2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153 +4~125 +5~171 +6~213

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 ? opinion

Kat,
In yesterday's condo, Marje said this-
If he starts to clear the bounce and you've raised the dose, he will probably come down fast. So if he starts down tonight and gives you a lower AMPS, you might want to hold off on the increase until he starts up again or you could be dealing with really low numbers
Given that you said you can't be around between +3 to +6, I think you made the right call this morning. You could increase tonight.

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 ? opinion

Carl & Bob said:
Kat,
In yesterday's condo, Marje said this-
If he starts to clear the bounce and you've raised the dose, he will probably come down fast. So if he starts down tonight and gives you a lower AMPS, you might want to hold off on the increase until he starts up again or you could be dealing with really low numbers
Given that you said you can't be around between +3 to +6, I think you made the right call this morning. You could increase tonight.

Carl
Gobby is in the green! I was so on the fence about increasing him this AM; then when I seen Marje post I thought I should probably wait due to me not being home till +6, I kept his dose at 1.75 U. When I checked him at +3.25, as I was getting ready to walk out the door, he was at 149. I took it upon myself to give him a small MC serving--I mixed 1 T. of FF 16% with 1 T. of FF 3%. I tested him a little while ago, when I got home at +5.5, and he's at 82 :) He ate some LC and is presently being the nerdy/bratty/cutie little boy that he is.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82

It looks like all the decisions you've made today have worked out great! :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82

Nice greens Goobles. Looks like the dose threat worked ;-)
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

nice! :mrgreen:
gobbles was "due" to clear the bounce from those blues by today or tonight. good call!



you mentioned gobbles loving parmesan cheese the other day...
check the sodium content on whatever brand you buy. i've found some brands have way too much sodium in them for everyday use.

another thought learned the hard way...
there are times when a kitty won't eat due to illness. it's nice to *save* an appetite enticer just for those times... something they really, really like. i only mention it because during bouts of illness, sprinkling parmesan cheese on alex's food is the ONLY way i can get her to eat.
it's nice to keep a few tricks up your sleeve for when you really need them...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

bounce clearing, or maybe the new juice too. Whatever caused the breakthrough, it looks good!

And I love seeing people learning to make good decisions. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Very nice surf, you have going there. I would get another test at +10, so you can compare it to your PS test ;-)
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Jill & Alex said:
nice! :mrgreen:
i've found some brands have way too much sodium in them for everyday use.

another thought learned the hard way...
there are times when a kitty won't eat due to illness. it's nice to *save* an appetite enticer just for those times... something they really, really like. i only mention it because during bouts of illness, sprinkling parmesan cheese on alex's food is the ONLY way i can get her to eat.
it's nice to keep a few tricks up your sleeve for when you really need them...
I looked at the label. 100 mg sodium (in one T.) so maybe that is kinda high? I haven't given it to him for a few days and thought the same (to save it for when I can't get him to eat).
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Dyana said:
Very nice surf, you have going there. I would get another test at +10, so you can compare it to your PS test ;-)
K...I'll get a +10, then maybe a little snack immediately (before or thereafter?)...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

I looked at the label. 100 mg sodium (in one T.) so maybe that is kinda high?
it's too high for my liking, but others may think otherwise. you could always save it for when you really need it...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Libby and Lucy said:
bounce clearing, or maybe the new juice too. Whatever caused the breakthrough, it looks good! And I love seeing people learning to make good decisions. :mrgreen:
Oh, but I had help making that decision Libby! Marje swayed me with her *excellent* advice! I was inches from increasing but then when I saw a yellow number, coupled with what Marje said (in yesterday's condo--"If he starts to clear the bounce and you've raised the dose, he will probably come down fast. So if he starts down tonight and gives you a lower AMPS, you might want to hold off on the increase until he starts up again or you could be dealing with really low numbers."), plus the fact that I'd be gone today from +3 to +6, I decided to keep him at his current dose.

Gosh I hope we've found the "right dose". Maybe it was the juice? My old vial was 10+weeks old and had been left out once for 12 hours in a 72 degree room...I replaced it on 2/8 PM dose.

Was it a kinda "bad" decision to give him some MC when I left today? That was at +3.25 (149) and I knew I'd be gone about 3 hours.... I hope his BG doesn't go through the roof later because I gave him some MC.... how long would it take for the MC to get through his system (not affect his BG)???
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Jill & Alex said:
I looked at the label. 100 mg sodium (in one T.) so maybe that is kinda high?
it's too high for my liking, but others may think otherwise. you could always save it for when you really need it...
I'm going to put "low-sodium parm cheese" on my shopping list and see if I can find something lower....
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

TheBowHuntress said:
Dyana said:
Very nice surf, you have going there. I would get another test at +10, so you can compare it to your PS test ;-)
K...I'll get a +10, then maybe a little snack immediately (before or thereafter?)...
If you want to think about feeding a very small snack, then do a +9. If he's a lot higher, then don't feed as you'll only make him rise faster. You want as flat of a curve as possible. That's why we usually suggest feeding when the insulin is strongest and stop feeding when the insulin affect is wearing out.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74

Was it a kinda "bad" decision to give him some MC when I left today? That was at +3.25 (149) and I knew I'd be gone about 3 hours.... I hope his BG doesn't go through the roof later because I gave him some MC.... how long would it take for the MC to get through his system (not affect his BG)???

I don't think the MC was a bad choice. It gave you peace of mind, and it didn't stop him from falling to a lower safe number later. I don't think the carb boost from eating canned food sticks around for long, or will come back to bite you later. Any influence it had should be long gone by shot time.

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

He's been skating downhill all day.... 69 @+ 10 -- any thoughts? meter variance? (also, I tested the meter on myself and it seems fine)
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

Gobbles has been pretty flat since your +5.5 test. It's a beautiful, surf-type cycle.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

TheBowHuntress said:
He's been skating downhill all day.... 69 @+ 10 -- any thoughts? meter variance? (also, I tested the meter on myself and it seems fine)

69 and 74 are the same to me, but no doubt gobbles has been dropping all day (clearing the bounce).

ok, so what to do?

see where he is at +11 so you'll have an idea of the rate of the drop (or rise) before shot time.

go back to his ss. look to see what you did when he's dropped all day (he has done this before).

what did you do? did it have a favorable outcome?

if you had it to do all over again (an opportunity you may have tonight) what would you do differently?

also: are you available to monitor? are you prepared to steer the numbers with food and/or syrup? do you have plenty of test strips on hand?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

Jill & Alex said:
TheBowHuntress said:
He's been skating downhill all day.... 69 @+ 10 -- any thoughts? meter variance? (also, I tested the meter on myself and it seems fine)

69 and 74 are the same to me, but no doubt gobbles has been dropping all day (clearing the bounce).

ok, so what to do?

see where he is at +11 so you'll have an idea of the rate of the drop (or rise) before shot time.

go back to his ss. look to see what you did when he's dropped all day (he has done this before).

what did you do? did it have a favorable outcome?

if you had it to do all over again (an opportunity you may have tonight) what would you do differently?

also: are you available to monitor? are you prepared to steer the numbers with food and/or syrup? do you have plenty of test strips on hand?
I'll test him at +11, but he did eat a little at +10. On 1/23 PM-1/24 AM, he did this and I shot late by 1.0 hours...which looks like it was a mistake as PM 1/24 he was up to 387 PMPS 1/24 PM and then bounced a few days. On 1/29 PM-1/30 AM, he did this and I shot late again by 2.5 hours; another mistake as his PMPS 1/30 was 571 and again, bounced a few days. Therefore, what I did in both instances was not a favorable outcome because he sky-rocketed. What I would/will do differently is to NOT shoot late (unless of course, he was maybe lower than 70? Please give me a number) Yes, I can monitor and have supplies.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

Awesome analysis!!!

The cycle that stuck out at me was the AM cycle on 2/6.

Carl
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

TheBowHuntress said:
I'll test him at +11, but he did eat a little at +10. On 1/23 PM-1/24 AM, he did this and I shot late by 1.0 hours...which looks like it was a mistake as PM 1/24 he was up to 387 PMPS 1/24 PM and then bounced a few days. On 1/29 PM-1/30 AM, he did this and I shot late again by 2.5 hours; another mistake as his PMPS 1/30 was 571 and again, bounced a few days. Therefore, what I did in both instances was not a favorable outcome because he sky-rocketed. What I would/will do differently is to NOT shoot late (unless of course, he was maybe lower than 70? Please give me a number) Yes, I can monitor and have supplies.
w00t!!!! you are so getting this, kat!!! i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE seeing caregivers using their data to figure things out!
pat yourself on the back... you deserve it!

most of us shoot with numbers over 50 once we have the data, but i don't want to push you.
do you feel comfortable shooting a full dose on time if he's 70 or more at pmps?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 ?fal

Jill & Alex said:
w00t!!!! you are so getting this, kat!!! i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE seeing caregivers using their data to figure things out!
pat yourself on the back... you deserve it!

most of us shoot with numbers over 50 once we have the data, but i don't want to push you.
do you feel comfortable shooting a full dose on time if he's 70 or more at pmps?
Thanks Jill! It is finally starting to "sink" in...I'm a little slow, but once I grasp something I usually don't forget it....only took me 3 months...LOL! I am 80% confident shooting at a BG of 70...So he just tested 79 @+11, however, he had a snack at +10....I'm going to just sit tight till +12 and NOT feed the brat. I would feel real good if he was at least 100, but we'll just wait and see. I will post his +12 as soon as I get it, at 7 PM EST. Thanks again for the encouragement! Worst comes to worst, I COULD shoot 30 minutes late, right?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

kat, yes you can shoot 30 minutes late. you hold the syringe and gobbles is your cat.
we may nudge you, but we certainly don't want to push you. it's important for you to feel comfortable.

i will be in the process of testing and shooting alex & crew at your shot time, but i'm going to look for someone who can be here at that time.
brb...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

yaaay! dyana will be around at shot time and libby might be, too.
you'll in the best of hands. i'll check back as soon as i get my crew (husband included) fed...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

I'll be testing him here in about 15 minutes. You think the +10 snack will make a big impact on his +12?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

I do not. You only gave him LC right?
I'm sure you're nervous, but it will be okay. You are well covered. Believe me.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

That's perfect. He's rising. I think you should shoot his regular dose. What do you think?

He will rise more, once you feed him, and the new dose of Lantus will not even (have onset) start to affect his BGs until around 2 hours from now.


Are you comfortable with that?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

Dyana said:
That's perfect. He's rising. I think you should shoot his regular dose. What do you think?

He will rise more, once you feed him, and the new dose of Lantus will not even (have onset) start to affect his BGs until around 2 hours from now.


Are you comfortable with that?
SHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGG !!!
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles AMPS 268 +3.25 149 +5.5 82 +8 74 +10 69 +11

TheBowHuntress said:
SHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGG !!!
:lol: That's my line! (almost). :lol:

Nice shooting. See you at +1.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1 119

niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!
happy to see you shot... on time even! :mrgreen:

a little food spike at +1, but not bad. see you at +2!
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1 119

Thanks...I feel happy & scared at the same time. I want him better. I want to help him. I want his little pancreas to heal. I want my boy around for many more years! He was real hungry after his shot and ate about 3/4 can of FF LC. He just had a bowl of chicken juice I don't "see" him ever drink water. I do usually water his food down. I boil chicken a few times a week (fresh, no preservatives) and keep the water, plus a bit of the chicken. He really likes the "juice" and he would drink all that I give him, if he had his way. I give it to him everyday. I meant to pose this question the other day: Is the daily chicken juice ok?
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1 119

oh, i remember what it felt like to shoot low the first few times. it is scary and somehow you're happy... all at the same time! :lol:
our motto around here is "shoot low to stay low" and there's a reason for it. it's how you get to those nice purr-ty shallow curves lantus is known for.

achieving tight regulation is a process... sometimes grueling and time consuming. it just doesn't happen over night.
you took a big step tonight and there will be more ahead of you, but you're on the right track.


chicken: check the ingredient label. sound weird? sometimes there's "other stuff"... preservatives, sodium, etc. infused in the meat. if the chicken you're giving him has other stuff in it, i'm not so sure i would feed the juice everyday.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153

i think we're seeing the beginning of a bounce. probably need another tonight to know for sure.
shooting a full dose on time tonight will help...
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153

I'm in it to win it! I will be up late. After seeing the +2 153, I am so glad I shot low & on time :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153

me, too! :mrgreen:
you took a big step today and you're learning from it. and let me tell you... you never stop learning because just when you think you have gobbles figured out... he'll change his patterns. :lol:

seriously, i've been doing "this" for a lot longer than you and i learn something new everyday.
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153

Kat

You did an awesome job today and tonight! I, too, am thrilled that you are putting it all together, looking closely at his SS, thinking it through. I am particularly happy that you shot on time!!! Well done you!!

Let's see what Gobby has up his sleeve tonight!
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153

Hey Ladies, you don't know how much it means to me that I have you all "by my side" and how wonderful it is to hear your words of support and encouragement. Time for +4! Will update here in a few minutes....
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153 +4~125

Thanks again all, for your support and encouragement. Here's an update:

PMPS 91
+1 119
+2 153
+4 125
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153 +4~125

Very nice! Down a little bit, so if he's planning on bouncing, he's waiting for later. :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Gobbles PMPS 91 +1~119 +2~153 +4~125

Carl & Bob said:
Very nice! Down a little bit, so if he's planning on bouncing, he's waiting for later. :smile:
Thanks Carl. +6 will be at 1 AM EST....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top