20 Dec | Girlie AMPS 490; +2=304; +3=194; +5=112 +6=103; +8=115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/19-dec-girlie-amps-371-4-30-142.188234/#post-2090778

A screaming jump to red AMPS 490 after an okay night in blue (albeit high blue)... It seems to me that her numbers are trending up since the reduction to 0.25... or is this still a bounce?

The problem seems to be that she doesn't have the duration right now, and the bounce to high PS numbers leads to her typical dive which then leads to a bounce...or do I assume with this high red number that if she doesn't see greens today that it is a failed reduction?
 
Also - just a failed memory thing: I know I have to wait 2 hours after SEB before giving oral meds; does that apply to AVJ as well, or does the AVJ not affect oral meds? Thanks so much!
 
Last night I conked out and didn't give her more food after +5. I generally try not to give her food after +6 or +7, but I see that others do give food after +8: I assume that I shouldn't give food if her numbers are going up, but she was (no surprise!) quite hungry this morning. Could not having food possibly increase numbers? That doesn't seem right, but just thought I'd ask... :-)
 
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/19-dec-girlie-amps-371-4-30-142.188234/#post-2090778

the bounce to high PS numbers leads to her typical dive which then leads to a bounce...or do I assume with this high red number that if she doesn't see greens today that it is a failed reduction?

Yes, I see what you mean. I think with failed reductions, after 6 cycles from the low that caused the reduction, if numbers are trending up, you can increase. I might not be saying it right, but I jotted something to this effect down when this happened with Maverick. I hate offering dose advice, hope you get a more experienced opinion that helps with your decision.
 
Yes, I see what you mean. I think with failed reductions, after 6 cycles from the low that caused the reduction, if numbers are trending up, you can increase. I might not be saying it right, but I jotted something to this effect down when this happened with Maverick. I hate offering dose advice, hope you get a more experienced opinion that helps with your decision.

Thanks, Christie. Well, I'll say this for Girlie: she's never boring! :-)
 
Last night I conked out and didn't give her more food after +5. I generally try not to give her food after +6 or +7, but I see that others do give food after +8: I assume that I shouldn't give food if her numbers are going up, but she was (no surprise!) quite hungry this morning. Could not having food possibly increase numbers? That doesn't seem right, but just thought I'd ask... :)
You want to generally not feed after nadir. Since Neko's nadir was often around +9 (or later) on Lev, that meant I could feed her quite late in the cycle.

I don't think AVJ impacts oral meds - although I'd often mix it with SEB so it would still be done aside from meds.

As for dose, this is the 6th cycle after the reduction, so you should now be seeing what this dose can do without influence of the 0.5 unit depot. Unfortunately, it also includes a bounce from the low blue yesterday.:rolleyes:
 
You want to generally not feed after nadir. Since Neko's nadir was often around +9 (or later) on Lev, that meant I could feed her quite late in the cycle.

I don't think AVJ impacts oral meds - although I'd often mix it with SEB so it would still be done aside from meds.

As for dose, this is the 6th cycle after the reduction, so you should now be seeing what this dose can do without influence of the 0.5 unit depot. Unfortunately, it also includes a bounce from the low blue yesterday.:rolleyes:

I'm surprised that she would bounce after a low blue given how much green we've been seeing lately...?

So with this bounce from the 101 yesterday AM, then, I should stick with the 0.25 for the PM shot, do you think, Wendy, if we see blues today? Or would it depend on numbers today plus whether she bounces up before the PMPS again? Just still trying to wrap my head around failed reduction vs. identifying a bounce... :confused:
 
Yes, I see what you mean. I think with failed reductions, after 6 cycles from the low that caused the reduction, if numbers are trending up, you can increase. I might not be saying it right, but I jotted something to this effect down when this happened with Maverick. I hate offering dose advice, hope you get a more experienced opinion that helps with your decision.
I just want to be sure everyone understands this correctly as I see it repeated often. I think Christie does understand it but the wording might lead others to get confused.

When you reduce, there is no set number of cycles that you must wait to increase if it’s apparent it is a failed reduction. It is not like an increase where you give the dose time to settle and the depot to fill (six cycles, typically).

What you want to consider after a reduction before you decide whether it’s a failed reduction is:
  • if kitty bounced and the bounce has cleared, where is the BG? If it’s not in green, it’s a failed reduction and you should return to the last good dose. Keep in mind that bounces “might” take six cycles to clear (thus some of the confusion).
  • If the depot was very full, it can affect up to six subsequent cycles so if kitty gets into green the first few cycles after the reduction, hold it for at least six cycles to see if the depot is causing those numbers or if it’s the new, reduced dose talking.
I'm surprised that she would bounce after a low blue given how much green we've been seeing lately...?

So with this bounce from the 101 yesterday AM, then, I should stick with the 0.25 for the PM shot, do you think, Wendy, if we see blues today? Or would it depend on numbers today plus whether she bounces up before the PMPS again? Just still trying to wrap my head around failed reduction vs. identifying a bounce... :confused:
As Wendy said, today’s cycle is the sixth cycle since reduction. That red number could be the “high before the break”. I would see what she’s doing during this cycle. If the 0.25u is not enough for her, she can bounce from blues even though we’d like to think when they’ve been in green, why bounce? Well....the dose is lower.

I know it’s frustrating when we don’t set out scenarios but I really think we should see if this is the high before the break and what she does today. As soon as we start making “plans” for a dose tonight, she’ll do something totally different. I will keep checking in to see how she does. However, I’m fine if you want to send me a PM when she’s at +11 and that way I’ll know to pop on the condo and we can talk about tonight’s dose.....just in case your day goes faster than mine ;);)

Back to yesterday’s condo.....I fell asleep last night and didn’t get back to answer some questions for you:
Ah - okay: so "big insulin poop out" (love that! :) ) because of the carbs, or perhaps because the insulin did get affected by my flatmate leaving the fridge door open all night? I assume the former, but if it could be the fridge door thing, I'll just go get a new supply of insulin. To be honest, I'm so tired (and with being sick, still), that I'm on automatic pilot; looking back at her SS I've wondered why - at times - I've fed her so late, much less fed her the carbs I've fed her! The exception is having to leave food in the morning to potentially compensate for a deep dive before I can get home again by her +4.

When she's doing her dives before +3 or +4, an 8% carb food won't slow her down if she starts at yellow or above for her pre-shot. This is where it gets interesting with Levemir: she goes up at +2, so I don't think I want to give her a higher carb food at pre-shot; but then between +2 and +3 - 0r sometimes it waits until +4 - she does a deep dive that the 13 - 15% just barely stalls, if it does stall it. Perhaps over the holidays I can try to give her LC food but give her a tiny bit of glucose syrup at +2.5 rather than MC food as the glucose syrup wouldn't have as long a hold as the MC food. Do you think that would be worth trying?

I'm just stuck with how to stop the quick dive between +2 and +3 or +4 when she starts at yellow or above - and it is a quick dive that's hard to catch!

The insulin left out is not likely the issue. That happens sometimes to everyone and the insulin is fine.
You have to do what you have to do in terms of food to keep them safe when you have to work and when you have to take care of yourself. Whenever I make comments as to what I see, there’s no judgment involved. I’m just telling the CG what I see. Sometimes they can do something about it and sometimes they can’t but at least they know what “might” be the issue.

I actually was referring more to having to leave out 13% when she’s stopped dropping (or you hope she has). That could affect duration....but that’s ok when you have to go to work. It’s just a reason why the insulin might not get it’s full duration. When she is dropping so fast and quick, you need to get her stopped, especially if you are leaving, and the MC is appropriate. Don’t worry about that.

And here’s the other thing.....some days, duration just is different than other days. And there are a ton of reasons why. So I wouldn’t get too worried about a time here or there. I’d look at trends or patterns of her losing duration. I just wanted you to see a difference between loss of duration (for whatever reason that cycle) and a bounce. And sometimes, the duration fizzles and then they also bounce.

Re: the sticky: here are the two that confused me a bit.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol-tr.1581/ "If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose."

And: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/ "
  • There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
  • "Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".
But then in post#25, Jill and Alex writes:
You'll want to hold the dose:
  • until Rudy falls below 90 and earns another reduction, or
  • unless the reduction has failed (if you see his BG numbers trending upwards after any bounce clears... you'll want to take the dose up, or
  • if nadirs are greater than 90, but less than 149.

The "immediately" seems to be contradicted by post#25, which is what confused me... :confused:

Thank you for providing the specifics.
The first bullet under Jill’s post is self explanatory. You don’t continue to hold a dose if another reduction is earned as long as you know it’s not depot causing a back-to-back reduction.

I see the second bullet to be the same as all the info above it. Once you know the dose has failed (e.g. the bounce has cleared and numbers are not in green, the depot is no longer affecting the new dose, etc), take the dose right back up. In other words, if you see numbers trending higher, don’t hold onto the reduced dose thinking with more time, it will settle. It won’t. You are just risking glucose toxicity.

And for the third of Jill’s bullets, if the kitty is getting into green and lower blue nadirs, there is no need to call it a failed reduction.

Does that help any?
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie , I can't thank you enough for taking so much time to answer all of those questions so clearly and specifically. My problem has been a) needing to guestimate when leaving for work given her dives and b) needing to get some sleep. So I realise that I'm causing the duration issues, but I'm still battling the getting sleep over a number of days vs. causing bounces by being too careful.

I'm working from home in the AM for the next three days, so at least I can keep a close eye and not have to guess at carbs. I'll see how she goes. I can't reply more now as I do have to do work, but I am so very grateful for your detailed reply and will read it more closely when I can take a breath!

I hope your laryngitis and cough are improving...
 
AMPS 490
+2 = 304 (186 pt drop)

HUGE drop but from a very high number... chewing fingers and thinking re: what carb to give as the Lev will also kick in at +3 or +4...

Doesn't matter, as she won't eat! And that after being really hungry two hours ago...

It IS hot outside, so maybe her brief stint in the garden was too much. Air Con on to compensate.
 
@Marje and Gracie , I can't thank you enough for taking so much time to answer all of those questions so clearly and specifically. My problem has been a) needing to guestimate when leaving for work given her dives and b) needing to get some sleep. So I realise that I'm causing the duration issues, but I'm still battling the getting sleep over a number of days vs. causing bounces by being too careful.

I'm working from home in the AM for the next three days, so at least I can keep a close eye and not have to guess at carbs. I'll see how she goes. I can't reply more now as I do have to do work, but I am so very grateful for your detailed reply and will read it more closely when I can take a breath!

I hope your laryngitis and cough are improving...
You’re welcome. I am a firm believer that it’s important to recognize when you need rest, that you take it, and that you do what you need to do to keep your kitty safe. Same thing with work.....many times we’ve suggested that the CG drop the dose back a bit so they can safely shoot twice a day and not worry about how low kitty is getting when they re at work.

Poor Mike....my voice is back :p
 
I just want to be sure everyone understands this correctly as I see it repeated often. I think Christie does understand it but the wording might lead others to get confused.

When you reduce, there is no set number of cycles that you must wait to increase if it’s apparent it is a failed reduction. It is not like an increase where you give the dose time to settle and the depot to fill (six cycles, typically).

What you want to consider after a reduction before you decide whether it’s a failed reduction is:
  • if kitty bounced and the bounce has cleared, where is the BG? If it’s not in green, it’s a failed reduction and you should return to the last good dose. Keep in mind that bounces “might” take six cycles to clear (thus some of the confusion).
  • If the depot was very full, it can affect up to six subsequent cycles so if kitty gets into green the first few cycles after the reduction, hold it for at least six cycles to see if the depot is causing those numbers or if it’s the new, reduced dose talking.

As Wendy said, today’s cycle is the sixth cycle since reduction. That red number could be the “high before the break”. I would see what she’s doing during this cycle. If the 0.25u is not enough for her, she can bounce from blues even though we’d like to think when they’ve been in green, why bounce? Well....the dose is lower.

I know it’s frustrating when we don’t set out scenarios but I really think we should see if this is the high before the break and what she does today. As soon as we start making “plans” for a dose tonight, she’ll do something totally different. I will keep checking in to see how she does. However, I’m fine if you want to send me a PM when she’s at +11 and that way I’ll know to pop on the condo and we can talk about tonight’s dose.....just in case your day goes faster than mine ;);)

Back to yesterday’s condo.....I fell asleep last night and didn’t get back to answer some questions for you:


The insulin left out is not likely the issue. That happens sometimes to everyone and the insulin is fine.

Also what happens is you have to do what you have to do in terms of food to keep them safe when you have to work and when you have to take care of yourself. Whenever I make comments as to what I see, there’s no judgment involved. I’m just telling the CG what I see. Sometimes they can do something about it and sometimes they can’t but at least they know what “might” be the issue.

I actually was referring more to having to leave out 13% when she’s stopped dropping (or you hope she has). That could affect duration....but that’s ok when you have to go to work. It’s just a reason why the insulin might not get it’s full duration. When she is dropping so fast and quick, you need to get her stopped, especially if you are leaving, and the MC is appropriate. Don’t worry about that.

And here’s the other thing.....some days, duration just is different than other days. And there are a ton of reasons why. So I wouldn’t get too worried about a time here or there. I’d look at trends or patterns of her losing duration. I just wanted you to see a difference between loss of duration (for whatever reason that cycle) and a bounce. And sometimes, the duration fizzles and then they also bounce.



Thank you for providing the specifics.
The first bullet under Jill’s post is self explanatory. You don’t continue to hold a dose if another reduction is earned as long as you know it’s not depot causing a back-to-back reduction.

I see the second bullet to be the same as all the info above it. Once you know the dose has failed (e.g. the bounce has cleared and numbers are not in green, the depot is no longer affecting the new dose, etc), take the dose right back up. In other words, if you see numbers trending higher, don’t hold onto the reduced dose thinking with more time, it will settle. It won’t. You are just risking glucose toxicity.

And for the third of Jill’s bullets, if the kitty is getting into green and lower blue nadirs, there is no need to call it a failed reduction.

Does that help any?
Wow that’s very useful. Have saved for reference. Thanks.
 
You’re welcome. I am a firm believer that it’s important to recognize when you need rest, that you take it, and that you do what you need to do to keep your kitty safe. Same thing with work.....many times we’ve suggested that the CG drop the dose back a bit so they can safely shoot twice a day and not worry about how low kitty is getting when they re at work.

Poor Mike....my voice is back :p
I'm sure Mike is happy to hear your voice again!

Girlie is doing what I call her "rainbow dive": hit every colour you can on the way down (although she skipped yellow this time...

AMPS 490 (red)
+2 = 304 (pink): down 184 points: gave 12% food
+3 = 194 (blue): down 110 points: gave 14% gravy (tsp) as the Levemir kick in at +4 is coming up: plus she's doing the behavioural things that tell me "I'M GOING DOWN, MOM!!" that she usually saves for her shark dives. I've learned that even though the BG test might not show that she's doing a huge dive, those behavioural cues tell me what will show up in the BG a little later. Can that be right? Can it take time for a big drop in numbers to translate into the blood? Hmmm....

So this means, I assume, that she'll continue bouncing but that the 0.25 is good to stay with still as it is bringing her down...? I'll try lower carb food once she stops doing these huge dives...I'm only giving her a little bit of the MC food, though...hope I'm doing this right.

Poor work: not much work getting done at home today!
 
I'm sure Mike is happy to hear your voice again!

Girlie is doing what I call her "rainbow dive": hit every colour you can on the way down (although she skipped yellow this time...

AMPS 490 (red)
+2 = 304 (pink): down 184 points: gave 12% food
+3 = 194 (blue): down 110 points: gave 14% gravy (tsp) as the Levemir kick in at +4 is coming up: plus she's doing the behavioural things that tell me "I'M GOING DOWN, MOM!!" that she usually saves for her shark dives. I've learned that even though the BG test might not show that she's doing a huge dive, those behavioural cues tell me what will show up in the BG a little later. Can that be right? Can it take time for a big drop in numbers to translate into the blood? Hmmm....

So this means, I assume, that she'll continue bouncing but that the 0.25 is good to stay with still as it is bringing her down...? I'll try lower carb food once she stops doing these huge dives...I'm only giving her a little bit of the MC food, though...hope I'm doing this right.

Poor work: not much work getting done at home today!
Looks like it was the high before the break. It looked like it would be. She’s just a bouncy girl so I would expect she will continue to do so....until she doesn’t :) I don’t mean to sound flippant but that’s what we tell everyone...”they bounce until they don’t”. Some cats snap quickly. Some cats bounce right up until they are about ready to go into remission.

Unfortunately, her SS is no longer available as the CG has changed the permissions but Mocha was a really, really bouncy cat for well over two years. And then, boom....she snapped, raced down the dosing scale within a few weeks and went OTJ. That was in Feb/Mar 2011 and she’s still in remission.

Experimentation will tell you if you are doing it right. Just when you get it figured out, the dose changes, and then you might have to change how you feed the drops. But...you’ll have some idea if you’ve been at that dose before although you might have to tweak your approach a bit.

I’m still popping in waiting to see if she gets to green. :D:D:D
 
Girlie is doing what I call her "rainbow dive": hit every colour you can on the way down (although she skipped yellow this time...

Yellow was in there, it was just on the half hour! ;)

I've looked so much as your SS, and it seems you've tried every combo of food from preemptively carbing the dive, to steering it with different carbs. I wish there were a way to figure out how to stop it. I'm sure your nerves are frazzled at work knowing what she is capable of. Sending tons of chill out with rainbow vines to Girlie! And hugs to you. I'm so sorry you had to cancel your trip, I hope Girlie settles herself soon and you can make the trip in the new year. :bighug:
 
Looks like it was the high before the break. It looked like it would be. She’s just a bouncy girl so I would expect she will continue to do so....until she doesn’t :) I don’t mean to sound flippant but that’s what we tell everyone...”they bounce until they don’t”. Some cats snap quickly. Some cats bounce right up until they are about ready to go into remission.

Unfortunately, her SS is no longer available as the CG has changed the permissions but Mocha was a really, really bouncy cat for well over two years. And then, boom....she snapped, raced down the dosing scale within a few weeks and went OTJ. That was in Feb/Mar 2011 and she’s still in remission.

Experimentation will tell you if you are doing it right. Just when you get it figured out, the dose changes, and then you might have to change how you feed the drops. But...you’ll have some idea if you’ve been at that dose before although you might have to tweak your approach a bit.

I’m still popping in waiting to see if she gets to green. :D:D:D
Well, she's down to 124 at +4, so she's getting close, especially as the Levemir will just start to kick in. I gave her 6%: let's see where she goes. It's been a bit of a challenge remembering the dose change = I don't necessarily have to give her the higher carbs. Today, though, she was on an absolute mission to get down.

They bounce until they bounce...sigh... Well, at least I can appeal to you all to figure out if it's a bounce or something else! It's such a pity that the vets here won't give me the Novolin so I can try and stop her when she's going up. They're even less likely now that she's showing so many greens and blues. But it is what it is, eh? We all have the same problem, don't we? The dreaded bouncing, although I remember reading a post about the good side of bouncing - what it indicates - I'll have to find that to make myself feel better! LOL :D
 
It just occurred to me - I'm so used to feeding little bits every hour because of her drops. But I could have just not given her the 6% food at +5 and waited to see where she was at +6, I suppose? I wonder if I should try to feed every two hours, rather than a little bit every hour?
 
@Marje and Gracie what is “the high before the break” not heard that before.
Some diabetic cats will have a pattern (ECID....some of them will do it a lot, some of them occasionally) where they “telegraph” when they are about to clear a bounce.

The pattern might look something like this (without testing times): 300, 340, 270, 225, 199, 350; keep in mind you could also seen a lower range of numbers.

It appears with the 199 that they are about to clear the bounce but then they throw out a high number. That can often be the “high before the break”. That’s what Girlie did. If you look at her SS, she started a bounce last night, looked like she might clear, popped up to 490 this morning and then down she came.
 
Some diabetic cats will have a pattern (ECID....some of them will do it a lot, some of them occasionally) where they “telegraph” when they are about to clear a bounce.

The pattern might look something like this (without testing times): 300, 340, 270, 225, 199, 350; keep in mind you could also seen a lower range of numbers.

It appears with the 199 that they are about to clear the bounce but then they throw out a high number. That can often be the “high before the break”. That’s what Girlie did. If you look at her SS, she started a bounce last night, looked like she might clear, popped up to 490 this morning and then down she came.
Hmmm - can you pop over and take a look at Silver's ss and see if you think that is what he just did right now? I am very confused.
 
+8 = 115: No idea whether she dipped into green while I was gone or not, but I suspect not. I'll be curious to see where she is at PMPS - whether she does the bounce to mellow yellow as Christie calls it - better that than stinky pinky, though! I assume it's a "hold the dose" - because I'm assuming she'll bounce again because of the huge dives this AM. Fingers crossed for now...
 
I changed my mind after looking at what she’s done. Unless she comes back down, if you feel you are going to be available enough able to test, I’d take the dose back up to 0.5u. She’s only dipped her toes into green since the reduction and that could have been the depot.

However, if work and feeling poorly has you worried about that dose, it’s ok to leave her where she is. I don’t remember when your two weeks at home starts. If she stays in blue with bounces but you are more co forable wlaving her there’s for safety purposes until you are off, that is fine.

But if she trends up outside of the bounces before you are off, I’d definitely take her up.

Hope you feel better!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top