2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312, +2 289, +3 212...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 205, +1 274 +11 164 Safe alone? HELP

Good morning.
You still have an hour before shot time..correct?
Get a +11.75 and post for advice. :smile:
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 205, +1 274 +11 164 Safe alone? HELP

I am not sure what +0 is....I think you may have just retested.
+11.75....means to test 15 minutes before shot time. When the number has a .25 it means 15 minutes. .50 means 30 minutes. .75 means 45 minutes.
So +11.75 means 11 hours and 45 minutes past your last shot time....am I confusing you more? :?
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 205, +1 274 +11 164 Safe alone? HELP

sorry i put +0...that was her AMPS time.

I tested her again, and it was 175. Shot her 0.5. Left food. Hope nothings goes wrong while Im at work.
 
Re: 2/9 Enana AMPS 175 shot 0.5 u Safe alone? HELP

Good morning guys .. I know you are nervous leaving enana while you are at work but maybe she will surprise you and surf all day ... have a great day!
 
Re: 2/9 Enana AMPS 175 +10 202

Thanks everyone.

Got home and she was ok. Kind of quiet compared to other days. I realized at work that I had not calibrated the meter to the strip to the glucose and ketones I used this morning, so I guess that reading was not accurate.

Calibrated and yesterday her when i got her +10 202.
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

My heart skips every time I see pink. I know that +1 is usually higher...but it still concerns my newbie heart.

I know that I dont have enough data but I dont see any patterns...maybe I'm not looking at the data the correct way.


confused_cat
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

Natalia & Enana said:
My heart skips every time I see pink. I know that +1 is usually higher...but it still concerns my newbie heart.

I know that I dont have enough data but I dont see any patterns...maybe I'm not looking at the data the correct way.


confused_cat

Hi Natalia,

Excuse me for wedging in -- someone sent me a link to your posting and I am not sure why (it's weird --I haven't posted here for a year except earlier today!) ... but I did look at Enana's ss... what a beautiful kitty btw. Re your question I don't think you have enough data so it is hard to look at it with assurance one way or another... but I wanted to just comment that I don't see why, if dka is the real threat, you reduced the dose on 02/05 when the day, all in all, is about as good as you get in the early cycles (which is also when beans are the most jittery and prone to changing dose) and many beans here would give a lot for such results. I would have been dying to find out what the next day would bring at the same .5 dose. Now that would be "data." (So there is pattern in the data too, except, ahem, it doesn't so much concern the cat.. no worries.. many here including yours truly did exactly the same thing -- viewing the syringe as a system for dialing the bg level we want.. turns out it doesn't work like that... )

Anyway none of her 2/05 should give you much pause. I perfectly understand that with a sick kitty you don't want to take chances but since there is a proven danger up high, the pink numbers and ketones, and no data to indicate she is hypo-prone, especially on a .5 dose, so keeping her in the moderate green numbers is super. Safety first, then the details.. Let's say you don't yet have the nerve for that, but you have made three dose changes in 5 days, going in a three day period from 1 to .25. Just calm down..

Enana is already showing super responsiveness and even though there is a big range, I wouldn't call them wild swings. Steady as she goes.. ; )

Ilkka and Tom
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

Hi Binks ;-)

Ilkka..I reduced the dose because I was following a formula that said that if the BG was under 200 to decrease the dose. I didnt understand the whole idea of Lantus and the shed....etc. I was a wreck those first-first days, I'm much calmer now. Some people here would agree with that ;)

The pattern is that I AM CRAZY! ;-) My friends can testify to that but I am the only one with a diabetic cat. :-D

Thanks for you insight. It's really appreciated.

Im a Houstonian too.
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

astute observations and good advice from Ilkka. it's good to see him posting.
let's see what enana can do on this dose...
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

lol! stick around. you'll get there. it takes awhile to learn not only the nuances of the insulin, but just as importantly, you'll learn how *your* cat responds.
 
Re: 2/9 Enana PMPS 280, +1 312...

Jill & Alex said:
astute observations and good advice from Ilkka. it's good to see him posting.
let's see what enana can do on this dose...

Hi Jillo

just wanted to say thank you.. I know you guys are crazy busy... Tom is great and we remember this place each and every day.

Ilkka
 
"tom is great"........

if you could only see me smiling!
please don't be a stranger. at least stop by to give us an update on tom every once in awhile. :mrgreen:
good to "see" you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top