Dan K
Member Since 2023
Hello all,
I have a senior female cat (20 years old). She was recently diagnosed with diabetes and renal failure. The vet put her on 2 units of Novolin N every 12 hours. Initially I took her to the vet for BG tests 8 hours after injection. Which they said were good (BG 200). I bought my own pet smart meter and have been testing every few days. In the first few weeks her BG would be 400-450 8 hours after injection. Today about 2-3 hours after injection she could barely walk and was urinating while trying to walk to a pee pad and making a lot of different meowing noises. I immediately did a BG test and it read low. Which means under 40 on my meter (tested twice). I fed her wet food (fancy feast, that’s all she’ll eat) and some crunchy treats. Almost put some syrup on her gums to be safe, but she perked up slightly. Fast forward and I tested her right after she ate at her 12 hour shot time and her BG is 248. I haven’t given her a shot because I know too much insulin is worse than too little. Was thinking no shot tonight and test in the morning to see where she’s at. She’s been on insulin for about 6 weeks. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Note: her main meals are every 12 hours but I do give her a small amount of food or treats a few times a day because she’s a fatty and constantly hungry. She’s about 10 lbs, but still overweight for her frame.
I have a senior female cat (20 years old). She was recently diagnosed with diabetes and renal failure. The vet put her on 2 units of Novolin N every 12 hours. Initially I took her to the vet for BG tests 8 hours after injection. Which they said were good (BG 200). I bought my own pet smart meter and have been testing every few days. In the first few weeks her BG would be 400-450 8 hours after injection. Today about 2-3 hours after injection she could barely walk and was urinating while trying to walk to a pee pad and making a lot of different meowing noises. I immediately did a BG test and it read low. Which means under 40 on my meter (tested twice). I fed her wet food (fancy feast, that’s all she’ll eat) and some crunchy treats. Almost put some syrup on her gums to be safe, but she perked up slightly. Fast forward and I tested her right after she ate at her 12 hour shot time and her BG is 248. I haven’t given her a shot because I know too much insulin is worse than too little. Was thinking no shot tonight and test in the morning to see where she’s at. She’s been on insulin for about 6 weeks. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Note: her main meals are every 12 hours but I do give her a small amount of food or treats a few times a day because she’s a fatty and constantly hungry. She’s about 10 lbs, but still overweight for her frame.
