2/9 Vyktor PMPS 79 +1 104 +2 135 +3 140 +4 178

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308

All right Vyktor, everyone knows boys don't look good in the pink jeans. ohmygod_smile Let's come on down for your mum, please!
I think I shall start asking my children to call me mum. It makes me sound more sophisticated when they call from the other room!
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308

LOL! No more stinkus pinkus for MumBean!!! (Yes, I think "Mum" could catch on :lol: !)

Have a great day at work, Serryn!
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308

Vyktor - stinkus pinkus only looks good after that darn red color! Hope you have a nice slow slide to better numbers today. :-D
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113

Looks like the lantus is okay! Mumbean very pleased.

Dental booked for the 24th mumbean very nervous.

Tee hee I think mumbean is extra appropriate for me being a vegan cause it is pretty close to mung bean :lol:
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56

hmmm, not far off another dose reduction - glad I didn't go back to work! I'm guessing that I should probably test again in half an hour now rather than wait the hour?

He has just had a bit to eat - still LC at this stage.
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56

Nice numbers for Vyktor today!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I think I would test in half an hour. Hopefully he will just surf along. :cool:
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59

No real change and the +8.5 may include some food spike from the LC at +8 - although I haven't really noticed that he does that, I note when he eats so will have to make a study of his ss soon and see if I can divine anything about how his food effects him. Will test again in half an hour.
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59 +9 47

Hmmm looks like there was a bit of food involved in that +8.5. Have given 1 tsp of HC, will test again in half an hour.

Guess who just earned another dose reduction :mrgreen:

Hopefully he's going back up in time, food free, to stay on track with his shots! May be looking for advice about that in the next couple of hours.
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59 +9 47

Vyktor is on a mission!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Yes, hopefully he starts rising a bit in time for his shot. But not too much, Vyktor!
 
Re: 02/09 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59 +9 47

A bit more than Bailey I would hope!

Not sure how high I need him to be but I guess that is better to be reviewed in another couple of hours...
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59 +9 47 +9.

Hmmm not quite the carb rise I expected to see based on his last mission but he's over 50 so have not given more HC. Will test again in half an hour.
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 +8.5 59 +9 47 +9.

Come on Vyktor, you have made your point! Congrats on the reduction :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 6

I'm thinking this means his little ears are off the hook for an hour instead of the half hour but unless someone can confirm will test again in half an hour.
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 6

Save the ears! :lol: He is going up, albeit slowly, I think you are safe to lay off for an hour. He is doing so great Serryn! (and you too!)
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +7 76 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 6

I feel very cool calm and collected :cool: but my jaw has clenched up like a pit bull in full lock mode :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11

How much increase do I need to see by +12 to make shooting his new reduced dose :-D :mrgreen: viable?

Am I okay to go because he's not dropping anymore?

Do I want him to be over a certain number - for him not for my level of comfort (I have BOS ready to go I just don't want to do anything stupid)

I have strips, HC, syrup etc and will be able to monitor

I'm not sure that stalling is going to be much of an option because his last feed was at +8, since then he's just had a tsp of HC and a few pieces of raw meat after some of his tests - total of around 40g - he's had nothing at all since +10 and will get nothing for the next hour.
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11

From the low numbers sticky:
The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

Any number above 50 that is not a dropping number is theoretically shootable (in my understanding of the protocol) with the caveats of you being comfortable, able to monitor, have strips, etc etc. Lantus doesn't kick in for 2+ hours, he is rising oh so gently without food... if you are ready to collect data on shooting Vyktor at a low number I think this could be a good opportunity :-D I will be going to bed for real this time after I get a +1 on Bailey, but the East Coasters should be up soon if you need a second opinion - I am no expert!
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +6 113 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11

I might get lucky with Dyana, she's usually the only one who might be up around this time.

I am willing your arrival Dyana - only ten minutes to go, about to take his PMBG
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

I think that's a decent rise, I think I am going to shoot. I'm just going to give it five more minutes for someone to tell me not to nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

Shot taken at the reduced dose he earned (2u). Will get +1

If any of the wise ones is reading through this please advise if any of the steps I have taken along the way this afternoon wasn't right or if there was anything else I should have done and especially if I should not have given the shot I just did :shock: . I think it's okay - he was a couple of points higher than Bailey!
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

Hi Serryn, wowser, Vyktor sure was on a mission last night while we all were sleeping. Congrats on the dosecrease. Have you ever shot this low before?
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

Sorry, I wasn't there at PMPS for you. My alarm goes off at 5:00am (40 minutes ago?). I guess, I could start to immediately head to the computer instead of pressing that old snooZe button.
I just looked at your ss. I think you were fine to shoot when you did. I'll go back and read your condo, now.
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

I think you did fine, today. Congratulations on the dose reduction :-D
Thanks Melissa for helping her!


The only comment I have is the shooting at 50 or above. I think I've shot in the 50s two or three times, in my long years of doing this. Even I would want to get some extra eyes on the situation, when shooting in the 50s. It's scary to me.

You had rising numbers, so you were fine to shoot, I think. I'm so glad Melissa was around for you. And, I'm glad you didn't go back to work, or you may have missed this dose reduction.

I would start with a +1, but that's just me. If you want to give him a rest, since he's eaten, you can start with a +2 since the food should spike him up a bit.

Have a good night, Serryn.
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor AMPS 308 +8 56 59 +9 47 54 +10 63 +11 65 PMPS

Nice 'hooting! What fabulous numbers for Vyktor - congrats on the reducie. Good work, MumBean!!
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor PMPS 79 +1 104

No way I was going back to work after the +6 and then the +7 and then by the +8 I told them I wouldn't be back today. So lucky I can do that :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Vyktor PMPS 79 +1 104 +2 135 +3 140

HOLY COW...LOOK WHAT I MISSED!!!!!!!!!!

WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!

holycow21.jpg
 
Hi Serryn & Vyktor,
I'm just seeing this. You did great--both of you. Congrats on the dose reduction! I would definitely have shot, too. Now you are seeing a gradually accelerating rise. It will be good for data collection. Nice that you are staying home today.

Have a good one,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi guys .. wowwie, what a night you guys had! Congrat's on the dose reduction .. and way to shoot that low number! So happy vyktor is doing so well for you!
 
That there was some mighty fine shootin' :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
The numbers were rising and you knew you could monitor. . .

The general guideline, from the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky:
If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Well done!
You definitely earned you BOS today!

FWIW, regarding shootiing in the 50's, like Dyana I too only shot in the 50's a couple times (in spite of my BOS reputation) however ECID.
Time will tell with Vyktor.
 
Great job Serryn!! I'm glad some of the wise ones have chimed in. I too am afraid to shoot the 50s which is why I stalled last night. Vyktor is looking great and you are getting some awesome data collected, I hope you get a little sleep too!
 
Great job Serryn!! I'm sorry, I was up till 2:00 AM last night, and I got back up at 8:30 AM, cause I sensed Daphne needed me, and so glad I did. You were brave and shot, which was the best move for Vyktor. I was a little chicken to leave Daphne and go btb, so I gave her a little HC. Next time, I'm just going to stay up and do what's best for Daphne, which would have been, to give her LC and wait for the drop.

Congrats on the dose reduction!!! mum did good! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top