2/9 - Sami - AMPS 428; +2 445; +6 278; +8 209; +11 202; PMPS 195; +1 170; +2 159; +3 157; +4 145

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sami is a bit higher at +2 than her AMPS so I am assuming she isn't going to have much movement today. I might try to take a break from testing so much and just test at +6 and +10 today. Does this sound reasonable?
 
Okay, just realized that Sami's +2 might not actually be higher but a meter variance. I will probably still try to hold off until +6 to test again.
 
Sami is surfing the YELLOW nicely today. I am still hopeful that we will see a bit of blue.

I am also debating on whether to decrease to 1.75 units tonight. When I talked to the vet on Saturday afternoon we talked again about the possibility that 2.0 units might be too much and Sami might be dropping too low and then spiking back up. I know a lot of you have told me that based on my heavy monitoring there really isn't anywhere that Sami could have dropped too low, but because Sami seems to be so sensitive to the insulin I might take a BCS tonight and see how it goes. I know we want to see her drop into the green, but I am still a bit concerned that she might be getting too much. I know I can always increase back to 2.0 units tomorrow morning if we don't continue to see her numbers dropping.

But this is all hypothetical until I see what her PMPS is tonight. If she is back up over 300 then I will probably stick to the 2.0 units.
 
So Sami has been surfing since +8. I gave her AM shot in the flank today, so I sort of expected her to drop earlier in her cycle and didn't expect the insulin to be holding her steady this long. She had a couple of snacks this afternoon as well, so I am very happy with her progress since her HIGHs of yesterday morning.

I definitely took the BCS tonight and only gave 1.5 fat. I will get a +1, +2, and +3 to see how she is reacting, and then more tests depending on what she is doing for the first three hours of the cycle. I would be totally fabulous to see her in some GREEN tonight.
 
Nice slide today, looks like Sami was starting to get over her last "fur shot" of a couple of nights ago. Typically when you give a smaller dose like you did tonight, the cycle will sort of fizzle out in the last half. If you had been able to monitor, it would have been nice to see what Sami did with a full dose tonight.
 
Tina

I think it would help those of us making suggestions if we know whether you wish to follow the TR protocol, Start Low Go Slow Approach, or prefer to work out the dosing with your vet. Any of these options are up to you to decide and we will follow your wishes. But we don't want to push TR on you if you prefer a different method of dosing.
 
@Marje and Gracie I would like to try to stick with TR as much as possible, but at the same time I would like to respect my vets suggestions when they make sense as well. As I have been saying since Friday or Saturday, maybe before, I was feeling like Sami was getting too much insulin. So when her PS was so much lower tonight I decided to take a BCS to see how she reacts to a lower dose. I understand that even though I am lowering the dose she still has a bit of a depot that she would have to work through before I would see how it affects her. This could also be another huge mistake on my part and might set us back yet again, but I think she has recovered quite well after the skipped dose on Saturday night.

I highly value everyone's suggestion here in regards to TR, but as you all keep telling me, I need to do what I feel is best, and tonight that was to lower the dose a bit. The vet actually wanted me to stick with 1.75 units, but with her PMPS I was still a little nervous about giving that much insulin after she dropped from the 400's this morning on a dose of 2 units. Nothing against anyone suggestions, and I still want your suggestions even if I decide to go my own way, at least I have the information I need to make a decision. And like everyone also keeps telling me ECID, and I need to find what works best for US.
 
No better way to learn how your cat does things than by observation. You've done a skip, a reduced dose, and a full shot (Feb 4) at a high blue PS and that will give you valuable data to see how Sami handles all those situations. I've gotten to the point where I love giving Neko insulin if she's in the 80's or 90's at shot time, cause I know she'll only move 10-15 points all cycle. It's much more relaxing than shooting at higher numbers and not knowing how far she'll drop. Counter-intuitive perhaps, but it took data gathering.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top