Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258
This is where it would be handy to know if he is acro or IAA or none of the above.
Acro cats have a tumor that secretes growth hormone and can overwhelm the effects of insulin, basically making it ineffective. The output of the tumor will wax and wane, so sometimes the cat might need a high dose, sometimes a lower dose, usually without much rhyme or reason. Jazzy was not an extreme example so her spreadsheet is probably not the best to see this on, but you can see that sometimes I had to keep increasing (or decreasing) the dose just to keep the same numbers.
IAA cats will easily build resistance to insulin, so sometimes you have to get aggressive and increase the dose often to stay ahead of that resistance. Then at some point usually the resistance will "break," almost like the IAA goes away, and they all of a sudden they might need a lot less insulin.
Then, of course, glucose toxicity can build in non-acro/IAA cats too - when they start sitting too long in high numbers, then the excess glucose in their system can cause them to need even more insulin to get the numbers back under control. Then once they hit a breakthrough they may suddenly need a quick series of dose reductions.
In all these cases the treatment is more insulin until a breakthrough, so a diagnosis isn't really a necessity, but it can help you know what to look for.