2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+8.16(73)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
2/8 Hershey

HAPPY CATURDAY!!

Sorry for the late condo, but I just found the link to get to the board. Working on that pre-op list and realizing just how many things Doug takes care of around here. Last night, I asked him if he really needs this surgery or if this is just a scheme he's concocted with Dr. Mallon to make me more aware of all he does. ;-)

Doug fixed the van yesterday in time for us to go to Outback for supper - YUM! That meant leaving the auto-feeders set (meaning we have no way of knowing WHO ate Oreo's food). Hershey visited the blues PM cycle and, although we left his regular food for him and FF Turkey & Giblets for Oreo, sometimes I wonder if just the extra food doesn't raise his BG. (Or maybe it's the shave kicking in??) confused_cat

I have to say that I was disappointed to see the (167) and later (199) from Hershey today after enjoying those greens/lower blues. I almost instantly felt I should kick myself in the backside for feeling that way, especially when I know we've seen lots worse numbers! Hershey seems to be having another good day, completely unaware and indifferent to whether his BG is 64 or 194. :-D

Thank you for visiting us today and thanks to Liz and Devon for visiting us yesterday. :-D

Time for supper - will try to visit after I eat.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)


AMPS (84) +12 - Shot .6u at 5:00am ~1/16th tsp
+3 (167) - fed
+7.5 (199)
+10 - hairball

PMPS (134) +12 - Shot .6u at 5:00pm ~1/16th tsp
+2.66 (37) - fed tsp 19% Friskies Prime Fillets Salmon & Beef with Gravy
+3.5 (25) - tsp 19%
+4 (26) - fed tsp 19%
+4.33 (29) - fed tsp 19% + 2 small drops Karo
+4.75 (38) - DNF
+5.25 (33) - fed tsp 7%
+5.75 (34) - fed tsp 19%
+6.25 (39) - fed tsp 19%
+6.66 (46) - fed tsp 7%
+7 (61) - DNF
+7.75 (69) - DNF
+8.16 (73) - DNF
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)

hello! I haven't visited in quite a while, sorry.

The thing about inverted curves is that they can mean too much insulin, or they can mean too little insulin, or they can just mean that Hershey is shifting his nadir around because he wants to drive you crazy. Then I see cycles like 1/23, and the 196 there was kind of a "rev up" before he plunged to 29. So who knows what Hershey has planned. All I know is that overall his numbers look really good right now, so I wouldn't be in too big a hurry to try to change things. Let's see where he goes from here.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

Hey, Libby - Good to see you! I usually attribute it to Hershey wanting to drive me crazy. Oreo has been snubbing his food the last couple of days, so maybe Hershey wants to be sure Oreo doesn't get too much attention. ;-)


+2.5 (37) - fed tsp 19% Friskies Prime Fillets Salmon & Beef with Gravy
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

Hershey, time to come up a little! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I love how Libby called it. A high (I would love to call 199 high) before the action. :lol:

Neko LOVES to move her nadir around. Most of the time it's somewhere between +3 and +9. :lol: Not that I would wish that on you.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

Hershey! 37? Really? You iz sweeter than that!

Thoughts and prayers for Doug's surgery AND for you, Libby, having to take up the slack. I feel for you!

HUGS TOO!!!
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

Hi Libby.....I'm with Wendy...I would love to call 199 high :lol:

I hear Outback and now won't get Coconut Shrimp out of my head for days!!!

Oh Hershey... 37 Yikes! Yer cool as a cucumber, Libby...after 3 years of this, I still freak, when Checks hits 30's nailbite_smile
I love how Libby explains the numbers :lol:

Have a good evening. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

HC. I haven't even read through your condo, yet. But "Hi" :razz: It's too early in the cycle for that kind of number Hershey.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

A teaspoon of HC, maybe?
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

See, Hershey listens to everything you say!! Let's settle down a bit, Hershey. OK?

Hope all will work out well with Doug's surgery. I know that you all will have everything under control.

Enjoy a good weekend. Looks like tonight may be busy?

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)+7.5(199)PMPS(134)+2.5(37)

i cant...that pic of hershey with the freakin frankenstein <? hood on...almost pee'd myself a lil. to effin cute!! i love fdmb
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+3.5(25)

I might add a drop or two of Karo to the mix. That's a pretty low +3.5. How about a +4?
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+3.5(25)

Hey, Wendy - Yes, Hershey gave me a (311) on the 6th, but I quickly grew to like those greens/blues! ;-) That's why I was saying I kicked myself for even thinking of complaining about the (199). Hershey has never had a consistent nadir...I wonder what that would be like...lately, his has been from +2.5 to the next PS! :lol: Okay, not so funny when it's 3 or 4am... ;-)

Hey, Lyresa - Hershey doesn't seem to want to listen tonight. Jessica said he's doing it on purpose to get the kitty crack - certainly could be. Thanks for the prayers and well-wishes during the upcoming surgery. And, I'll take all the hugs you can send! :-D

Hey, Barb - :lol: Sorry about the coconut shrimp dreams :lol: We don't get there often, but wanted to go while Doug could enjoy cutting his own steak. Yes, ma'am, Hershey has given us lots of practice with the lower numbers. He's so funny. We just happen to catch the low's (no warning from him), but as soon as we test he starts MEOWING like it's an EMERGENCY!!! :lol:

Hey, Dyana - Yes, ma'am, I gave him a tsp of 19%. I don't know why he decided to throw it so early...keeping the mystery in the relationship, I suppose...

Hey, Ella - Hershey listens to me about like my kids do - when it suits them! ;-) Thanks for the well-wishes on Doug's surgery. Initially, it was an annoyance to him. As the injury got worse, it became painful. We're both ready for it to be fixed! I hope Hershey doesn't keep me up too late, but at least I got a good night's sleep last night. :-D

+3.5 (25) - tsp 19%
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+3.5(25)

26 @ +4.

heading in the right direction, but i really think a little karo is called for to bump him up out of the basement...
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4(26)

Sorry, seems I missed a couple of posts while responding, testing and posting to other condos.

Usually, a tsp of 7% or 19% (depending on his #) will bring him right up. Guess he was really asking for that next shave.

Hey, Ruben's mom (Sorry, I don't know your name) - Hershey was always a good sport, letting Jessica dress him up in costumes or bonnets and dresses. Not anymore, mind you! :lol:

Hey, Jill - All things are normal with Hershey. Not sure why it's taking a little more tonight, maybe because it's so early in the cycle. About to test him, again.

Hey, Sienne - I was just thinking of maybe pulling out the Karo. So close to the 4.33 test, I'll see what it looks like.


+4 (26) - fed tsp 19%
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)

Hey, Michelle - Thanks. I'm just hoping he doesn't skyrocket up!


+4.33 (29) - fed tsp 19% + 2 small drops Karo
Wish I knew if this was one of those nights with +4 nadir or +10...
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)

yep, I would add a bit of karo to get him out of the 20s. Hershey has proved his point, now let's get him up.

Now you know that next time Hershey throws an out-of-place weird high number, watch out for him to head for the basement in the next few hours. He has done it more than once now.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)

Libby - Seems we posted at the exact same time. I gave him another tsp 19% + 2 small drops Karo and a 'talking to' to cut it out. ;-) We'll see if he listens. I really thought feeding early (2.66 instead of +3 to +4) would be early enough to see if he had any shenanigans planned. Apparently, he knew my plan and foiled it, again. I'll have to be more on-guard next time. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)

Holy meowza, Hershey! Lets bring it up a bit, eh?
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)+3(167)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)

samantha < ruben's mom
you guys are great, i was getting paniced myself reading these numbers... :o and its not even ruben, oh i hate the sugar dance. thanks for being here for hershey and all of us.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+4.75(38)

Hey, Amy - Long time no see! It seems he's starting to listen about coming up. I hope all is well with you! :smile:


+4.75 (38) - DNF

He's so funny. He got his treat and looked at me like, "Is that IT?! W-H-E-R-E is the kitty crack??? Or, AT LEAST Oreo's food?!?!?!" :lol:
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+4.75(38)

Hiya Libby!!!

Nice! Everything good?

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.25(33)

Hey, Samantha - Nice to meet you! Hershey does like to dance and adds his own steps. Sure wish he'd give me a playbook instead of expecting me to learn on the job. ;-)

Hey, Carl - I wondered if you were coming to the party! :cool: Yes, sir, we're doing well. Hershey was thrilled to get Oreo's food - full buffet, again. ;-) He gave me that told ya' so look. I keep wondering if I should change his shot time since he's grown so fond of delaying his nadir. But, I can't make it work with our schedule. So, we'll keep it at 5/5 at least until after Doug's surgery. And, at least he was kind enough to pull this tonight when I had already planned to be home. :smile:


+5.25 (33) - fed tsp 7%
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.25(33)

it's time to get Hershey out of the 30s. Lower carb doesn't seem to be doing the job, how about something higher?
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.25(33)

All these numbers are virtually identical since the 29 you got. I wouldn't be "scairt" to offer HC or a drop of karo if he doesn't bump above 50 soon.

But, nobody knows Hershey like you do Libby. I don't know if you did, but I didn't bat an eyelash when I saw that 29. Cuz it was you and Hershey! Sort of funny, a 29 appears, and the only sign of it on your header is one of these :mrgreen:

You might get rattled from time to time, but it never shows up in your condos... If I die, and come back as a sugarcat, will you adopt me??? :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.25(33)

carl- your the best!!! I'd want to come back as your's or marje sugar cat. :-D
if i ever make it famous or get to play for a charity event fdmb is gonna be in the spotlight.love this place. lets just thope i don't get famous for being on the fbi top most wanted criminal list...jk you know they hate us animal rights activists...jk ;-) :razz:
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.75(34)

Libby - He's now had 5 tsp HC (19%), 2 drops Karo, tsp 7% + regular meal. 19% is the highest our store carries and is what I've always kept on hand.

Carl - You're too much; of course, I'd adopt you as my sugarcat! I guess I don't feel particularly rattled because he's done it before. Remember that night I had changed my clothes and packed the bag to head out to the ER after one more test - that thankfully, was rising? And, because I have the most awesome support group anyone could ask for!

:lol: Samantha - no, criminal activity! :lol:


+5.75 (34) - fed tsp 19%. Should've done the 19% last test, instead of the 7%. Hindsight and all that.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.75(34)

Looks like your "talking to" didn't have as much impact as you would like! :lol: Come on, Hershey! It's time to come on up so that your mama bean can get some sleep. Hope you're doing well, Libby!
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+5.75(34)

LOL, yes, I do remember that night!

Serious question - you've had a few of these "adventures" over the months.... Hershey's been getting lots of snacks and extra helpings. Has he gained weight?
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.25(39)

Hey, Deborah - Didn't I say Hershey listens just like my kids do?? :lol: At least it's still early here, well...not late, anyway.

Carl - The last time I noted his weight was 8/22/12 and he was 11.4. Jessica weighed him today and he was 11.2. Should that tell me something? We had thought his ideal weight was 12-lb, but haven't been able to get him there since his diagnosis. I kept upping his food amounts, but he started refusing it. So, I figured he didn't think 12-lb his ideal.


+6.25 (39) - fed tsp 19%
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.25(39)

:o Hershey! Surf a bit on the higher green. Gook luck on the dose reducie Libby!
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.25(39)

I didn't bat an eyelash. However, my eyes are bugging out.

This is too low of a range for Hershey to be spending 2 hours in. How about several BIG blobs of Karo. Frankly, I don't care if he bounces to the moon. I just wish he'd start the bounce now! Remember that adage: better hours high than a few minutes too low? It's time to get Hershey out of the basement. There's no safety margin here.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.25(39)

Libby

There is a vet tech, Jess, who is an FDMB member and she said that even though we may not see clinical signs of a hypo, we really have no way of knowing the effects on the kitty's body from being at these numbers because we can't hook them up to an EEG or a heart monitor, etc.

So I'm with Sienne. If he bounces, he will come back down. I'd do what I need to do to get him up as fast as you can.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

Hey, Helen - Looks like Hershey may be listening to you! :smile: Thanks, I hope he likes the reducie, too!

Sienne - I'm with you on the few hours/few minutes. I would rather he didn't bounce to the moon, but I hear what you're saying. I've moved his retests a little closer together and went ahead and fed him another tsp 7% with this latest test. Sure would be nice if he'd set off a bell or something to let me know when he had hit nadir!

+6.66 (46) - fed tsp 7%

I know with variance that could be the same number, but it looks better on the meter, doesn't it? :smile:

Going to start getting ready for bed, thinking positively that Hershey has about finished his Sat night party. Will retest at +7, so ~:15
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

I agree with Sienne, I'd like to see a double digit number that starts with a 7 or an 8. :smile:

Either he's going to bounce off these extreme lows, or he isn't. Getting him "up" now isn't going to determine whether he bounces or not. It's taken a lot of food and even a few drops of karo to get him through the past 2 hours, with like Sienne said, no margin for error. You can't go much lower than a 29 :o

If he bounces, you can still choose to shoot through the bounce and reduce in the PM tomorrow, right?

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

Libby

That HC is going to wear off and he could come right back down on you. I've had it happen to me. I wouldn't be surprised if you might be at this a while tonight trying to keep him up. And last time I looked closely at his SS, his nadirs were around +12.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

Wow, looks like Hershey wants some extra attention tonight. Hopefully he can come up a little more and not bounce too high. Good luck, and congrats on the reducie. Hope you can get some sleep at some point.

Kathie
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

Marje - Sorry, I missed your post. I understand what you're saying about not knowing the effects of the numbers. I try to stay on top of it, he's not usually this difficult to bring up/keep up, so I don't usually have to worry.

You're right. He's had a few nadirs at PS of late. I think there should be some rule book or something our kitties have to follow...

Carl - True. If he's going to bounce, it's already in the works...okay, he's going to bounce. It's just a matter of how high he's planning. I don't like the idea of shooting through the bounce on a Sun am, since we'll be gone most of the cycle. So, we already have the calipers locked down for the reduction. It just may mean he'll take a little longer to clear the bounce. Still makes me feel better than not being with him should he need me. I hear ya' on the lot of food. That's what I was saying to Doug. My greater concern is actually him getting full before getting him to a number I could leave him at. I've only seen him full once, but it's always a possibility. What were you thinking earlier when you asked about his weight??

+7 (61) - DNF

Came up 15 in :20. Wanted to see what he'd do without feeding.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

Hey, Kathie - Sorry, I missed your post. Thanks for the congrats on the reducie - sure hope he likes it. Yes, ma'am, hoping to get some sleep. At least we're still pre-op, so Doug and I can switch off if/when necessary. :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

if you have to, keep him carbed up... whatever it takes to keep his numbers up.

he has nothing to prove tonight. he's earned a mandatory 0.25u reduction from dropping into the twenties + having such a hard time bringing his numbers up easily... you had to fight too hard and he was running too low for too long.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+6.66(46)

What were you thinking earlier when you asked about his weight??

Actually I was just wondering if these "episodes" were putting some weight on him. Because they happen often, or often enough anyway.

In general, would you say he's more active than he was months ago? Is he burning more calories?

I wouldn't worry about the 2 oz fluctuation in his weight since August. That's not significant in either direction. I don't recall if he lost a lot of weight pre-diagnosis or not? Bob lost 10 pounds over 6 months. At first, I thought "awesome, the tub of lard is finally slimming down". He was at 22 pounds and looked like a pot-bellied pig. But at 12 pounds, he looked like he was dying (which he was, unbeknownst to me). But he's been between 14 and 15 pounds ever since he went off the juice and I've kept him on the same amount of calories per day since then. He's still not the world's most active cat, but he never was.

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+7(61)

Sorry, y'all, my processor is slowing down...and I don't mean my computer...

Re-reading and re-thinking. We were planning to do a .1u shave to .5u, but I understand what Jill is saying about how long we've worked with him tonight. So, we'll go with the .25u reduction, making the dose .35u. We'll plan to hold it 6 cycles and see what he tells us. Sound like a plan?

Carl - Hershey was overweight in 2010, but by his diagnosis 11/11, he had lost down to 8.5 pounds and was all skin and bones. Made me want to cry every time I looked at him wasting away. But, I thought it was a normal aging thing since we'd never had a cat that old and MIL's cats had looked like that as they aged. Overweight to skin and bones...of course, now I have to wonder how many had diabetes...Hershey at diagnosis was not active AT ALL. Now, most days he'll chase/wrestle with Oreo at least a time or two and will even play with a toy (if he doesn't see you looking at him ;-) ). Of course, if it's cold or rainy, all bets are off and he spends his day with his blanket. :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+7.75(69)

+7.75 (69) - DNF

Planning to do one more test before calling it a night.
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+7.75(69)

Re-reading and re-thinking. We were planning to do a .1u shave to .5u, but I understand what Jill is saying about how long we've worked with him tonight. So, we'll go with the .25u reduction, making the dose .35u. We'll plan to hold it 6 cycles and see what he tells us. Sound like a plan?
you have no idea how relieved i am that you're taking a 0.25u reduction! there's been too many shaves on super low numbers.
it all caught up to you. tonight was a wake-up call.

good luck with the reduction! let's see how things go...
 
Re: 2/9 Hershey AMPS(84)PMPS(134)+4.33(29)+7.75(69)

I agree. I think the protocol says that any number under 40 calls for a mandatory reduction of .25u. Of course, it's not "law", and people can and do things outside of protocol because well, every cat, and every bean are different.

But I'm happy to see a more significant reduction than a shave after all the work you and Hershey have done to get him out of the lower numbers (and not just tonight but on a couple of other occasions).

I lied earlier. I batted both sets of eyelashes when I saw the 29, Libby. And my eyes bugged out. :shock:

Carl
 
Thanks, Jill. Hoping he likes the reduction. It'd be awesome to have him back down to .35u...we'll see...

Carl! You lied to me?!?!?! :o It's okay, I appreciate your concern for my sweet boy. :-D


A huge THANK YOU to everyone who helped us tonight, with advice, encouragement, and extra eyes on Hershey!!! Y'all are the best!!!!


+8.16 (73) - DNF

Goodnight...
 
Well, maybe "fibbed" would be a better word... but I had my fingers crossed behind my back ;-)
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top