+2 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy & Fritz

Member Since 2021
I want to make sure I’m doing Fritz’s +2 right. Is it 2 hours after his last test or 2 hours after his injection?

I tested him at 7:55 and his BG reading was 337, high for him, although last night’s number was close. He ate some Elsey’s a little over two hours prior to testing, bowls up before 5:55. I fed him his usual 1/2 can Fancy Feast pate immediately after testing him. Checked on him ten minutes later, he had eaten half. I wasn’t going to shoot without more food in his system. Put a few Elsey’s kibble on top, left hm for five minutes. He ate the 5-6 bits of kibble, no more pate. Then he used the litter box, a BM. I put Orijen Six Fish on the remaining pate, and offered it to him. He finished his food. Was finally able to inject him at 8:50. I think that a greater than two hour food pickup is going to be necessary with Fritz, as well as at least four hours for his appetite to be good. All of that said, do I test two hours after the last test or two hours after the last insulin? Good grief, my NERVES! :woot:
 
Now is not the time for pooping Fritz! So stressful!

Something someone said here that was helpful for me:

The insulin isn't going to hit right away, you have 2-3 hours to get him to eat more. If you know he will eventually eat enough, you can give him the shot right after his test if you are short on time and don't want to mess up your schedule.
Obviously if he's feeling ill or off, trust your gut...
 
I wasn’t going to shoot without more food in his system.

With ProZinc, it's a gentle insulin that doesn't usually start to "kick in" for about 2 hours, so as long as Fritz is willing to eat, he can take his time eating his whole meal.

Most of us Test, Feed, Shoot, all in about 5-10 minutes. You Test to make sure he's high enough for insulin at all, Feed to make sure he's willing to eat and Shoot, usually with his head in the bowl.

Also, if you Test and you're not sure about shooting (due to a lower than usual number) you can stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number goes up without the influence of food.

We pretty much recommend shooting the scheduled dose if the Pre-shot is over 200 and then as you gain more experience and data, that "stall point" can start to come down.
 
Thank you, @Chris & China (GA) and @smorgasbord - I think Maggie's hypo event that ended in her death revisits me every single night. I am fine in the mornings, but she died at night, and I am finding myself panic stricken seeing numbers in the 300’s. Fritz seems fine, but mom is NOT. I should be thinking the opposite, it’s over 200, so it’s fine to shoot. Hopefully with time and experience, we will settle into a calmer routine. @smorgasbord - I know, right? What a time to poop! That’s my boy, lol!
 
It's totally ok and completely understandable for you to feel that way. I'm so incredibly sorry that happened to you.
You do whatever makes you comfortable!
The fear of shooting lower numbers is scary for all of us for a while, it will hopefully get easier for you with each cycle.
(I was too scared to shoot a 228 just a little over a month ago, and two nights ago I shot a 71!)
 
It's totally ok and completely understandable for you to feel that way. I'm so incredibly sorry that happened to you.
You do whatever makes you comfortable!
The fear of shooting lower numbers is scary for all of us for a while, it will hopefully get easier for you with each cycle.
(I was too scared to shoot a 228 just a little over a month ago, and two nights ago I shot a 71!)
You just gave me so much hope! You have no idea how that helped. Thank you so much.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Bron, that was actually closer to +2.5 than +2. Twice today while testing, the strip didn’t work (expiration date 2022) and I had to change the strip right in the middle of the test while holding his ear at the same time. Had to stick him again twice, just one of those days. One of his little ears looks bruised. He has eaten twice in the past few hours, his normal low carb pate, with gusto. Just finished playing with his favorite toy, lots of energy, bright eyed. Still necessary to test now? Or okay to set alarm for two hours from now and check on him?
 
Ok I think you are right to leave off testing now. Often when they drop down like that at +2 they can continue to drop but obviously Fritz decided not to. They love to prove us wrong:cool:
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Thank you for helping me through this panic. He’s really doing well, but when night comes and brings those memories, it’s awful. This morning he was at 273. I have been meaning to tell you how beautiful Sheba was without hijacking someone else’s thread. She was a little knockout and you kept her alive for what, over six years? Incredible. Thanks again, Bron.
 
Last edited:
@Chris & China (GA) is it okay to shoot 30 minutes early? Fritz’s vet is doing a glucose curve and urinalysis on 8/17. He is supposed to be dropped off before 8:30, which is when he would normally be injected. I was trying and will keep trying to move the time back slowly, but just in case, is 30 minutes early okay if he has eaten? AMPS 273.
 
Last edited:
As long as he's high enough, you can shoot up to 30 minutes early per day. ProZinc has a little more "wiggle room" that some of the other insulins but you do want your Pre-shot tests done when he hasn't eaten for at least 2 hours.
@Chris & China (GA) I am changing that to 3 hours since he last ate. His last two PMPS numbers were in the 300’s, high for him, and I think food spike is why. He ate over two hours before last night’s test, but it was dry Dr, Elsey’s, which may have taken longer to get in his system than wet food would have. As always, thank you so very much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top