Kelley & Phattie
Member Since 2015
Hello!
Phattie was diagnosed over two years ago.
She gets lantus twice a day. Took a long time to get her dosage figured out. Vet finally suggested not testing so often, since it might be stressing her out and raising her levels. That helped significantly.
She has a pretty regular schedule and lifestyle. She gets 2 treats with her shot, so like clockwork she is in the kitchen waiting for her shot/treats.
I do a curve every few months for my vet, and if she is acting weird I might check to make sure she isn't off the charts. She is in upper 100's / lower 200's - sometimes mid 200's at 1.5 units twice a day. There have been a few times in the lower 300's.
Randomly checked her a couple of weeks ago because she was drinking more water, and her pre-shot /post morning meal level was 101. Have checked her a few times since then and her numbers are consistently around 100. Over the past couple of weeks I have lowered her dose to .75 and she is still around 100. I haven't had a chance to get a full curve on her since she went down, but I checked her this morning at +2 and she was at 98. She got some extra treats after that (I had to leave and was worried she'd keep going down) and her pre-shot for this evening was 143.
I haven't changed anything in her life recently and her numbers have gone down and are staying down at a lower dose. Is there any chance she should be going into remission? If so, what do I need to do to help that out? Or is there something else that could be happening? She has a Dr. appointment on Friday. A great vet, but I still wanted to check with you guys. I don't want to mess this up if there is a tiny chance of remission.
Any input would be helpful and appreciated. Thank you!
Phattie was diagnosed over two years ago.
She gets lantus twice a day. Took a long time to get her dosage figured out. Vet finally suggested not testing so often, since it might be stressing her out and raising her levels. That helped significantly.
She has a pretty regular schedule and lifestyle. She gets 2 treats with her shot, so like clockwork she is in the kitchen waiting for her shot/treats.
I do a curve every few months for my vet, and if she is acting weird I might check to make sure she isn't off the charts. She is in upper 100's / lower 200's - sometimes mid 200's at 1.5 units twice a day. There have been a few times in the lower 300's.
Randomly checked her a couple of weeks ago because she was drinking more water, and her pre-shot /post morning meal level was 101. Have checked her a few times since then and her numbers are consistently around 100. Over the past couple of weeks I have lowered her dose to .75 and she is still around 100. I haven't had a chance to get a full curve on her since she went down, but I checked her this morning at +2 and she was at 98. She got some extra treats after that (I had to leave and was worried she'd keep going down) and her pre-shot for this evening was 143.
I haven't changed anything in her life recently and her numbers have gone down and are staying down at a lower dose. Is there any chance she should be going into remission? If so, what do I need to do to help that out? Or is there something else that could be happening? She has a Dr. appointment on Friday. A great vet, but I still wanted to check with you guys. I don't want to mess this up if there is a tiny chance of remission.
Any input would be helpful and appreciated. Thank you!
