2/9Max/EliseAMPS419 +6=178PMPS277+3=271

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I guess this is a bounce? He did eat just a little about 1 1/2 hours before but maybe 1/4 can of fancy feast.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419

Are you saying that he ate some food 1 1/2 hours before the test, and the shot? If so, that may be the reason why you're seeing a high # like this. Usually you can you feed up to 2 hours before the shot, which is up to +10, but not during that 2 hour time frame as that'll raise the #s.

Hoping that his #s come down very soon. Have a good day.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419

I read a study that with cats eating a small amount of carbs doesn't have much of an effect on the BG. My friend's vet did a fellowship recently on food and nutrition and told her that the BG might just go up 10 points. He has eaten before other tests during the day and still his BG will rise. I don't know. I just couldn't listen to him cry from 5 a.m. until 7 to get fed. Let's see how the rest of the day and night go. Even if it had a small effect or a little more he still was safe to get insulin, right? Thanks.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419

the time where that might really matter is if you're faced with a low preshot (say a 60) and you're deciding whether or not it's safe to shoot. it doesn't matter today, obviously - the oz of food he got didn't raise him 350 points, probably just a few!

i agree with you, today's a bounce number.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419

So Julie if he were to have a 60 and had been fed 1 1/2 hours before , I would wait and retest in a half hour, right? If he were still low I assume I would need to feed him and watch to make sure he wasn't going hypo by testing and skip the morning shot?
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419 +6=178

yes, i think if you fed him 1.5 hrs before the test and you came up with a low number, i'd wait 30 minutes without feeding, then retest.

then if you still have a low number, i'd refer to the "How to Handle Low Numbers" sticky and make a decision on what to do next. most of the time if you're going to be able to monitor, and the number is over 50, you can shoot. an opportunity to shoot low is often an opportunity to move down the entire range of numbers, so don't automatically assume you can't shoot it. if i weren't going to be able to monitor, i might skip. there is also the option of shooting a partial dose or waiting til the number is rising and then shooting the regular dose.

that post is very helpful in laying out options and explaining the whys of shooting lower numbers. Do you know where it is when i say the "yellow starred stickies?" it's at the top of this forum right over everyone's daily posts.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419 +6=178

I will read it Julie. I have been reading as things apply to Max and he hasn't that that low ever and never prior to his insulin time. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/9Max/EliseAMPS419 +6=178PMPS277

We have been in four different areas today I guess as an adjustment to his lower than usual numbers yesterday. I'm hoping for blue in a few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top