2/9 Purrdy AMPS 200 4 97 +6 115 PMPS 124 +3 97 +5 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 193
+4 112
+6 135
PMPS 182
+3 115
+4.5 101

I guess my trigger finger is really itchy because we are hoping for remission at this point, and I'm really hoping that he does it in his month here so I'm in a hurry! In a few days it's been 2 months on lantus so the timing doesn't seem unrealistic except I guess there's no way to hurry his dance, if he's into a slow waltz then that's just the way it is. He has been on this dose for a while BUT he did have the late shot on traveling (+16) so I guess I have to start the count again from that point and wait 5-7 days before increasing (I think I'm going to need a pair of metal patience pants to hold me back the 5 days - that's another 4 cycles!)

Thanks for taking the time with your explanation yesterday Ella, I guess what I'm really wondering is why we consider the normal numbers to be the healing range rather than, e.g. just below the renal threshold. But on that point Purrdy may have a lower renal threshold than average anyway since he developed diabetic neuropathy in much lower ranges than most cats would, so much so that we didn't think that's what it was. However, with the zobaline he is healing which he wouldn't do if it was FCEs as was suspected. I'm going to try and get a urine sample later to see where we are on spillage.

No worries on rubbing Purrdy scent on Vyktor - Vyktor doesn't react he's really being quite the cool cucumber :cool: Vyktor BG 90 :D
 
Last edited:
I don't think you need to wait 5-7 days before increasing. Today is cycle six so the depot should filled again. The protocol says 8-10 cycles before increasing if you are seeing green.

Normal BG range is the range that diabetic kitties test in. That's where the injured pancreas can take a break and heal. Above that, Mr. P still has to do some work, even if it's below renal threshold.

I wonder if Vyktor is mellowing with age?
 
@Wendy&Neko He certainly is, he would not have tolerated this at all in his younger days! He's also enjoying Purrdys testing times because he has already worked out that there will be treats available so he wanders out to the kitchen/testing area to make sure he gets one too - much more important than whether or not the interloper is present!

So in regard to an increase - you would go sooner? Maybe on the eighth cycle (depending on his numbers of course)? Six to fill the shed and then one for good luck - very scientific that last one!

Thanks for explaining the inner workings of Mr P - it seems that Purrdys is probably still working a bit hard then and needs some recuperation/more insulin.

ETA - I'm an idiot this morning (I blame @Tricia & Cinco for that!) I think what you are actually saying is wait 8 cycles and increase on the ninth if numbers permit. think I may have been looking at Tilleys page with the 5-7 days :oops:

EATA - no I wasn't it is ours that says if kitty is starting to see green hold for at least 10 cycles???
 
Last edited:
Purrdy was on this dose for 23 cycles before flying to Perth. That nice +4 looks like he's settling in nicely and the depot is filled again.

If you take at this post by Libby, item #17, she has a really good explanation of why we hold doses as long as we do.

ETA: My civie loves test time too and is often the first to the testing spot!
 
Ok so now I'm confused again are we saying depot is full nadir isn't low enough go ahead and increase?

He was at this dose for 11 cycles before we saw a number under 80 - he would have been increased on that cycle but for the potential boarding situation but as he went down to 56 on the 18th cycle at this dose if he'd been increased he may have earned a reduction back anyway. Then we had a few day cycles of nice green surfs but started to go off the boil a bit before travelling - that would have been another potential increase point but for the travel. Then the four hours late shot after he travelled which was 6 cycles ago now. My understanding is that would usually mean start the count again but considering how long he's been at this dose...

I read Libby's post - Purrdy doesn't seem to bounce much so no worries there but perhaps he is a cat that likes to have the dose held longer given how many cycles it was before we saw the 56 otoh had we been able to take the increase then maybe he would have started surfing the greens sooner - arrrggghhh help! @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (also see yesterday's condo)
 
Last edited:
I'm going to depart a bit here from the normal line of thinking only because you are experienced at this, Serryn, and can deal with lower numbers. I do agree you can't rush him into remission and you certainly don't want to cause him to start bouncing. The goal is tight regulation. Remission is icing on the cake.

He was doing ok on the dose before the trip but he could have probably used some fine tuning even then. Other than the one day of 56, his nadirs have been closer to 90.....we think. There have been nights that your mom quit testing before he likely hit his nadir. I don't think he went low but we don't know exactly where he ended up.....80 or 60 or ?

Since you are home, since you are experienced, and if you can catch the nighttime nadirs, I think you've got room to take the dose up to see a little bit longer strings of green. If you're up for it, I'd increase by 0.25u.

Note: for new members, this advice is only for Purrdy because Serryn is experienced and can handle lower numbers.

What do you think? And keep in mind, that is only my opinion....Sienne might offer you a different one to consider.
 
Hi Serryn

Nice BG's for Purrdy. Good luck with the dosing. I am sure you will find the path that works for you, and Purrdy, and still remains safe.

Hey Vyktor - looking good! LOVE that 90! :cool:
 
Thanks @Marje and Gracie I don't think that we've missed anything too much lower, he tends to onset early and surf for a bit. I've got mum to get up a few times for the +6 and he's always been pretty much the same as he was at +3 or +4 - three times he's been exactly the same on the meter! I guess that would lend even more weight to an increase. I can definitely get whatever middle of the night tests you think are needed (do you think we should take a peek at the +7-+11 range?) - I didn't take holidays for nothing and I have berocca at the ready ;)
 
Berocca??
Sounds like you're going to be doing some testing! Lucky Vyktor to be getting treats, just for being in the room!

Have a good day/evening, Serryn,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Serryn.

If you want to blame me for your being confused about all the FD technical info you've been discussing, feel free. It went over my head, too! I still think the blame really belongs on the person who opened that can! ;):p:joyful:

I'm glad to see that Purdy has settled in so well and that the process of getting him acquainted with Vyktor and Meg is progressing. I'm sure they'll all be best buddies by the time Purdy heads back home! ;)

No dose advice from me, just good vines for whatever you choose to do with the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top