2018.03.06 - Emmett - Fur Shot :( [dose advice needed after fur shot?]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob W. & Emmett

Member Since 2018
Previous day: (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...igh-numbers-this-morning.192119/#post-2144418)

So yesterday night I’m 98% sure that I got a 100% fur shot ...I rubbed it this time like in the videos and definitely insulin was there...how much — I dunno. I didn’t shoot again. I will do it like I was before ...clearing his fur to find skin before I shoot.

Anyway, my question is. Since I was on the 6th cycle I was thinking of going up to 2.25 iu, but since this fur shot some of the Lantus “store” or whatever it’s called has no doubt been depleated. Should I wait another 6 cycles before increasing?
 
Sorry about the fur shot, they sure are frustrating! Typically the count starts over with a furshot, however, you've held this dose for a long time and it's done little, because of that I'm more concerned with glucose toxicity than a depleted depot. It's been 12 cycles (13 counting today), each day has 2 cycles which are 12 hours each. Change the title of this thread to something like "dose advice needed after fur shot" and put the ? icon on it and get some more opinions.
 
Ok, good advice. Changing the title. I also, was thinking that. And since I don't believe those low numbers have crept up again, I think 2.25 would be a good idea.

Rob
 
I would agree with the increase. You haven’t seen a number low enough to indicate you’re headed for trouble with an increase. Though, knowing you’re rebuilding your depot, you might hold the new dose an extra cycle or two. Just my two cents.

Do you have any idea what else could have inspired those couple greens you saw a few days ago? Less food, more exercise?
 
Well. I’m not sure what inspired those. I wish I knew which food I fed him but I don’t believe it was relevant. That day I fed him 1/4 can at 4:30-5pm went for a drive to the cottage. Around 6:30 pm (half way to cottage) I checked his bg, it was at 14 or so, so I gave home the shot (knowing I fed him about an hour or so ago). Then around 8pm I gave him his other quarter can (he was at 10mmol/L). And it just kept going until 3.4mmol.

Haha, I wish I knew. Maybe it was just coincidence. Maybe it was the insulin dose 1.5 hrs after feeding? Hmmm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top