2/9 Sebastian AMPS 417 +3 375 +6 457

Hi Mr Funk. Welcome to the forum. :bighug: At first I was going to say that we recommend sticking to one dose for at least a week if you are following the SLGS method, and at least 3 days if you are following the TR protocol, unless a reduction is needed. However, in looking at your spreadsheet again, I see that dates are skipped, so there is missing data. Are you testing before every shot? Also, when there are no night time cycle tests, we are only seeing half of the big picture.
If you put a teaspoon of wet food on top of or mixed in with his dry food, will he eat it?
 
No, I usually don't test before the evening shot. I'm doing the TR protocol. Is the evening data really that important when his numbers are that high? From what I've read on here it seems everyone is really just looking to make sure they're not going hypo which doesn't seem to be Sebastian's issue here since we can barely get out of the 300-400s. I can start trying to get some though if it'll help. And yes, he'll eat a little wet food if I put it next to the dry food and sprinkle a little forti flora on it.
 
Mr Funk, I was reading your other posts, and saw that you were wondering how much to feed Sebastian and were worried about him losing weight. I would feed him more if you want him to gain weight, and feed him several small meals throughout the day if you can. Enough food and enough insulin is important especially with the recent DKA.
 
Yes, I have Keto-disatix and test him every time I catch him in the box, pretty much daily. I've bumped his food up to 2/3 cup a day split into two meals, which is a bit more than the package recommend guide for a 12 lb cat (1/2cup), and he's still not really gaining any weight back. I scheduled an apt with the vet for thursday to do some tests and make sure the pancreatitis isn't coming back already and causing the lower weight. The insulin dosage is what I'm still trying to get my head around, since he doesn't seem to respond to different dosages. I've got readings over the past several months at 3,4,5, and 7u and the numbers are all pretty much the same, mid 200s-low 400s. Hence my earlier concern about "how much is too much"? Are we eventually going to hit the right dosage if we keep increasing beyond 7 or is he just never going to respond and we're just running out the clock?
 
I'll add that he does seem to have some response to the higher dosage, it's just not reflected in the BG. When he was on 3-4 last month his coat was looking pretty ragged. Now that I've got him back on 7 he's looking good, fur is nice and shiny and soft. Slightly more energy now too.
 
Now that I've got him back on 7 he's looking good, fur is nice and shiny and soft. Slightly more energy now too.
That sounds like a good sign to me.

Without the PM tests, you can not tell if he is yellow and blue in the PM cycles and bouncing in the AM cycles.

Regarding how much food; when a cat is diabetic, it means he doesn't have the insulin he needs to use the food he eats and it just comes out the other end. That is why if you don't treat the diabetes, the cat will continue to get skinnier and skinnier. Insulin is what helps the body to use the food for nutrition and energy. The recommendations on the cans or bags are for cats that use their food properly (not diabetic). If he needs to gain weight, I would feed him more calories until you get his insulin needs more under control.

I am not personally experienced with higher doses, so if you want more eyes from those more experienced in that regard, I would add something about that question to your Subject Line.. something like "2/9 Sebastian AMPS 417, +3 375, +6 457 - upped to 7.5 units today, is this too much?" That way, you have the date, cat's name, recent tests, and your question. And you can change your question on the Subject Line as you get them answered. You can also add the ? mark icon to your Subject Line for more eyes. Some people will scan the lists of posts for the ? mark icon to see who needs help.
 
Back
Top