2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258, AMPS 325

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426

Nancy&Pepper said:
yesterday

OK, let's see if that kibble worked its way out.

It's looking like time to up the dose to 14u. You don't want to hold a dose too long because it lets the resistance set in and get hold.
For the 400s, you would do well to be using some R at shot times because your Lantus will work better at lower BG numbers.
 
Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258

I agree with the dose increase. It doesn't look like this dose is "the one." Onward and upward until you find it.
 
Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258

Libby and Lucy said:
I agree with the dose increase. It doesn't look like this dose is "the one." Onward and upward until you find it.

Hi Libby. Why are his numbers so much worse on 13u than they were on 10.5u? He seemed to be doing pretty well on 10.5u, then I got a new vial and all of a sudden his numbers went up. I thought the vial might be bad, but his numbers never came back down. I thought maybe we were getting close with 10.5u.
 
Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258

This is where it would be handy to know if he is acro or IAA or none of the above.

Acro cats have a tumor that secretes growth hormone and can overwhelm the effects of insulin, basically making it ineffective. The output of the tumor will wax and wane, so sometimes the cat might need a high dose, sometimes a lower dose, usually without much rhyme or reason. Jazzy was not an extreme example so her spreadsheet is probably not the best to see this on, but you can see that sometimes I had to keep increasing (or decreasing) the dose just to keep the same numbers.

IAA cats will easily build resistance to insulin, so sometimes you have to get aggressive and increase the dose often to stay ahead of that resistance. Then at some point usually the resistance will "break," almost like the IAA goes away, and they all of a sudden they might need a lot less insulin.

Then, of course, glucose toxicity can build in non-acro/IAA cats too - when they start sitting too long in high numbers, then the excess glucose in their system can cause them to need even more insulin to get the numbers back under control. Then once they hit a breakthrough they may suddenly need a quick series of dose reductions.

In all these cases the treatment is more insulin until a breakthrough, so a diagnosis isn't really a necessity, but it can help you know what to look for.
 
Re: 2/9 Pepper AMPS 426, +5.5 258

Thanks, Libby. I was wondering if it was something that was typical of high-dose cats or if it meant something was wrong. I guess I'll increase again and see if it helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top