2 Nov 2022 - Whiskey AMPS=131 +2.5=124 +4=90 PMPS=128 +2.5=52 +3=63

She caught me by surprise with a 40 :eek: last night, so I will be checking her at +3 this morning too!

Have not tried to pre-empt and 'feed the curve' because that usually pushes her into blues for the day, instead of keeping her in safe greens...
 
Was traveling so haven't kept up. At one point you were feeding 5% at +1 to prevent the dives. You're not feeding at +1 any more?
 
Was traveling so haven't kept up. At one point you were feeding 5% at +1 to prevent the dives. You're not feeding at +1 any more?
I was, but I noticed here that every time I try to do that she has a blue day and I am not convinced that it is a bounce (31 Oct 2022), so I have recently been managing her on LC for +1 and +2, assess at +3 and then determine whether to do her version of MC from there, and she's been in safe greens on that regime.

Today she is bouncing, for sure.
 
Thanks Bhooma :)

Question, I have a feeling that after her dental I may have been a bit too keen to reduce her, as she moved down in a very short space of time from 1u to 0.25, image below (for 2-14 Aug 2022), she moved from 1u to 0.25 in less than 2 weeks.

I am wondering if I should try 'shaving' her down instead of a full 0.25u decrease for a stronger chance of her holding the reduction?

upload_2022-11-2_11-14-36.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-11-2_11-14-36.png
    upload_2022-11-2_11-14-36.png
    40 KB · Views: 112
In August you were taking reductions quickly - some because you were unwell and also because the dental could have reduced her insulin needs. This time she has dropped below 50 on 3 separate days and earned a reduction. Which is not to say she will hold it. I feel like she is dropping hard and bouncing from there.
 
PM cycle, LC at shot time, LC snack at +1 and +2. MC and LC mix when I caught the low at 2.5. MC and LC mix in auto for +4 to be safe. LC in auto for +10.
 
They do love to do that. I'm lucky in that Madam Whisk is super responsive to carbs. 5% pushes her up to a safe zone!
Ooh wow! That is nice. It’s been tough keeping Biggie’s numbers up, but I think it’s because his insulin needs have taken a dive pretty quickly so it’s like he’s getting way more than he needs and I have to feed a lot to keep him up…so I am hoping when we reduce him more, I can get his numbers up more easily. Paws crossed…
 
Ooh wow! That is nice. It’s been tough keeping Biggie’s numbers up, but I think it’s because his insulin needs have taken a dive pretty quickly so it’s like he’s getting way more than he needs and I have to feed a lot to keep him up…so I am hoping when we reduce him more, I can get his numbers up more easily. Paws crossed…
He's coming on nicely! Are you really testing that much, or does he have a Libre on? Either way, his numbers look fantastic! You are doing a great job.
 
He's coming on nicely! Are you really testing that much, or does he have a Libre on? Either way, his numbers look fantastic! You are doing a great job.


Thanks! I work from home and stay up late…

:) Hehe no, it’s me poking his ear that many times. He’s surprisingly good for it. I am a testaholic but I think he needs it lately.
 
Thanks! I work from home and stay up late…

:) Hehe no, it’s me poking his ear that many times. He’s surprisingly good for it. I am a testaholic but I think he needs it lately.
I totally get you! I have the urge want to know whenever his BG is. At some point I even thought maybe I should get a Libre on him. Now my Oreo came to me upon seeing me take hold of the meter. He knows he will get a lot of TLC during and yummy treats afterward. Well I've never flattered any cat (or human being) like that. :smuggrin:
 
I totally get you! I have the urge want to know whenever his BG is. At some point I even thought maybe I should get a Libre on him. Now my Oreo came to me upon seeing me take hold of the meter. He knows he will get a lot of TLC during and yummy treats afterward. Well I've never flattered any cat (or human being) like that. :smuggrin:

Oreo is one smart kitty! Biggie just gets cuddles and brushing and lots of praise for his tests. I won’t tell him that the other kitties get treats, too. :p

I think the Libre is a great idea, especially when first starting out and their numbers are changing so much and you want to be able to establish patterns. I wish there was a long term testing solution that wasn’t invasive for kitties, like I think they have for people. It would make life so much easier, and I think a lot more people could have the opportunity to help their cats into remission.

ETA I read about a study where they put a continuous monitoring device in a cat that would give micro doses of insulin depending on their needs, and it was very successful at putting them into remission pretty quickly for those just diagnosed.
 
Oreo is one smart kitty! Biggie just gets cuddles and brushing and lots of praise for his tests. I won’t tell him that the other kitties get treats, too. :p

I think the Libre is a great idea, especially when first starting out and their numbers are changing so much and you want to be able to establish patterns. I wish there was a long term testing solution that wasn’t invasive for kitties, like I think they have for people. It would make life so much easier, and I think a lot more people could have the opportunity to help their cats into remission.

ETA I read about a study where they put a continuous monitoring device in a cat that would give micro doses of insulin depending on their needs, and it was very successful at putting them into remission pretty quickly for those just diagnosed.
That sounds fantastic, I am in South Africa and a Libre is prohibitively expensive for something that would only last 2 weeks, so I try to do 5-6 tests a day at weird times to try to get handle on her.

She does get treats, but fortunately tolerates the test quite well - she gets freeze dried orijen treats after though!
 
Back
Top