2/9 Noodle PMPS 172 +1 107 +2 57 +3 47 +3.5 67 +4 54 +4.5 66 +5.75 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-8-noodle-20-382-pmps-499-3-5-334-5-168-6-25-165.132778/

Recap:
2/8 Noodle
+9.75 83
AMPS 78 NS
+12.5 108
+16 404
+18 356
+20 382
PMPS 499
+3.5 334
+5 168
+6.25 165

So with these numbers and the little history I've gotten, its pretty obvious to me I'm going to have to shoot low soon. Maybe that should be today? I know "shoot low to stay low" is important. I guess whats holding me back is if .5U brought her down to 90 from 499, it makes me wonder if its too much. I haven't fed yet, will probably retest in a moment to see if I can catch a rise.
 
Congratulations and good for you!!

Surf safely now Noodle!!

I'd get a +1 and +2 to keep pretty close tabs on her for awhile, but hopefully she'll just surf pretty green numbers all cycle long!
 
Very nice shooting! I agree with what Chris said...get those early tests and keep a close eye on things!! Stay flat and surf it, Noodle!!
 
Way to go Patricia first time shooting low is scary but when you get to surf through the whole thing pretty awesome Makes us mamabeans so proud of ourselves ....Surf ((Noodle))) do mamabean proud and she always is. Tons of healng green light surround you angels to help you too the green...Hugsssssssss Kath
 
So much for surfing comfortably..
+1.25 - 44

She just ate 3oz LC a half hour ago, should I start guiding with MC anyways or test at +1.5 to see if shes come up?
Edit: I went ahead and did it, 44 is too low for comfort for me.

I just don't get this. She's basically earning dose reductions with every other cycle it seems.
 
Last edited:
I would do exactly what you did.

Skooter went down the dose ladder very rapidly and has been sitting at .25 for at least the last 2 to 3 months. Congrats on the reducie for the 44....

I would keep up testing every 15 - 20 minutes and work on getting her above 50, it is fairly early in the cycle for her to be going this low. Are you around to monitor her today?
 
I would do exactly what you did.

Skooter went down the dose ladder very rapidly and has been sitting at .25 for at least the last 2 to 3 months. Congrats on the reducie for the 44....

I would keep up testing every 15 - 20 minutes and work on getting her above 50, it is fairly early in the cycle for her to be going this low. Are you around to monitor her today?

Yes it is early, I'm wondering if I shouldn't have stalled that 90, egh. Hindsight is 20/20 I guess.

I'll be able to monitor. I have a few things to get done for work, but I'm in outside sales so I can do them on my own schedule.
 
We are all always learning....I would just keep monitoring every 30 minutes until you get her above 50. After that, you will want to stop with food to see if she is bringing herself up with the food. It is possible she may go lower, so again, it will be really important to keep a close eye on her today. I unfortunately have to head out for work, so I will not be around, but I am sure that people will be able to help.

If you get in a pickle, you can always toss up the 911 icon with your subject header.....

Someone had the same situation last night and one thing I learned is that if you stall TOO long that they can start going down in numbers because they aren't getting food. Ah the joys of the sugar dance!

Congrats on shooting low and remember, you are in control. You have test strips, you have MC, HC, karo etc to bring her up....You will do great!
 
Don't forget to update your subject line with each test as well. That will help ppl when they are looking through subjects that may need assistance.
 
We are all always learning....I would just keep monitoring every 30 minutes until you get her above 50. After that, you will want to stop with food to see if she is bringing herself up with the food. It is possible she may go lower, so again, it will be really important to keep a close eye on her today. I unfortunately have to head out for work, so I will not be around, but I am sure that people will be able to help.

If you get in a pickle, you can always toss up the 911 icon with your subject header.....

Someone had the same situation last night and one thing I learned is that if you stall TOO long that they can start going down in numbers because they aren't getting food. Ah the joys of the sugar dance!

Congrats on shooting low and remember, you are in control. You have test strips, you have MC, HC, karo etc to bring her up....You will do great!
Thanks :)
 
+2.5 48
Guiding with more food.
It seems with Noodle I have to do at least 3 cycles cycle of MC food as her BG is rising to make it stick. Saturday night once I did 3 rounds, she kept climbing with LC afterwards.
 
+3 - 71
Round 3 worked! (anti-jinx!)

Since this is only +3, I'm probably going to want to test her pretty closely today as we move through this cycle as she approaches nadir, right?

She's due some more food at +5, if shes safely up by then, I was planning to get out of the house for a couple hours to see some customers. Sound like a plan?
 
Remember, ECID so nadir can come at anytime. Skooter likes to nadir around +3 or +4 but for the last couple of days it has been +6.

At this point, I would stop feeding and still monitor every 30 minutes or so (make sure you give her extra loving and some neosporin with pain ointment on her ear)....You want to have three rising tests that are not influenced by food, but even after that I would probably test every few hours.

You are doing an AMAZING job with her.
 
Ideally, you'd like to see a couple non-food influenced tests in a row. But, by +5, she should be fine, and if worse comes to worst, you can load her up with a little higher carb food so you can go out for a couple hours.

BTW...the nadir is a "moving target" - the term "nadir' just means it's the lowest point in the cycle. Most kitties don't follow the rules - some nadir early on (Trix almost always nadired at +2ish); others nadir late. And, to keep things interesting, it can change within one cat, too :eek:!Unfortunately it's not a set-in-stone point in time. So in general, when you have an active cycle like this, it's a good idea to test to see what's what - at the very least, the data will be useful to have!
 
The data is definitely useful! I was looking back at her dips from the past week and that showed me she needs a little more food than the hypo guidelines stipulate to stay up. I'll just keep testing her every half hour to make sure shes surfing along. (Boy that half hour mark comes quickly, just when she warms back up to me I need to prick her again!)
 
+3.5 - 91
+4 - 102
+5 - 161

Nice and easy, Noodle, nice and easy.
I jinxed myself thinking "wow shes gotten so good at testing!" because for her last two tests she sat pretty calmly, but for this +4 she was nooott happy. Thankfully it was quick because I'm getting better :)
 
Last edited:
WooHoo---Go Noodle!!! :D:D:D Way to go Patricia--Somewhere in cyberspace, the BorgQueen(aka Marje & Gracie) is smiling with approval for your shooting low!! In her absense, please allow me to present you with the Balls Of Steel (BOS) for shooting Green!!
bos.jpg

Please excuse the "un-elegant hands :rolleyes:) Marje's hands are so much more "elegant" than mine, but being a gardener and a nature photographer(ameteur) I don't have time to get regular manis and pedis anymore LOL :smuggrin:

And FWIW, I don't know if you have seen this link before from Libby & Lucy on why it is awesome to Shoot A Dropping Number. Awesome shooting today Patricia, glad to hear that Noodle didn't vomit her dinner last night, fingers and paws crossed that continues!
 
Thanks, @Tiger and Ruth and @MollynSkooter ! I think the key will be having the BOS to shoot tonight if she's not started that bounce yet and is still somewhat low. I'd hate to undo the good work of the greens by letting her go super high again!

She has earned a reduction to .25u, correct? Hopefully that is low enough to get a steady cycle. She seems so sensitive to insulin, with her parlor trick last night of dropping 400+ points on .5U!

Need to pick up more chicken bribes, I mean treats, while I'm out today. I had a bag of freeze dried fish treats, but they're not to her liking.
 
Yes, if she was at .5, she has earned herself a reduction down to .25, woot woot!!!

You have a couple of options for tonight, depending on her numbers, you can shoot through the bounce or give the reduced dose. I would suggest testing and posting about 60-30 minutes before her next shot time and put some ????in the front of your subject and see if you can get some advice on if you shoot through the bounce or not. I am horrible with when to or when not to, so I would not want to advise that. I tend to just go for it a lot of times when I probably should ask advice lololol

I would be a little hesitant to shoot through the bounce if she dropped 400 last night....but again, let's see if some others can weigh in on that. I forget the rules for that one and know that it also comes down to everyone's favorite, "ECID" lol

I also get chicken breasts and cook those and Skooter gets a little bit of a plain chicken breast when he gets tested.
 
I would be a little hesitant to shoot through the bounce if she dropped 400 last night....but again, let's see if some others can weigh in on that
Thanks for the tip...

+11 -228

She dropped that far yesterday from a bounce from a skipped shot, if that makes a difference. A PMPS of 499 (.5U) down to an AMPS of 90.

So, shoot through this bounce? It's not as bad as I expected, really.
Note: Reducing to .25U which is still dang near impossible to see on a syringe with 1/2 markings!!

Today's Data (ran out of title space):
2/9 Noodle
AMPS 90 - stall
+.25 79 (.5U)
+1.25 44 (fed MC)
+1.5 46 (fed MC)
+2 56
+2.5 48 (fed MC)
+3 71
+3.5 91
+4 102
+5 161
+11 228
 
I wouldn't shoot through with her this morning - take the reduction

Awesome shooting, now you've seen for yourself how it works next time you won't be so scared and won't stall ;) :)

@Voula I hope you are watching this ;)
:):)
 
I wouldn't shoot through with her this morning - take the reduction

Awesome shooting, now you've seen for yourself how it works next time you won't be so scared and won't stall ;) :)

@Voula I hope you are watching this ;)
:):)
Sorry, I actually might be confused about "shooting through" -- Are you recommending I skip tonight and reduce tomorrow AM or shoot the reduction tonight?
 
Shoot the reduced dose of .25 units tonight.

Shooting through means you shoot at the old dose one more time before taking the reduction. I don't think she's high enough or rising fast enough to do that this time, especially when we don't know her that well yet.
 
You will still have to monitor well because there may be depot action but it's better not to skip doses unless unavoidable, you want consistency.
 
Awesome cycle today!:D I also agree on shooting the .25U dose tonight. When kitties get to low doses like this and being as green as Noodle is, it's best to take the reduction.
 
I'm thirding that - take the reduction tonight. Miss Noodle is looking awesome! Way to bite the bullet this morning - good job! and it wasn't so awful, was it? You gave her basically a half day in all-green from it. woot!
 
Thanks, all! I took the reduction... boy is it hard to feel the plunger go down at that dose! Lets see what kind of night she wants me to have!

Non-BG good sign: Shes feeling so much heavier lately. When she was first diagnosed and hospitalized, she had dropped to 5.9lbs from 9-10lbs and was skin and bones. She's put over a pound and a half back on at this point and it just feels healthier, you know?
 
Annnndddd she threw up. Should have crossed my fingers. Time to feed her dainty morsels for a while to get some food back in her & email the doctor about the Denamarin.
 
Coffee and a snack, I guess....

+3 - 47,
Gave a little HC/LC to see if it guides her up.

Did she just earn ANOTHER reduction?? I REALLY don't know what to do next here...
Its good she's in healing numbers and all, but this is so stressful!!!
 
No, this is very likely still the previous larger dose still talking. You would still hold the dose. The depot from the 0.5u dose can influence blood sugar for as many as 6 following cycles. Just stick with the 0.25u for now.
 
Looks like it's :coffee::coffee::coffee: another PJ party for Miss Noodle!! :D:D:D

I am so relieved that she ate after the puking incident, fingers and paws crossed! :bighug:

You doing okay?
 
Quite frankly, I'm frustrated and nervous. A few days of what feels like all hands on deck have really worn me down. (Even looking at my daily threads.. they're so much longer than others'! Why does it feel like I'm having all these crises!?)

I'm looking ahead at my week and getting scared for days like tomorrow where I have work appointments I can't change, events the next two Friday's during test time.... I just don't know how to manage it all. Clearly these numbers are "good" in the grand scheme of things, but they require so much monitoring that its daunting.
 
Last edited:
I hear you! FD is such a frustrating thing- it's a dance(and I am a lousey dancer :rolleyes::rolleyes: ) It's hard because only Noodle hears the music. So there might be times you have to skip a shot, or shoot a reduced dose, all of us have lives! Noodle will recover from that. Libby and Lucy wrote a really good article for those who work full time, there are some useful tips for how to juggle a career and FD.:bighug: Also, Noodle may not be in this dance club for very much longer either, you never know!You're doing a fantastic job, take heart!
 
It is exhausting. We had 3 nights in a row where we were up until 4 or 5am with Rosa. I ended up having to skip a dose the 4th night so we could sleep - she went through 2 reductions in 3 days and we were struggling to cope.

But you're doing so well with her - you've got the routine absolutely down when she goes low. And just look at her - down to 0.25 units already! You might not have to do this for much longer, and even if you do it'll get easier once she's on a steady dose that keeps her numbers ticking along in the good zone. I'm still not sure how anyone who has a full time, regular hours job does this - those 3 nights of being awake all night would have finished me off for making it to a job the next morning. I'm sure you must be completely frustrated with this, but please take a few minutes to remember just how well you're doing and how quickly you've had to learn all this.

And if you have to skip a dose here and there - you have to have a life too. I've skipped a couple of times - I'm not suggesting it's the very best thing I could have done for Rosa as an immediate measure, but I also know that if I get so tired and stressed that I get sick, I'm not going to be helping her at all.
 
Is Noodle a "scarf and barfer"?

If she's eating so fast that she's barfing it back up quickly, you can spread it out thinly on a flat plate (instead of using a bowl) It forces them to slow down when they're eating
 
Is Noodle a "scarf and barfer"?

If she's eating so fast that she's barfing it back up quickly, you can spread it out thinly on a flat plate (instead of using a bowl) It forces them to slow down when they're eating

Spreading it out helps, but it's only at that evening meal. Someone (agh I can't even remember who) found an article noting that her liver supplement, Denamarin, has a rare side effect of vomiting--she only barfs the meal after that pill so I definitely think they're connected. If not as a side effect from the medication, it could be not waiting long enough for her to eat after or the pill getting stuck (though its never in her vomit). I emailed her vet to see if I could try putting it in a pill pocket to see if that helps, even though its supposed to be on an empty stomach.

+4 - 54
Didn't I learn this morning I always need one more hit of MC than I think I need? Fed at +3, held at +3.5, feeding again now.
 
I'm looking ahead at my week and getting scared for days like tomorrow where I have work appointments I can't change, events the next two Friday's during test time.... I just don't know how to manage it all.
Here is the beautiful thing, at the rate Noodle is going, she could be doing an OTJ trial by those next events (antijinx).... As for looking at your schedule, if there are times where you can't safely shoot, that is fine. I have done it several times with Skooter and, at least for him, its like he never missed the shot. While consistently shooting is preferred, safety definitely comes into play as well.

As I am sure you have heard many a people say already, this sugar dance is a marathon, not a sprint. You have done amazingly well with Noodle so far. In the beginning, what I did, is the night before I had events I could not miss, would be to ask questions such as what number is considered my unshootable number, knowing that I would not be around to monitor as need be. Just to get some advice when I am not stressing in the moment when it needs to be done. Ultimately, it is up to you and your comfort level and whatever you decide (shoot or no shoot) Noodle will get back on track :)

There are tons more smarter people on here to help you than this kid, but I am GREAT with moral support :) :bighug::cat::kiss:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top