2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +4:68 +5:79 +6:49

Status
Not open for further replies.

Picknickchick

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

8:00 412 (22.9)
8:00 3.25u Lantus
10:00 338 (18.8)
12:00 326 (18.1)
3:00 324 (18.0)

He's a happy guy, and jumped on the bed this morning. I never thought he'd be able to do that again. Who knows where his BG will take us today... :o
Gave 2 puffs Flovent at 10 for congestion, and 1 puff Ventolin at 12 for coughing.

Happy Labo(u)r Day everyone!
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338

Glad to hear he's feeling so good :-D Come on back down a little River and then surf nice for Mama ;-)
Have a Great Labor Day!
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324

Hi Lara,
I am so happy to hear that River is a happy boy today. :-D
It's wonderful he jumped on the bed this morning!
Who cares about a bit of "boing"!?
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324

It's so exciting to see the old behaviour return. It's such a relief when the diabetic neuropathy gets better and they can start to walk better, and jump, and climb stairs, and jump up to the kitchen island...........Well, maybe not that last one. Open flames and cats do not mix.
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324

Great news just in: there will be no drama this evening!
River's at 236/13.1, and just tucked into a nice dish of Wellness.

Thank you, for your help this weekend, it was so appreciated, Sienna, Liz, Marje, Pam, Deb ;-) Wendy, and Wendy, Dyana, Mariko, Amy, Pam, Carla, and everyone else who's wished us well.

We've got your back.
~ Sienna

:YMHUG:


Health, healing and happiness to those who are in need.

And here's something that will make you smile, complete with happy endings.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKXzrWSdgOE

Lara
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324 PMPS:236

The video made me laugh!!! Very cute. :-D :-D :-D Uh, be careful about making predictions of no drama... I suspect River reads his condo (like most kitties here) and then does the opposite of what you predict. We'll be here, just in case. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324 PMPS:236

Yeah, I know I'm tempting fate...
I timed the tests today so that I might get a heads-up of he was going to plummet for the PMPS.
At +2, it's a whole new ball of wax, as they say.
Good to know you'll be around!
 
Re: 2/9 River AMPS:412 +2:338 +4:326 +7:324 PMPS:236

Oh my goodness, that video was awesome. Such enthusiasm about fitting in the weirdest containers! River's PMPS is looking much better - hope he surfs safely and lets you get some sleep!
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 Yikes!

No sleep yet, Amy, but thank you, the Fates have decided otherwise!
His +2 is 65, but he feels good. I'm giving him some low carb Wellness right now.
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 Yikes!

And what did you say about drama?

Good catch and you're right on target with giving River some LC. I'd re-test in 30 min.
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 Yikes!

Glad you're here.
I'll see how he is in 30.
Sort of a drama-comedy at this point! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 Yikes!

Try HC gravy food first. Give a teaspoon or two of the gravy. Re-test in 20 - 30 min. (Lather, rinse, repeat!)

Also, please include the numbers in your subject line.
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 30 minutes later 49

I just updated the subject line. My first concern was getting some carbs in River.
Unfortunately, I didn't see your post about using the HC first. I have drizzled some karo on his Wellness, and he ate it.
I'll test in 30 minutes, at 11 PM my time.
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 30 minutes later 49

Well done, Lara! Get on your surfboard, River! That below 50 is a 0.25u reduction to 3.0u in the morning, unless Sienne suggests otherwise.
Liz
ETA: I'd put this in the subject line:
2/9 River PMPS 236;+2 65;+2.5 49
That captures everything about the evening cycle. Then you can add readings as you get them. When you run out of room, you'll have to leave the less important ones out. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 30 minutes later 49

OK, good. I'm glad you walked me through the last few nights, because they were the dress rehearsal.

So, now that I've fed him carbs, is he going to go up and stay there, or is it anybody's guess. I'd like to have some idea of what's ahead if possible.

Thanks, Liz, I changed the subject line.

Do these greens mean he's trying to get better, his pancreas is kicking in? Or is it just wonkiness?
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 30 minutes later 49

Good catch, Lara!
And congratulations on the reduction.
It's time to come up, River.
 
Re: 2/9 River +2:65 30 minutes later 49

Very likely, he will come up from the carbs. The carbs can wear off though and he can come back down, so you will need to stay diligent and test as needed. These cycles turn into "pokefests". :roll: :lol: If he doesn't come up, you will have to give him more carbs, karo syrup or honey. Worst case, you rub the karo or honey on his gums.

Be sure to put gentle pressure on the poke site for about 20 secs to stop the bleeding so it doesn't scab up.
Liz
 
Re: /9 River PMPS 236;+2 65;+2.5 49

There's no way to really know how River will respond since this is your first time steering the numbers. That said, as long as you are testing, have strips, and HC food, you're in control.

The basic drill is to test, if numbers are running in the lower ranges, feed and re-test in 20 - 30 min. You want to bring River's numbers into the mid-50s to 60s (or a little higher). You don't want to over do the HC. The idea is to keep the numbers in a healthy, BG range for as long as possible by bumping them up with HC. Once you have 2 consecutive readings in a good range, begin to back off of the HC. The details are spelled out in the Handling Low Numbers post.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS 236;+2 65;+2.5 49

Thanks Liz and Sienne. So because this is early in his cycle, and the carbs will at some point wear off, and he will hit his nadir hours from now, am I going to be staying up all night testing him?
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS 236;+2 65;+2.5 49

Fair enough! How will I be able to tell that he's safe, what with the nadir and all?
Just so I'll know what equals safe, when it happens.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS 236;+2 65;+2.5 49

It looks like his nadir is around +5 or +6. If he starts to bounce, his numbers will zoom up. On the other hand, he has already earned his reduction so you could carb him up. If you leave food out, will the other cats eat it?

Let's see what the numbers are and decide.

Have you gotten a +3?
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61

+3 is 61 (3.4), so he's come up a bit.
So now do I feed some more, or wait?
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61

Excellent! I'd feed a little low carb, maybe a teaspoon and test again in 30 mins.
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61

I'll do that. Everybody thinks this is some kind of holiday celebration! All the cats are going "Whee! Let's do this all the time!"
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61

Well, in this house, if one person eats, EVERYbody eats.
You should imagine me, in a loft with a spiral staircase in the middle, running up and down the staircase with plates of food, and a rugby team's worth of cats running after me.

They're so happy, like, "Mom, you are awesome! Now you are finally giving us what we want!"

Meanwhile, I felt like the top of my head was going to blow off. But not anymore. I dont' want to jinx it by saying that things are okay, because look at my announcement of no drama earlier...

But you're right, Mariko, there definitely is humour in this! :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61

Party on!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Yes, the more time River spends in green and low blue, the greater the healing. You are doing great this evening.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61

Ella & Rusty, thank you for the encouragement. The word "healing" sure sounds lovely. I always loved the colours green and blue, but now they will forever have a special meaning.

So it is now +3.5 and he's still at 61. Should I give more carbs and try to bring him up a bit more, assuming that he's still going to likely drop?
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61

Some kitties will stay at about the same numbers with just low carb food. Hopefully, that's that River has in mind for the evening (anti-jinx). That 61 is perfect. So maybe another teaspoon of LC and test again in 30-45 mins. You might be able to stretch out the testing time if he stays flat.
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61

Just popping in to say you are doing a great job tonight Lara. Great news on the reduction. :mrgreen: The first is always the hardest one. And now the rest of the herd will be cheering River on for more reductions. :lol: They do love that gravy.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61

Thanks, Liz! Just to keep my cheese on my cracker, I'll feed a wee bit more and test him again at +4 and +4.5.
And probably so on, unless he is going up, I suppose.
But I'll see what the next tests are. The possibility doing them at 45 minute intervals sounds appealing ;-)

Thanks for the good word, Wendy. This is doable because you folks continue to help me so much.
And you're right, the other cats would like a repeat.

I have to say this was pretty unexpected, as we were in bed, watching a good BBC video, and River hopped up on the bed and flopped down right beside me in his old spot, just like he did in his pre-diabetes days. And I thought, "Aren't you feeling great tonight." That was at 5 minutes before the +2 test ;-)
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68

Did he have an hypo signs this time? If not, he's getting more used to green. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61

Just checking in on handsome boy River.
I'm glad he stopped dropping. :-D
It's so nice to hear that green numbers are making him feel better.

If River has a sensitive tummy like Lucy, please just be a little bit careful about feeding too much, Lara.
Too much extra food always takes a toll on Lucy, especially hi-carb.
And it takes a while for her to recover.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68

Wendy, he had no hypo signs at all. He seemed like his old self, actually, hooray!

Mariko, thank you for the timely caution! I appreciate it.

I think of how very difficult these last few evenings would have been to do alone. Thanks to your help I can handle it.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68

That's perfect! Good "heads up" from Mariko. It's another thing to balance, make sure he gets enough to eat but not too much. Did you feed him? Does he need to eat more?
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68

I fed him about a tablespoon more of Wellness, with bonito flakes sprinkles just after doing his +4. I have another serving sitting here in reserve.

He has been very enthusiastic about getting the extra food. When this started with his +2 reading, I just let him eat, because I was concerned about getting food into him. Now that that's passed, I'm want to make sure I don't give him too much, in case he feels sated and I need to bring his BG up. So now I'm being a bit conservative about how much I'm giving him.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +4.5:

Ok, that's good. A tablespoon might be too much if you want to keep him hungry. The more often you test, the less you should feed him. That's great he has such a good appetite, that helps a lot! Good job, River! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +4.5:

I didn't feed him anything after his +4.5. When I take his +5, I'm supposing we can see if he needs to eat some more.
I'm guesstimating this as I go along, so if you notice I'm making a misstep, let me know. So far, though, it seems to be going well. What a difference from a week ago!
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +4.5:

That's good, now you want to see what will happen without food. On the spreadsheet, we enter multiple values like this:
="65;+2.5 49"
You have to change the color of the cell manually though. Putting stuff in double quotes makes excel think it is text.
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +5:79

Now at +5 (1 AM), he is 79 (4.4).
I haven't given him any more food since +4.5.
I'll test him in 30 minutes and see how he's doing.
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +5:79

Looks like the excitement is over for this cycle. That is fine to test again in 30 mins, I would probably feed him and go to bed. If you are feeling comfortable, I am going to head off to dreamland. You and River did GREAT tonight! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/9 River PMPS:236+2 65+2.5:49 +3:61 +3.5:61 +4:68 +5:79

What a lovely cycle and you do fantastic! Yay Lara :-D Yay River!

Thanks for sharing that video.... I enjoyed it very much.
 
+6 he's at 49.
I just gave him some HC Fancy Feast.

I'm wide awake now!

So now that he's under 50 again, what sort of reduction should I make for his insulin?
I think I should probably not go to work tomorrow, I'm guessing, because he can go low again after the next shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top