20/12 Mia AMPS 340, +2 245, +4 148, +6 115. PMPS 189, +1 211, +2 203

MonicaT

Member Since 2024
Hi!

After several days of high numbers I have given Mia her very first dose increase. She has been on 0.1u ever since switching to Lantus from Caninsulin 25th October (apart from a couple of failed dose decreases down to a drop dose).

I am using a caliper to measure and I had measured her 0.1u to be 1.35mm on the digital caliper. This morning I increased her dose to 0.25u after recommendations in the main forum. Went with 2.17mm on the caliper as anything more than that looked way too much on the syringe.

Her +2 test is coming up in 30min
 
Should I expect the dose to bring down her numbers right away or will it take a couple of days before hopefully seeing some green numbers?
 
Hi!

After several days of high numbers I have given Mia her very first dose increase. She has been on 0.1u ever since switching to Lantus from Caninsulin 25th October (apart from a couple of failed dose decreases down to a drop dose).

I am using a caliper to measure and I had measured her 0.1u to be 1.35mm on the digital caliper. This morning I increased her dose to 0.25u after recommendations in the main forum. Went with 2.17mm on the caliper as anything more than that looked way too much on the syringe.

Her +2 test is coming up in 30min
I’m sorry no one saw this. I believe you held the 0.1u dose way too long after the bounce cleared. Six cycles after the 49 would have been plenty to tell if she needed more insulin.

I saw you gave her 0.2u this morning (perhaps that was a typo on the SS since you said you increased to 0.25?). You should be giving her 0.25u so if it’s a typo on the SS, can you pls fix and if it’s not, I’d give her 0.25u tonight.

Because members use different syringes, they all have different caliper readings so that doesn’t really matter. We just go on the units :)
 
Hi @Marje and Gracie

I held the dose longer based on feedback I got on my thread in the main forum, and then ended up having to wait another cycle as I was waiting for replied on measuring doses seeing I use a caliper and was scared to end up measuring the wrong dose. After getting help yesterday evening on the forum, I got to increase her dose this morning. It may very well be the dose she is getting now in fact is 0.25u and not 0.20u, the syringes I can get hold of over here vary alot, so I just had to eyeball it and measure with the caliper. Giving her more than what I ended up doing looked like way too much of an increase.
 
Hi @Marje and Gracie

I held the dose longer based on feedback I got on my thread in the main forum, and then ended up having to wait another cycle as I was waiting for replied on measuring doses seeing I use a caliper and was scared to end up measuring the wrong dose. After getting help yesterday evening on the forum, I got to increase her dose this morning. It may very well be the dose she is getting now in fact is 0.25u and not 0.20u, the syringes I can get hold of over here vary alot, so I just had to eyeball it and measure with the caliper. Giving her more than what I ended up doing looked like way too much of an increase.
I’m sorry you weren’t given the correct dosing advice.

If you are using calipers and calculated the measurements correctly, your dosing should be very accurate and you shouldn’t have to eyeball it.
 
@
I’m sorry you weren’t given the correct dosing advice.

If you are using calipers and calculated the measurements correctly, your dosing should be very accurate and you shouldn’t have to eyeball it.

@Marje and Gracie I am still a beginner at all this, especially when it comes to changing doses and using the caliper. Mia has only been on 0.1u ever since she started on Lantus, and I started using a caliper after discovering syringes weren't all the same. So this is the first time I have had to adjust her dose and try to do that with the caliper and not just the syringe line markings.
 
@


@Marje and Gracie I am still a beginner at all this, especially when it comes to changing doses and using the caliper. Mia has only been on 0.1u ever since she started on Lantus, and I started using a caliper after discovering syringes weren't all the same. So this is the first time I have had to adjust her dose and try to do that with the caliper and not just the syringe line markings.
Ok got it. There is a bit of a learning curve and I read in your thread on Main Health that your syringes are different than the ones we have listed. Once you calculate what the caliper measurement for 1u is in mm, if you can PM me with the syringe type and the measurement for 1u, I’ll add it to my post on using calipers to help others. Thank you.

I also saw both your cats vomited on Sunday so Sienne suggested you hold the dose a bit longer in case that caused the higher BG. That’s reasonable but she probably didn’t mean to hold it this much longer since Mia’s BGs stayed high :) But I understand it’s difficult to know. And since she’s always been at 0.1u, the temptation is to hold.

She might only need a couple cycles at 0.25u to get her back on track. Paws crossed.
 
I think there may have been miscommunication in regards to eyeballing the dose. I was suggesting eyeball .25 and then adjust calipers accordingly if unable to get exact dosing to start with calipers. Sorry for any confusion.
 
Ok got it. There is a bit of a learning curve and I read in your thread on Main Health that your syringes are different than the ones we have listed. Once you calculate what the caliper measurement for 1u is in mm, if you can PM me with the syringe type and the measurement for 1u, I’ll add it to my post on using calipers to help others. Thank you.

I also saw both your cats vomited on Sunday so Sienne suggested you hold the dose a bit longer in case that caused the higher BG. That’s reasonable but she probably didn’t mean to hold it this much longer since Mia’s BGs stayed high :) But I understand it’s difficult to know. And since she’s always been at 0.1u, the temptation is to hold.

She might only need a couple cycles at 0.25u to get her back on track. Paws crossed.
@Marje and Gracie Yes, I am using a brand called Insumed Pic Solution. I will try to get a measurement done for a 1u and try find one of the syringes that look the most "correct" even though its hard to decide anymore which one is the way it's supposed to be or not.

Yes, on the 13th both cats vomited within 15min after eating their meal, which was the meal Mia got along with her insulin for that PM cycle. That is also when her numbers started to go up more regularly with more and more yellows and then pinks. So that is why both I and Sienne were thinking the same, that if it was in fact a bad batch of food that made her vomit, it could also be what was behind her higher numbers, so kept on waiting to see if her numbers will go back down.
 
I think there may have been miscommunication in regards to eyeballing the dose. I was suggesting eyeball .25 and then adjust calipers accordingly if unable to get exact dosing to start with calipers. Sorry for any confusion.
No worries! @tiffmaxee, I understood that you didn't just mean eyeballing the dose. I just meant that I ended up eyeballing and having to go with a measurement because I still didnt feel 100% sure what caliper measurement I should go with as well as comparing to the measurements on the syringe.

This stuff is so confusing and gets me anxious every time
 
So the first cycle (AM) after increasing the dose was pretty good as she went from pinks to yellow and down into blues at +4 and +6.

This evenings cycle is confusing me a little on the other hand. She was blue (10.5) at preshot, did a +1 where she had increased to 11.7 and now her +2 was 11.3
 
Back
Top