2 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 608; +2=569; +4:30=212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...2-8-229-safe-to-leave-her-for-2-hours.181563/

We had a vet check before her +4; weight now 3.6 kg (8 lbs), so gaining weight.

Still a big drop from 569 to 212 in 2.5 hours, so I guess I should give her some HC food to try to slow her down a bit...? Just a tsp? I'm still a little unsure about when to feed to slow a big drop or when to just ride it out and see where it goes...

Testing strip question: I accidentally spilled some AlphaTRAK 2 test strips onto my bed; the cover was a bit damp with some drops of water that had spilled earlier. The strips that fell out didn't get soaked or anything, but - silly me - they did touch the damp cover and I put them right back into the bottle rather than keeping the ones that had touched the damp cover separate. Have I ruined this bottle of strips? Is there any way to tell whether a strip is ok still or not?

I can't believe it: and I just started the new bottle today...sigh...:(
 
No HC until you are getting to 68. She's still safe.

I can't answer your question about the test strips, but that's a bummer if they did get ruined.
 
The big drops are causing the big bounces, so to try and stop the big drops Girlie is having, you need to feed the curve and try and get her down gradually to a lower number. It will be trial and error with the food until you can work out what works best for Girlie. Some cats will slow down with LC and some need higher carb food to slow the drop. Sheba always needed HC when she was dropping fast.
You will probably need to test more often in the earlier part of the cycle to figure out when to feed to try and slow her down if she is dropping too fast. Start at +2 and if she is dropping, test +3 to see if you need to feed a bit to slow her down and so on. The idea is to get her down into lower numbers more slowly so she doesn't bounce.
 
Anyone have any advice re: using flea prevention? I've been using Advocate, but haven't put any on Girlie since she was diagnosed in June. Is there anything about on skin flea prevention drops that would be bad for a cat with diabetes? Revolution is another brand. What do people on FDMB use?

Also, it looks like Girlie - as an older lady of 18 years - is probably heading for CKD. Her creatinine is 190, so at the top end of normal, but her urea is high: 28.7 She drinks and wees a lot, but I can't determine right now whether that's related to the diabetes or a sign of something to do with her kidneys. I understand that Revolution might be better for cats with CKD. I guess I should start being proactive with diet and other things now?
 
The big drops are causing the big bounces, so to try and stop the big drops Girlie is having, you need to feed the curve and try and get her down gradually to a lower number. It will be trial and error with the food until you can work out what works best for Girlie. Some cats will slow down with LC and some need higher carb food to slow the drop. Sheba always needed HC when she was dropping fast.
You will probably need to test more often in the earlier part of the cycle to figure out when to feed to try and slow her down if she is dropping too fast. Start at +2 and if she is dropping, test +3 to see if you need to feed a bit to slow her down and so on. The idea is to get her down into lower numbers more slowly so she doesn't bounce.
Thanks so much, Bron! Yesterday, her drop was huge, and I was anxious about leaving for a few hours in the afternoon so I gave her HC so I would feel safe leaving her. Even with that, her PMPS was 293, so not too awful - not red or black, at least.

Today, her +2 was 569 - a drop of 39 from her AMPS of 608: is that a big enough drop to warrant testing at +3? We were at the vet until +4:30, when it dropped to 212 and then to 169 by +5. So I guess I should check at +2 and +3 and not wait until +4 given the drops from +2 to +4 yesterday and today? :confused:
 
Anyone have any advice re: using flea prevention? I've been using Advocate, but haven't put any on Girlie since she was diagnosed in June. Is there anything about on skin flea prevention drops that would be bad for a cat with diabetes? Revolution is another brand. What do people on FDMB use?

Also, it looks like Girlie - as an older lady of 18 years - is probably heading for CKD. Her creatinine is 190, so at the top end of normal, but her urea is high: 28.7 She drinks and wees a lot, but I can't determine right now whether that's related to the diabetes or a sign of something to do with her kidneys. I understand that Revolution might be better for cats with CKD. I guess I should start being proactive with diet and other things now?

I am sorry to hear Girlie has early CRD but there are things you can do to help. You will need to ditch the FF you are using as it is high in phosphorus. There is a list of suitable foods that are low in phosphorus in the list I sent you earlier in your journey.
What was her USG?

I use Revolution flea treatment when needed and haven't had any issues with it.
 
Thanks so much, Bron! Yesterday, her drop was huge, and I was anxious about leaving for a few hours in the afternoon so I gave her HC so I would feel safe leaving her. Even with that, her PMPS was 293, so not too awful - not red or black, at least.

Today, her +2 was 569 - a drop of 39 from her AMPS of 608: is that a big enough drop to warrant testing at +3? We were at the vet until +4:30, when it dropped to 212 and then to 169 by +5. So I guess I should check at +2 and +3 and not wait until +4 given the drops from +2 to +4 yesterday and today? :confused:
I always found if there was any drop at +2 you would be having an active cycle, so at the moment while you are trying to manage the drops, I would test again at +3 to see how she is dropping. If you leave it from +2 to +4 and she is having an active cycle and she started with a high number at Preshot, the insulin probably kicked in at about +3 and she is already dropping.
 
I always found if there was any drop at +2 you would be having an active cycle, so at the moment while you are trying to manage the drops, I would test again at +3 to see how she is dropping. If you leave it from +2 to +4 and she is having an active cycle and she started with a high number at Preshot, the insulin probably kicked in at about +3 and she is already dropping.
Super, thanks, Bron - I'll follow that advice from now on. :-)
 
I find Girlie's SS very interesting, she really likes to bounce high, but also clears it fast and dives. Do you feed her twice a day, or multiple small meals?
 
I am sorry to hear Girlie has early CRD but there are things you can do to help. You will need to ditch the FF you are using as it is high in phosphorus. There is a list of suitable foods that are low in phosphorus in the list I sent you earlier in your journey.
What was her USG?

I use Revolution flea treatment when needed and haven't had any issues with it.
Thanks, Bron - I might switch to that one.

Am looking at the lab results I have now: her USG (gravity?) was 1.030 in 2014. I don't have a more recent USG; I'll ask the vet next time. She's not concerned even though the Creatinine is at the high end of normal at 190. She could have higher creatinine and urea now due to the diabetes and all of the stuff she's been through since 20 June. Right now the vet isn't concerned but it is something she wants to keep an eye on. Does that make sense? I saw your great post (and pics!) of Home prepared diet of CRD cats and have bookmarked that. I might see if I can get her to consider raw food at some point...
 
I find Girlie's SS very interesting, she really likes to bounce high, but also clears it fast and dives. Do you feed her twice a day, or multiple small meals?
She keeps me on my toes for sure... She usually has a really small amount before her shot (less than an ounce), but then will eat more an hour later. She's a grazer (unless she's parked next to the heater or lying in the sun, in which case food holds no interest for her). She pretty much goes for a bit more food every 2 hours or so until I take her food away at +7.

She has always been a picky eater, although she's more interested in food now that she's been taking Mirtazapine. Today was an odd day as she did eat almost an entire 85g (3 oz) of food over the course of an hour - usually that will take her much longer to do.

I was wondering whether her early AM black numbers could be new dose wonkiness? Love that phrase! :-)
 
I would get Girlie's USG (specific gravity) done again as it is 3 years since it has been done and with the urea high and creatinine the high end of normal, it will give you an idea how her CRD actually is. You just need to take in a urine specimen......early morning one is best...and ask them to test the SG.
I don't think the black numbers are new dose wonkiness. They are bounces from her diving. She dropped 356 points in 2 hours today. That is a huge drop. Make it a priority to try and ease her numbers down slowly into normal or near normal numbers by feeding the curve. It will take time but well worth the effort.
 
Last edited:
No HC until you are getting to 68. She's still safe.

I can't answer your question about the test strips, but that's a bummer if they did get ruined.
I got a reply back from AlphaTrak: they said they're really sensitive to humidity so it's best to assume that I ruined the entire new bottle of strips. There's $85 down the tubes! Oh well...lesson learned... :(
 
Hey there Darrah. Can you get Revolution in Australia? I have used in on Bubba since he was DX FD with no ill effects. The thing I like about it is it targets fleas and worms, ( not tapeworm) But, the thing I hate about it and all flea solutions are that they are nerve poison and I just hate putting it on them. I don't apply until I see the first flea as some years I have not had to use anything.

Have you considered switching to a human meter? The test strips are soooooo much cheaper and the protocol was written for human meters which makes understanding it I think easier I think.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top