911 2 doses of 27U of Levemir!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
First, don't panic...we've had crazy high overdoses before and nothing weird happened.

I'd test every hour for awhile and be ready to feed high carb gravy and/or Karo, honey or syrup.

Have the nearest ER vet number handy and know how to get there.
Thank you
 
Thanks! I also posted on the Acromegaly FaceBook page...a few people are helping me there too. They recommend checking every 30 min and go ahead and giving her some kibble. I went ahead and gave her 1/8 cup and she scarfed it down. The vet gave this food to me and it shot her numbers to 600+. I have high carb gravy food and honey and syrup ready. Using a human meter. It's been 2 hrs...so far, so good. I am updating her spreadsheet as we go. Have the address of the Emergency vet...it's 20 min away. I'm a little more calm than I was 1 hr ago...

Her numbers usually increase up until about +6 hrs, then they start to decrease with a NADIR ~10 hrs...I guess that's the time I'm going to worry the most!
 
I wouldn't have suggested giving the kibble yet because it takes so long to get into the bloodstream ….and it may not have been necessary in the first place.

I mean I understand why they might have suggested it, but most of the time, you're either going to be able to handle it at home with high carb canned food (or Karo/honey/syrup) or you're going to have to let the ER vet handle it. It's usually an "either/or" situation.
 
Levemir isn't going to onset until a few hours after shot - please continue to test for several hours after +12. If you see numbers start dropping into dangerous range (hopefully not) at +5 to +6, don't hesitate to dump in the karo. Don't worry about trying to make it a good cycle - forget that and just keep her up.

Thoughts and prayers for a 'non-event'....
 
Levemir isn't going to onset until a few hours after shot - please continue to test for several hours after +12. If you see numbers start dropping into dangerous range (hopefully not) at +5 to +6, don't hesitate to dump in the karo. Don't worry about trying to make it a good cycle - forget that and just keep her up.

Thoughts and prayers for a 'non-event'....
Yes, she usually increases BG until ~6 hrs after her shot, then it begins to decrease...NADIR ~10 hrs...that will be SCARY time!
 
We have some acros posting on the Lantus/Lev forums with higher doses. And accidentally given the Lev dose of R instread. :eek:

How late can you monitor tonight? The extra insulin can last longer than just the 12 hours cycle. Have you contacted the ER and let them know there might be a situation?
 
We have some acros posting on the Lantus/Lev forums with higher doses. And accidentally given the Lev dose of R instread. :eek:

How late can you monitor tonight? The extra insulin can last longer than just the 12 hours cycle. Have you contacted the ER and let them know there might be a situation?
I will stay up as long as needed--most likely all night, my overdosers (husband and daughter) will also be helping out. I have not contacted the ER yet. I have about 5% confidence in the local vets...their understanding of diabetes is low. I work with a local vet, but have an internal med specialist at a University about 2 hrs away. I've never been to the emergency vet here, but don't have much confidence in them. They are about 20 min away...if I go there, I thought I'd just call them on the way.
 
You are getting some good advice from other experienced helpers. I didn't know Meggie was an Acro. From your spreadsheet you are doing a great job trying to keep Meggie regulated.
 
Cheri, I am signing off. I wish you the absolute best with Maggie tonight, and you have fantastic people helping. Take care.
 
I wouldn't have suggested giving the kibble yet because it takes so long to get into the bloodstream ….and it may not have been necessary in the first place.

I mean I understand why they might have suggested it, but most of the time, you're either going to be able to handle it at home with high carb canned food (or Karo/honey/syrup) or you're going to have to let the ER vet handle it. It's usually an "either/or" situation.


Hi Cheri. Your in good hands here. I just wanted to point out that even though the kibble takes awhile to get in system it will still help later on towards end of cycle and into the next cycle. That will be good since a few people said the dose can go into the next cycle also.

Cheri, with tonight aside, your bgs look great! Looks like you do a great job with your baby.
Hoping for a nice calm night for you! :bighug:
 
For the future, consider the system Theresa and I use. A sheet of paper with lines/columns on it.
- we put the date/hour on the next line
- we then write the info for that - food, pill/medicine, or insulin dosage
- we put a blank handwritten checkbox next to it
- then right after to dose is applied, we immediately go back to the paper and put in a check mark

This is a "zero mistake" method. If we are dead tired, it still works - especially if there are multiple helpers.
 

Attachments

  • Daily spreadsheet for Leo.jpg
    Daily spreadsheet for Leo.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 457
Hi Cheri. Your in good hands here. I just wanted to point out that even though the kibble takes awhile to get in system it will still help later on towards end of cycle and into the next cycle. That will be good since a few people said the dose can go into the next cycle also.

Cheri, with tonight aside, your bgs look great! Looks like you do a great job with your baby.
Hoping for a nice calm night for you! :bighug:
Thanks! I am worried about later, so I’m doing kibble and wet. Meggie is most content to eat the high carb food and is scarfing it down in seconds.
 
For the future, consider the system Theresa and I use. A sheet of paper with lines/columns on it.
- we put the date/hour on the next line
- we then write the info for that - food, pill/medicine, or insulin dosage
- we put a blank handwritten checkbox next to it
- then right after to dose is applied, we immediately go back to the paper and put in a check mark

This is a "zero mistake" method. If we are dead tired, it still works - especially if there are multiple helpers.
How crazy is this...I have a sheet on the countertop. I use it religiously and input the data into the computer after a few days. My daughter used the sheet...my husband did not. After doing this for over a year, he never checked it to see . He just revised her number...I looked at it and knew something was wrong IMMEDIATELY. He’s in big trouble!
 
I am glad to hear you are also using the paper method (before the computer). It took a couple of arguments here. Now we also put the checkmark after the (medicine or dose) is applied. And actually if you are bone tired, it is good for you too. A few times I wondered - did I dose the prednisolone or not. No more wondering with this method.

You are doing a stellar job with dosing (before today). It is hard with our Acro-kittehs. Leo was up to 18 units pre-SRT. And he still bounces almost 2 years post-SRT.
 
UPDATE: Things are looking GREAT!! We were able to keep her in the blue/yellow/pink throughout the night by giving her high carb wet food and kibble. My daughter stayed up all night checking her, so I was able to rest some. It's about time for her NADIR (when it is typically) and she's at 307. She's not due for her next Levemir dose for a few hours. If her BG stays in this range, I think I should be able to give her her full dose of 27 U and just monitor her throughout the day and get her back on her normal diet. THANKS A GAZILLION for all of your input and for helping calm me down!!!:bighug:
 
Action from an overdose can be delayed. Another option is to skip or a big temporary reduction this morning.

Good to hear all is well so far.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top