2/9 Tasha's PMPS=116 lowered dose to 0.1 +2=65 +4=52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Tasha

Member Since 2010
Got a reading AMPS today that was almost a 2 hour fasting reading from her last eating. My picky eater always want to eat an hour before her shot as you can see by her other PS numbers.

Friday will be 3 weeks on insulin and 3 weeks since her dxd. She has gained back a little weight and is her old playful self again.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS 139

Good AMPS,
don't recall what ur day schedule is like, will u be getting a couple of checks in there in this cycle?
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS 139

Look at the difference!

Please pardon me for coming into this possibly not remembering something you have said before, but I tend to get all blurry in the head about who said what. :)

When are you feeding Tasha exactly? I wonder if you could adjust her feedings somehow so that she was less eager to eat just when you don't want her to.

I know when I first started here, I was really horrified at the thought of changing our schedule. But then, we di, and--revelation! It's fine. All the animules are fine.

Just a thought!
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS 139

I am adjusting it slowly. She is a picky eater and doesn't care for the food change much so she eats when she wants or she wont eat at all. I figure the AMPS is up about because of eating an hour before so i take that into account when I look at that number. Today we were successful in holding off her food. It was about where I thought it would be.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

No, I am around for most of the day today for a change. i just tried to encourage her to eat a bit. A bit low for a +2. I gave her 9 small pellets of the dry DM. She wouldn't take anything else. This is the first DM I have given her in days.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

easy on the kibble,,,I am glad she had a little, just go easy, that stuff can make ya go high and stays in their system longer than some HC wet fud...
u might want to retest at +3
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

Be careful Linda, dry doesn't always hit the system as fast as HC, due to the fact that it's dry. Please check often and soon.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

She wouldn't eat anything else. I had no choice. But I will check her soon. 9 pellets hardly amount to much anyway.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

what she means is - if Tasha is dropping, the dry kibble wont be fast enough to catch up to the drop like wet food gravy would.

it's ok, sometimes u gotta reach for the contraband, I know I did, no choice.

post ur update when u have it.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38

Gave Tasha some semi HC wet food. 12% carb. about 1/3 of a can of FRISKIES shredded chicken & salmon in gravy a favorite of hers. Waiting to test to see if she comes up.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38

I realize that. Thanks. she didn't eat that much of the food I put down. I hope it was enough. If not, I am going for the karo.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38

Looks like your comfortable with what your doing Linda (all happening tonight!)

There's experienced eyes around if you need someone.

Definite dosecrease I feel-yay Tasha :mrgreen: You can HC away if you don't want to be testing for the next 3hrs+ (barring her bouncing)
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38

I wasn't rebuking your food choice Linda, just cautioning that it dry is not a fast carb, it enters the blood stream more slowly, and you might need to hit the Karo. I see she's eaten HC now so the Karo may be unnecessary. :)
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38

I would test again in 15 min. to see where the numbers are going. If they are at a plateau, feed a little more -- either LC or mix some HC with the LC (so it's MC). The goal is to get Tasha to surf in numbers that are in the 50 - 70+ range for as long as possible. You steer the numbers with food. Once numbers are stabilized, I'd give a 30 min. check and then broaden it to an hour.

That said, I'd expect a bump (or a soar) about 30 - 60 min. after you fed the dry stuff so be aware that the dry will influence numbers in the way that Carolyn noted.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60

Linda and Tasha said:
She wouldn't eat anything else. I had no choice. But I will check her soon. 9 pellets hardly amount to much anyway.

Linda, you would really be surprised how much it does. Check out Sami's Spreadsheet for Saturday 2/6. It was the first time I gave her a little bit of dry food since the conversion to wet and I might have let her eat as much as 10-15 pellets each time. It was the first BLUE she saw in days, and it was hours after she was given the HC dry. As we know ECID, but don't be surprised if Tasha goes up later in the day.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51

You can try using the Karo like gravy - put a drop or two on top of some LC. She may eat a bite or two of the LC which will help to keep her surfing vs. the ups and downs from HC syrup or gravy.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51=51

linda, if you can get her to eat some hc canned food... it will last longer than karo.
please retest in 20 minutes
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51=51

She wont eat it. Just checked again and she is 56. I am hoping she will eat after the karo gets her up a bit.
Finally started eating HC wet food. will check 15 mins after she is done. She is finally going at it good :smile:
I think she may need a dose reduction.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51=51=88

yes, the reduction would be to 0.1 unit.
a pic of 0.1u can be found here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157.
scroll down to the pics. 0.1u is the pic on the top right of the 4 pics.

i'm not sure 0.1u will hold, but the drop to 38 today calls for a reduction. i'm not sure the reduction will hold for two reasons. feeding an hour or two before shot time results in preshot numbers which could be inflated from food. so the ps numbers are not "clean". secondly, when feeding an hour or two before shot time, there is no food on board when the insulin kicks in... which can result in the kind of drop you saw today.
we'll just have to try 0.1u and see how it goes...
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51=51=88

She was fed today at shot time, not an hour or two before today. So the numbers were real. In people if you eat an hour before a bg you can expect a 70-100 point bump in the number. So instead of 80-120 you might be 190 for a person. Don't know if this holds true for kitties, but judging by the 2 times I was able to do it it seems so compared to the other days. I will try the .1 for tonight's shot
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 =54=51=51=88

Linda and Tasha said:
She was fed today at shot time, not an hour or two before today. So the numbers were real.
hmmm, interesting. it would be a good idea to continue feeding at shot time instead of an hour or two before. let's see how things go.
good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's AMPS =139 +2=60 +3=38 (lows) +6=104

Thanks. I hope so. It is not like I wanted to feed he before but she is a really finicky eater and if she isn't fed when she wants to be. She just wont eat later. There is still insulin "on board" at that time so the only thing it really skews is the numbers for judging what is happening. I have been trying to get her to hold off until shot time. It has been getting better.
Just did her +6 it was 104
 
2/9 Tasha's PMPS=116 lowered dose to 0.1

well...here goes.
lowering the insulin to .01 after all of today's lows. Hope it works nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's PMPS=116 lowered dose to 0.1 +2=65

Hmmm. lowered insulin to .01 and in 2 hours tasha is 65. I am starting to wonder if she should be off of insulin completely.
 
Re: 2/9 Tasha's PMPS=116 lowered dose to 0.1 +2=65

I would feed her a few bites of LC food to help her surf.

This isn't calling for a dose reduction yet, IMHO, but maybe soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top