2 year Diabetic Glucose levels suddenly drop - advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelley & Phattie

Member Since 2015
Hello!

Phattie was diagnosed over two years ago.

She gets lantus twice a day. Took a long time to get her dosage figured out. Vet finally suggested not testing so often, since it might be stressing her out and raising her levels. That helped significantly.

She has a pretty regular schedule and lifestyle. She gets 2 treats with her shot, so like clockwork she is in the kitchen waiting for her shot/treats. :)

I do a curve every few months for my vet, and if she is acting weird I might check to make sure she isn't off the charts. She is in upper 100's / lower 200's - sometimes mid 200's at 1.5 units twice a day. There have been a few times in the lower 300's.

Randomly checked her a couple of weeks ago because she was drinking more water, and her pre-shot /post morning meal level was 101. Have checked her a few times since then and her numbers are consistently around 100. Over the past couple of weeks I have lowered her dose to .75 and she is still around 100. I haven't had a chance to get a full curve on her since she went down, but I checked her this morning at +2 and she was at 98. She got some extra treats after that (I had to leave and was worried she'd keep going down) and her pre-shot for this evening was 143.

I haven't changed anything in her life recently and her numbers have gone down and are staying down at a lower dose. Is there any chance she should be going into remission? If so, what do I need to do to help that out? Or is there something else that could be happening? She has a Dr. appointment on Friday. A great vet, but I still wanted to check with you guys. I don't want to mess this up if there is a tiny chance of remission.

Any input would be helpful and appreciated. Thank you!
 
Any chance you could put the last couple of weeks of blood glucose readings into the spreadsheet? We are pretty data driven here and it's hard to guess without seeing the numbers. A vet visit and full bloodwork, especially if it's been a while, is a good idea.

Neko used to purr at her tests - most cats aren't stressed by testing at home. At the vet, well, that's another story!
 
agree with Wendy....
need to see data....

It is possible that she needs less insulin for whatever reason....
to keep her safe, I recommend you do those curves a little more frequently and get some random tests in here and there....
she may have been having some lower numbers for a while..... it's hard to know without the data.

I've seen a few cats that were on higher doses than they needed, yet their body kept dumping the hormones that saved them from hypos.....


hope all the bloodwork is good and healthy....
 
Wendy and Rhiannon, thanks for your responses.

Wanted to get a little more information before I responded.

Took Phattie to the vet on Friday. She put up a fight, but with the help of some thick gloves, some towels and an assistant; the vet was able to get a blood sample. Got the results yesterday, her glucose was 364 (vet said that could be high due to stress), her fructosamine was 434 or 424.. She threw out a lot of numbers and I was in the car with no pen. She asked me to get as much of a curve as I could last night since I couldn't get a full one this weekend and that would help explain why the numbers were so high. Below is all of the information I have.

Sidenote... I can't access Phattie's chart from the link on here and can't find it anywhere else. Is there one I can copy and then add my own info? I guess I don't need the color coding, but couldn't hurt.

Anyway... Here is her info..

8/7/2017

7:00AM - Can of Fancy Feast Classic Seafood. A couple of bites of vegan deli meat.

7:30ishAM – 1 unit of Lantus and 2 pieces of Royal Canin Glycobalance Hard Food.

4:30 PM – 1 Can of Fancy Feast Classic Seafood.

A couple of bites of vegan deli meat

Used solution to verify tester worked: Solution Test was 83 – Solution was from a couple of years ago..

5:15 – 113
7:30pm PS – 221 1 Unit of Lantus 3 Pieces of Royal Canin Glycobalance.
9:00pm - 213

8/8/2017

6:15AM – 1 Can of Fancy Feast Classic Seafood
7:20AM PS - 222

I don't think she really knew what was coming for the 1st test, so there was purring. BUT.. when she saw me getting set up for the next few, she wasn't happy. Hid, didn't want to be picked up, complained, held her ear back, tried to duck.. Attached pic of her watching me prepare. Cute and sad.. lol

Let vet know about numbers today. She said it is possible fructosamine was high due to somogyi? Monitor her urine and try to get curve over the weekend, and come in again in a couple of weeks to redo fructosamine.

So that's where we are at. Basically still not sure what is going on with the sudden change. :banghead:
 
Sidenote... I can't access Phattie's chart from the link on here and can't find it anywhere else. Is there one I can copy and then add my own info?
That link is display only. You need to go into Google drive or Google sheets to access the editable version of the spreadsheet.

Is there a reason she is getting the high carb glycobalance dry food? High carbs can have quite an impact on the blood glucose numbers.
 
I just wanted to make sure you know that the fructosamine results indicate good control. The numbers are not equivalent to BG numbers.
 
OMG! I am messing this up so bad for Phattie.. :(

I give her 2 hard treats at shot time so she is preoccupied when I shoot her up. She will go and sit by the fridge at shot time because she wants her two treats. I got the glycobalance hard food because it said it is supposed to support healthy glucose levels. I looked at a ton of hard food when I was trying to find a treat she could eat, and that was the best one I found. Ugh. She loves her hard food treats.. Any suggestions?

That makes sense with the fructosamine. We are usually on a pretty strict schedule, and I got thrown when I saw the super low numbers. Didn't know if I should give her a shot a couple of times so I didn't. :/
 
The best hard treats are freeze dried chicken or turkey or whatever. They contain only meat and have no carbs. Orijen and Purebits are two of the brands.
 
Perfect! Thank you!

I can't find mine anywhere. I think it was on my dead computer. Not sure why I can't find it in my google docs. :(
 
Perfect! Thank you!

I can't find mine anywhere. I think it was on my dead computer. Not sure why I can't find it in my google docs. :(

Have you changed gmail accounts since you were last doing your SS? It all goes on your current google (gmail) account logged in. If you have changed gmail accounts, then logging into the old one should give you access then you can just give your new gmail access so you don't have to keep switching accounts just to edit it.
 
Perfect! Thank you!

I can't find mine anywhere. I think it was on my dead computer. Not sure why I can't find it in my google docs. :(
Well google did away with the old google docs and so it might have disappeared from there and gone to google sheets or, as others have said, google drive.

That old SS got corrupted so I developed new ones as Djamila linked for you. If you need help with it, please send me a PM ASAP as I will be out of pocket for two days starting tomorrow at noon PAC time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top