cats here) has procedures all the time on insulin, including 4-5 dentals all with extractions (thankfully she has no teeth left now ;)).

Is there a reason for them to be really concerned about Cairo not eating after surgery? For Noodle, that only lasted a couple days while she was admitted (two nights) and she has been eating perfectly normally since she came home. I know you're worried about getting the tumor removed, is there another hospital with a surgeon that you can get a 2nd opinion from? The one we saw didn't blink at her being diabetic, only to say they'd skip insulin if she wasn't eating after the procedure.
 
Back
Top