2/9 Michael pmps 213 +2 213 Question? Dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-question-dose-increase.132796/#post-1368912
Michael is in the red. (amps 401) :eek:I gave him 1u, but some of it might of been a possible fur shot. (some liquid squirted out)
I have had the insulin for 4mos. Could it not be good anymore? I don't understand why he is so HI. I haven't
done anything different.
Please look at M's spread sheet. Should I increase to 1.25u this pm?
I posted this question yesterday, but still haven't received an answer.
It is very hard to tell if he is bouncing. If he is, they are really big bounces. ( somewhat unusual for Michael)
I don't want him to go into renal failure because his #'s keep staying in the yellows, pinks, and now red.
I feel so lost. I don't know what to do!
Paula:(
 
Last edited:
Sorry you are struggling with this. I don't have any specific dosing answers for you, I am still trying to figure this all out myself. But I am wondering if you would be able to get a few more tests in both the AM and PM cycle. On 2/7 Michael dropped to 141, so my first thought is the insulin is still fine, but maybe you are missing some of the lower numbers during the cycle and he is bouncing.

I am sure someone with more experience will stop by and give your more advice on dosing.
 
Sorry you are struggling with this. I don't have any specific dosing answers for you, I am still trying to figure this all out myself. But I am wondering if you would be able to get a few more tests in both the AM and PM cycle. On 2/7 Michael dropped to 141, so my first thought is the insulin is still fine, but maybe you are missing some of the lower numbers during the cycle and he is bouncing.

I am sure someone with more experience will stop by and give your more advice on dosing.
Thanks, Tina.
 
He is bouncing from the 141 on the 7th, today is only the 4th cycle of the bounce, plus he had an 85 on the 5th, so you would hold this dose for 5 days after the 85.
Time to get the patience pants back out.
 
He is bouncing from the 141 on the 7th, today is only the 4th cycle of the bounce, plus he had an 85 on the 5th, so you would hold this dose for 5 days after the 85.
Time to get the patience pants back out.
Thanks, Darin
I do need to get out the patience pants.
I just get really nervous when I see Red, Pink and Yellow especially after he was doing sooo good. He was in low #'s for a few cycles, How long does it take for Mr. L to get use to lo #'s?
It's been about 9mos. since he has been on Insulin. It worries me, that after all this time, his organs might be getting damaged; which is what I want to prevent.
 
Last edited:
My mom is wearing her pretty patience pants.
I am now in my way too tight sunny yellow suit.(amps +3.25 263) I really need to get rid of this suit. It's very uncomfurtable. Blue wouldn't be so bad;)
 
Hi Paula,
It can take 72 hours (3 days; 6 cycles) to clear a bounce, so let's see what happens. It's too early to tell whether or not you gave a fur shot this morning, but if you did, that will upset the cycle count. Some cats just like to throw in bounces. Looking at your spreadsheet it seems that the old dose (1.25 Units) was giving you better numbers in general. But Michael did go low enough a couple of times on that dose to earn a reduction. Maybe, after the bounce clears, try fattening the present 1-unit dose a bit (say, by a drop)? See what the more knowledgeable people think.

It's good that he came down today, so perhaps most of the shot got in.

Ella & Rusty
 
Tryin' really hard to get out of this very tight sunny yellow suit (amps +6 221) and into the better fittin' blue suit.
My Mom is still wearing her pretty patience pants. They look very nice on her;)
 
Yup, those patience pants are quite fetching on your mom, Michael. But how about we let her change out of them sometime soon.

In the meantime, how about you slipping yourself into that Blues King outfit...sometime soon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
These are bouncy numbers, but i agree with Ella - I'd go ahead and increase before too long. And I'd try to increase to more than 1.0u and less than 1.25u. I'd lean towards a skinny 1.25u, because I think he's had better numbers on 1.25u.

In this case, I think i'd refer to the failed reduction part of the protocol. You had 40's with 1.25u and then when you tried to reduce it, you lost almost all of the green numbers. In the case of a failed reduction, you don't have to wait a certain number of cycles before you go back up. Here's the explanation:
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top