2018.04.26 | Emmett • Dose advice? | AMPS • 83 | +2 • 61 | +4 • 50 | +5 • 47 | +6 • 50 | +8 • 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob W. & Emmett

Member Since 2018
Previous post (April 26, 2018)

Hey all, it's been a few days but Emmett was giving me some challenging numbers and I've just been sticking to my dose, hope everyone is doing well.

He's been fairly low in the mornings and somewhat high in the evenings -- mostly declining until I go to bed. I have made it to 4.0 units, and have held that for 13 cycles until this morning, I had to dose at 4.6 or 83. And that was down from a pretty high evening last night. It was declining at the +1 and +2 last I checked.

Also, these last mornings for almost a week he's been blue (which I also don't know where he went during the night -- cat with his lows during the night I guess). So taking that into account and not knowing where he is during the day as well, I'm going to try this 3.5 dose for a while. I know its more of a reduction than normal and I didn't see any super low other than on the 20th PM cycle, but I want to see what happens. Any thoughts?

And can anyone make sense of his morning numbers? I'm not apposed going back to 4 units I just think I'd like to see what happens.

I opted to work from home today, so I will be checking every 1-2 hours.

@Wendy&Neko
@Stacy & Asia
@Bobbie And Bubba
@carfurby
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Tracey&Jones
@Christie & Maverick
@Mandy & Rex
@Red & Rover (GA)
@Gill & George


Rob
 
I didn't get your tag for some reason, I'm just looking at the ss back in a mo.

Do you feed him any different in the am and pm cycle?

When do you usually feed?
 
It looks to me that you might be missing some greens during the daytime cycle, he's potentially bouncing from those giving rise to the higher numbers at night but he is clearing the bounce in the early hours, which is where you are seeing those blue PS. I suspect he's seen some green in some of those morning cycles. Particularly on the 4/23 4/25, the +1 wasn't much different to amps, that can precede an active cycle.
There again, the drop from pink to blue in the night might be enough to induce a bounce.

It's good that you have been able to stay home, I think you will be able to gather some useful data.
The early part of this cycle will likely play out much the same as if you had shot the full dose.
With that drop at +1, I think you can expect the cycle to be active. I would get a +3.
 
Hey Rob, I agree with Gill about him going lower during some daytime cycles and bouncing back up for the PM cycle. Glad you can be home today to monitor him. Even though you reduced the dose this AM, the higher dose of 4u is still talking.
 
Lets wait and see how this cycle pans out, I wouldn't keep the reduction to 3.5u, a drop below 50 would earn him a reduction on TR and we haven't seen that yet, and even if you had you would look to a reduction of 0.25u which would have made the dose 3.75u.

How are you fixed going forward at the weekend? have you got a bit of time to monitor him at the weekend?
 
Yes, I've learned that the 4u is still active thanks to everyone here :)

That takes about 6 cycles to clear out?

Gill, he did see 52 on April 20, and even lower than that on April 12 PM cycles -- and at 3.75u

The reason I went to 3.5, I was just wondering if I was missing the greens and he's been bouncing in the evenings.

He had a huge stretch of green from April 3 - April 12 @ 3.75u. So that seemed like a good dose. Are you recommending I go back to 4.0u tonight, or 3.75u? Point is if he's hitting or going below 50 at night (like 4am) I'd likely never see it. At 4 units he just seems to have elevated numbers in the evening and it then tapers down to normal in the morning...not sure -- I'm just confused lol



R
 
I didn't get the tag either. Unless Emmett goes under 50, my gut feeling is to go back to 4u and monitor more this weekend once the depot fills back up. Let's see what he decides to do today.
 
Gill, he did see 52 on April 20
That's what makes me think he may be going lower in the day.

and even lower than that on April 12 PM cycles -- and at 3.75u
Yes saw that too, but looks like the reduction failed and when that happens it's not unusual to have to go up past the dose.

I think he may need a little less insulin, but in the same as I would take them up in 0,25 steps I would do reductions in those same steps. Taking them down too quickly can be counter productive, reduction fails and you have to come up again (usually higher than before) before you start to see some movement.

That's why I asked about your availability over the next couple of days. If you are available then keeping the dose at 4u till you actually see the reduction could be beneficial, but if that's not possible, then taking a reduction (for safety) to 3.75u might be the way to go.
 
+4 • 50

And he's quite happy. I have not fed as I'm trying to get a realistic day for him. If he goes below 50 I will give him a snack.

So, at this point and from what everyone has said, this is still the 4u acting, so a reduction to 3.75u for tonight? My 3.5u from this morning may cause some wobbling though.


R
 
Well it looks like Emmett made his point. 4u is too much...time to go down to 3.75u.

If he is close to his nadir...don't give him too much....just something to bump him up a bit and coast.

Emmett - time to go back to the beach.
 
That's what makes me think he may be going lower in the day.


Yes saw that too, but looks like the reduction failed and when that happens it's not unusual to have to go up past the dose.

I think he may need a little less insulin, but in the same as I would take them up in 0,25 steps I would do reductions in those same steps. Taking them down too quickly can be counter productive, reduction fails and you have to come up again (usually higher than before) before you start to see some movement.

That's why I asked about your availability over the next couple of days. If you are available then keeping the dose at 4u till you actually see the reduction could be beneficial, but if that's not possible, then taking a reduction (for safety) to 3.75u might be the way to go.


Oh Gill, sorry, I never answered the question :)

I will be home on the weekend so I can observe. No plans except cat-watching and car polishing. haha.



Rob
 
+8 • 72

I have to say. Emmett is having a textbook day. It will be very interesting tonight.

Will do 3.75u tonight, do we agree?


R
 
Congratulations on the earned reduction, I had a feeling he might let you know what he wanted today.

I think the 3.75u is the way to go, with the dose changes numbers might be a bit wonky until he settles into new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top